We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Collins - Heaps good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Collins - Heaps good!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Upon entering, we were informed that we had received an upgrade into an apartment room - not a bad first impression!
Directions on how to get to the required amenities were given efficiently and concisely.

The room was clean, neat and well maintained throughout the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    556
    120
    27
    11
See reviews for
113
530
94
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

For its price, I had what I needed in a compact room. I stayed there from Wed to Sun. All nights were quiet with the exception of Fri and Sat. I was woken up at 11 pm and stayed up till 12:10 am due to loud band music from pub closeby on Sat. The receptionist told me this did not happen usually. I found this hard to believe. On this note, it pays to double check with the hotel before you book. The location is fantastic for both going to the Wharf area or city centre. Info Centre 5 min down the road.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. Not too big or too small, just right. The rooms are modern and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We liked the (smallish)foyer, restaurant and bar area and there's free wifi there too.

It's very convenient to the city and walking distance to Salamanca without being too noisy or busy. We will definitely come back next time we're in Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

A good solid three stars for location, super helpful staff and HUGE rooms with a well-stocked kitchenette and living room area. Free Wi-Fi earns the extra star. The Collins is a short stroll to The Waterfront, Salamanca and almost anywhere in central Hobart.

It feels more like an independent hotel with a modern feel and a lot of heart, rather than a boutique hotel because there is not a lot of character. They have a nice little cafe to the right of the lobby and there are ample options for food and coffee nearby.

Since my suite was directly above said cafe, it always smelled like what was cooking below. Not necessarily bad, but not something I'm used to. My floor also smelled of cleaning product so between the scent of sterility that greeted me upon exiting the lift, and the smell of the dinner special permeating into my room, my stay at The Collins was an olfactory journey that I wasn't expecting.

All that said, I have no complaints. The rate was reasonable, the location great as I said and my room big and comfortable. Of all the places I stayed at during this trip to Australia, The Collins is the ONLY hotel that had an iPod dock on the radio in my bedroom so well done on that. The staff was also helpful in making sure I caught my airport bus for my flight back to The States.

As an FYI, the hotel rates at the carpark behind the hotel are VERY reasonable and it is secure. If you have a car, don't hesitate to park it here.

So to sum up, good value at Hotel Collins. Not perfect, but there are a lot of pluses to make it worth staying here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was only overnight, but a great location. The room was very fresh, modern and clean. The staff were great on the phone for booking and helpful while I was there - Thanks.

It was quite (Wed night) and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Call them direct for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel pretty much in the Hobart city central near the harbour. We stayed in the two room connected. Very very pleased, fully equipped kitchen, clean and spotless shower in each room. Eventhough the bed bit hard, no problem, extra blanket to put it underneath the bedsheet is available. Comfortable 4 big pillows in each bed. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ran into the same problem another recent reviewer experienced - noise from the clubs near the hotel. If you stay here on a Friday or Saturday night, don't expect to get much sleep. Because of the noise and management's indifference we can't recommend this hotel to you.

The sound of revving motorcycles was bad enough, but we were stuck with a room directly above a club where the music was at ear-numbing levels until after midnight. If you'll excuse the pun, our comments to hotel management about the noise fell on deaf ears.

On a previous visit to Hobart we stayed near the airport at the Quality Hotel (see my review from April of 2011). It was OK, but this trip we decided we wanted to stay in town and we based our choice largely on the positive TripAdvisor reviews

Make no mistake, the hotel itself is nice and our 1 bedroom "apartment" room was clean and well-furnished. The location was very convenient, and we had an easy walk to the Salamanca weekend market. The nearby (paid) parking was not difficult to access. Overall, the physical aspects of this hotel are fine, if a bit spendy.

We're not sure where we'll stay the next time we visit Hobart, but we do know that while we like the convenience of staying in the CBD area, we won't be returning to this hotel but rather will try one of the other top-rated Hobart hotels.

Room Tip: When you check in, specifically ask for a room as high up as possible and on the end of the hotel as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing