We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumplings quite good, disappointed by the rest.”
Review of Dumpling World

Dumpling World
Ranked #262 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dumplings quite good, disappointed by the rest.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We went here for the dumplings and they were quite good. The duck noodles were a disappointment. I'd get take away noodles from here but that's it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButchInBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu F, Manager at Dumpling World, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is helpful for us to know our shortcomings and inadequacy. We will improve the taste of duck noodles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    14
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CAIRNS, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch on a Sunday. Cold outside so ordered beef noodle soup. Cost $10. Soup was served quickly and it was loaded with fresh ingredients and lots if tender beef slices. Wasn't too salty and a sign near the door claims no MSG used there.
I really enjoyed the soup.
Ambience is practically non existent and the person serving us must have been sucking on lemons!
I'll be returning though, the food was wholesome, quick n cheap, great for a no nonsense meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A family favourite :)”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I feel let down by some of the reviews on here. Being from Hobart my partner and I find this place convenient and enjoy the food. Yes it's cheap but for the price I think it's lovely and I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world. Of course it's not like those but you shouldn't expect it to be. I have spent some time in the hospitals across the road and this is always a good take-away to have handy. Good price, never had a problem with staff and would happily go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting, lousy food lousy service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fried rice was showered with MSG rocks and wantan noodle was too sweet. One of the few restaurants that wont provide water. Horrible service who scolded us when we complained about the salty food. Never coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap & Dirty”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I don't think this place deserves to receive this sort of review from other people. If they are happy with the standard and quality of food, then so be it but definitely not from me. I have had a couple of take-away food and ate-in once. Apart from offering food below $10, there is no plus point from here. It seems that there is still a long way to go to find a decent Asian restaurant at a reasonable/cheaper price range in Hobart.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkMoonTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumpling World also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Dumpling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing