We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in a twin room on the 5th floor overlooking Mount Wellington. The room was a big enough size, with tv, fridge, tea, coffee, hairdryer, iron etc...
Nice clean bathroom.
The staff was really nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    555
    120
    27
    11
See reviews for
113
530
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel Collins in Hobart for a business trip, and was pleasantly surprised. Other colleagues were staying around the corner at the Grand Chancellor as it was recommended for our conference guests, but I didn't feel like paying close to $200 a night. I paid about $140 per night here and was about a 2 minute walk from the other hotel.
The staff were great. I arrived just before lunch knowing that my room probably wouldn't be ready at that time, and I was right, but the reception staff were happy to look after my bags and took my number to message me when the room was ready. It was only about a half hour later they texted me. When I arrived back a couple of hours later, my bags had already been taken to my room.
The room was spacious, neat, clean and well appointed. the view wasn't much but I wasn't worried. Great sized shower and very comfy bed. I am picky with beds in hotels due to back issues, but this was superb. Every staff member I encountered during my stay was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
The food at the breakfast buffet was great and they made a mean hot chocolate. Upon departure there were issues printing my receipt, so they emailed it to me as I stood at the counter. I was also told to wait in the business centre while I waited for the taxi they called for me. The cabby even came into reception and carried my bags to the car. That's another thing I have found in Hobart. Every taxi driver I have encountered has been great. Very friendly, knew where they were going and helped with the bags.
I will definitely be staying here on my next trip to the apple isle. The hotel is very close to the main mall in town and is only a couple of minutes walk to the docks. Its also right behind the museum and steps away from a great takeaway at "the budgie smugglers".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Collins for business and couldn't fault the location, rooms and meals. We were particularly impressed by every staff member we dealt with, from the friendly and helpful front desk staff to the people attending to our rooms, but most of all the staff of the restaurant. We had breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks at the restaurant at various times during our visit and each time, were impressed by the positive attitude of the staff and their willingness to assist in any way possible. Their enthusiasm and energy was very impressive and each person went out of their way to chat with us and make us feel welcome. The free WiFi in the rooms was another bonus. We will definitely return to Hotel Collins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in central Hobart. Room was large and clean with a kitchenette and separate bedroom and siting area. I appreciated the free wifi, which, along with a reasonable room rate, made this hotel feel like a good value.

The only difficulty I had was with parking. I arrived on a weekday morning, and had to get help from the parking attendant as the lot was full. It was much easier to find a spot during the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

its a small quite nice hotel right in the middle of city. Great location, nice modern designed inside the room, clean nice rooms. 2mins walk to the wharf where you can buy the fresh seafood meals(where the famous Mures is and other FNC shops), 2 mins walk to the city center, very close to a singaporian restaurant and Dome cafe where just 1 min away across the traffic light. They also have room dinning and a small cafe downstairs. I didnt get a chance to dinning inside the hotel. price seems is pretty good value.

I paid 565 for 5 nights which is pretty good price for city hotel.

The down side of it is the apperance of the hotel, when u see it outside. This hotel label is not very appealing as inside. Its a old building maybe they not able to do it as the requirements of the govertment.

Overall, I really like this hotel.

BTW, i didnt have chance to go to the swiming pool or Gym, but I dont want to put down the points of the overall, so i gave "very good".

Room Tip: Just read more advisor from travellers and see the pictures see if you like room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dainisi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Collins on the 11th and 12th of July for my wife's 40th birthday. I wanted to take her to MONA, and Collins was listed on their website. It's a great place for the price. Rooms have floor to ceiling windows looking out to Mt Wellington, which was snow-capped when we were there. The thing that made this stay so special was the service. It started with Felicity on the front desk, giving me advice on things to do and see in Hobart, to Catherine (I think) in the restaurant remembering how I liked my coffee. It's the little things. They also gave us a box of cookies and bottle of wine for my wife's birthday. Their knowledge of places to go and dinner options were great also. Breakfast at their restaurant was great too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickChandler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very clean, and new hotel.

Had no real noise issues and we were located on the Bike Pub side - Only noise was from the loudspeaker in the carpark.

Parking is a bit of a pain, its in an adjoining multi story car park, and I think is costly if you take your car in and out.

Reception was friendly and helpful. Did not eat in the downstairs restaurant as there are so many wonderful places down in Salamanca.

Only gripes are that the shower cap was tiny and did not even fit on my head, and was not replaced during our stay - I threw it out after the first night. And there was a lot a human hair in the bathroom - on walls and ceiling.... which makes me think they clean the walls and ceiling with the mop used for the floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing