We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean, nice atmosphere, CBD location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, nice atmosphere, CBD location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This small fairly new hotel is perfect for a city stay. The higher floors are better as they get more of a view. The room I stayed in was a queen bed city view. It had one huge floor to ceiling double glazed window and had views of Mount Wellington and rooftops. It was very quiet. The room, while small, was well designed with large cupboard space and desk. There is a nice undercover walk way that takes you to a large under cover multi-storey car park and hotel guests can park there right next to the walk way so all very convenient and literally at the back of the hotel. With the parking, you can come and go as often as you please (you just pay for the time you use in the car park and as it is Hobart it is very cheap parking). There are coffee shops close by (eg Pilgirm Coffee just around the corner at 48 Argyle Street is to be recommended for serving very decent coffee and food) and you are only a block away from the waterfront. The hotel also has its own eating and coffee place. The staff at the hotel are very welcoming and helpful and give the place a friendly feel where nothing feels like too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    503
    110
    23
    8
See reviews for
104
490
79
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel, great staff, perfect location. You are made to feel special here by friendly staff (front desk, restaurant & housekeeping) who do their job with great attention to detail.

Stylish 1-bedroom apartment located in the corner of the elliptical tower with good views (higher up), with lounge, dining, kitchen and king bed. Very clean, fresh and still new. Decor is contemporary and functional. Fully serviced everyday and features reverse cycle airconditioning, ensuite, tea, coffee and fresh milk supplied daily, 24 complimentary television channels, iron and ironing board plus hair dryer. Also features clean laundry facilities on 1st floor.

Short walk to the vibrant Hobart waterfront including several restaurants, Salamanca Place, Victoria and Constitution Docks, shopping district of CBD and ferry to Mona.

Good rates but then it is the low season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, wasnt overly happy with our room the first night as there was a lot of noise, after speaking to reception we were upgraded and moved from 5th to 10th floor away from other rooms. checkout was 11am and we were allowed to stay til we left for our flights at 8pm with no extra charge, very happy, highly recommend, staff were lovely, just not overly impressed with parking costs but nothing against the hotel, rooms were both very nice with great views :D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were really happy with our stay; even though we only stayed one night.
All the staff were lovely and really made an effort.
The included continental breakfast was lovely and more than just the standard toast and cereal.
The room was a great size and was nice and light; had a kitchenette also.
We parked overnight in the car park at the rear which cost us $11 for part of the day and night... good value.
The hotel is in a great location and a nice close walk to wharf area, CBD and a few minutes to Salamanca.
We will definitely stay here again without question.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for 2 Nights during the week on Business. It was new, modern and very clean. The Breakfast was just right with good quality Continental offerings. The service in the Restaurant for breakfast was excellant as well. There nothing to complain about at all as it is easy to walk to the city and the river areas. Nothing to complain about at all - I just hope I can find other Hotels that are as perfect as this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights on weekend and while the 'King room' was quite smaller to what i were expecting Hotel Collins has great service for guests, the rooms are comfortable and well priced and located in a short walking distance to the city.... very impressed and would recommend it to anyone!
Would really like to stay in a apartment sized room next time if its not too expensive.

Room Tip: It depends on your budget but even for two people I would recommend a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment.. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed one night in April - a family of 5 in a two bedroom apartment. It was great. Located within walking distance of the shopping areas and Salamanca markets, its clean tidy and modern. Perfect for what we wanted

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perdeahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing