We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here as a couple recently and found the value excellent! Free in-room movies (4 channels showing 2 movies per channel on a rotation), free in-room internet with a supplied cable, and free wifi and printing downstairs in the business lounge.

The bed was very very comfortable, the aircon easy to work, and the views from the very large windows were great too. Shower was hot and powerful, and the bathroom was tastefully appointed and decorated. Some thought has gone into the layout of the rooms as well, just by the way they are laid out.

The Hotels restaurant was ok value, but had very limited options for breakfast if you don't like eggs. (I don't, if you do, then congrats, you'll love it!) Great location too, its about a 5 minute walk to salamanca square and the same to the centre of the city for shopping. Can't fault the hotel, probably the best I've stayed at for the value.

Oh, could hear a fair amount of road noise from the street, but even on friday night I could get some rest without a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o-tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

got into hobart at sunset - arrived by taxi at the hotel collins. great location - walking distance to the port, salamanca square, and the shops on collins. newer hotel, with a minimalistic room - but the people at the desk were just great! very nice breakfast - people were coming in as regulars from off the street. they had two free computers in their lounge - which helped us a great deal. nicely recommeded!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maestromuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a great modern stylish hotel. Check in was smooth wiith every request honoured. The rooms are well designed. The superfast internet is free, the Business centre works well and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. I would never stay anywhere else in Hobart.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is fantastic... Amazingly clean and modern with friendly, very efficient staff. It's close to town and only 7-10 min walk to salamanca area. Wifi would've been nice but the Internet connection was fine and the car parking situation is a but of a pain initially but no problems at all once you get the hang of it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotTheTshirt_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clean, comfortable, intimate and tastefully modern. It's a new hotel so everything looks nice and shiny- and the bed is very comfortable! The direct view of Mt Wellington from our 7th floor room is superb. Small-ish rooms but adequate if you're in Hobart for business or sightseeing. Parking costs extra at $15 capped/24 hours. We drove straight into the marketplace carpark and it was pretty straightforward to find the hotel from there. Great value overall, especially compared to Salamanca Inn and the Hotel Grand Chancellor where I was going to originally book. Thanks to the positive reviews here at TripAdvisor I could change my mind at the last minute and I saved about $100 over the four nights. The restaurant is okay but I think a little too expensive for the quality of the food. NCafe down the road, a little malaysian restaurant, was absolutely delicious and good value though!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The room was quiet and had the most comfortable bed. Modern amenities, clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel Collins is a great hotel located very centrally. All of the staff encountered in both reception & cafe were lovely!

Very clean, well appointed rooms. The service in the cafe at breakfast was nice and quick ( important when you are needing to head off for an appt).

Computers in Lobby are great too!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $126 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing