We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Pick for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Top Pick for business travel”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

In Hobart for business and used TripAdvisor to pick where to stay. Picked Hotel Collins on the strength of the reviews and its location and was very happy with the result. Excellent location with easy access for the taxi from the airport and an easy walk into Hobart business district and down to the harbour and Salamanca. I had a good sized room on the 5th floor. It was modern, nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and well insulated from the street noise outside. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJS-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    582
    125
    27
    11
See reviews for
126
541
98
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Pros:
*Friendly staff
*Clean and modern rooms
* Free internet in rooms

Cons:
*No parking in hotel.
*Limited room service menu

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Hotel Collins looks a bit dodgy from the outside, but is brand spanking new on the inside. Looks like major renovations have just been completed, and the room I had for two nights was spotless and well-provisioned. My unit was a bit on the smallish side, but this seems to fit with the Euro-trendy theme the hotel seems to be after. Free wi-fi in the restaurant and lounge, but it doesn't work in the rooms-- you'll need to use the ethernet cable.
The restaurant is small, but the staff is cheery and food is good. The location is excellent for a 10 minute walk to the restaurants in Salamanca, and even less to the waterfront.
I'd be hard pressed to complain about this place. Nice friendly atmosphere, great location and enthusiastic and friendly young folks on staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is my hands-down favourite hotel in Hobart, perfect balance of the location, facilities, and price. They don't promote their free Wi-Fi enough – it really is a pleasant extra, though Wi-Fi is only on the ground floor and it's free plug-in Internet in the rooms. I really like the room design - built on clean, modern lines, no fuss. The downstairs cafe/restaurant is open all day for all three meals, and has pretty good food and drink. In the adjoining alleyway here's another top coffee place, Dr Coffee. All in all it's a great package.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room for 3 nights from New Years Eve. The hotel is in a good location and is a close walk to the waterfront and city centre.

The room was quite a good size for a regular hotel room with enough space to put 2 bags of luggage on the floor. The rooms were very clean and the decor modern and fresh. We did not hear any traffic noise which was great. We also stayed at the very expensive Henry Jones Art Hotel and it was very noisy on the waterfront early in the morning.

We were on the 1st floor which was a little disapointing as there was no view but in the end we were busy all day so we were never in the room long enough to enjoy a view.

The bathroom was a good size but I am not a great fan of showers without shower screens as the water surrounds the toilet area as well.

Staff are very helpful and I loved the free use of computers in the lovely business centre next to reception.

We had buffet breakfast every morning which was fresh with piping hot raspberry and white chocolate muffins. The waitress even offered to give us paper bags to take muffins with us on our day tour that day.

I would definitely stay here again if visiting Hobart in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Booked this hotel based on reviews and it turns out the hotel is a gem. Rooms while not large are well laide out and equipped. I would rate them above a 4.5 star and slightly below 5. Rooms were clean, great amenties including decent tea and coffee. Reception staff very friendly and professional. I was dissappointed that my flight was delayed and I couldn't enjoy the room more! The reception staff were aware of the flight delay too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlishaTilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Would support all the other positive reviews, only minor gripes that impacted on a five star rating (such as missig film channels), but this is somewhat clutching at straws. Had a one bedroom suite on the upper floor, which whilst compact and had good basic facilities, allowing a degree of self catering. If you need a CBD hotel in Hobart, would recommend this establishment.

Note: If arriving by car be aware of car parking provision adjoining, only in respect of process and costs ($15 per 24 hours). If parking outside the hotel overnight, the local parking attendants are prompt and will book you!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing