We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Enjoyable Night”

Rockwall Bar and Grill
Ranked #17 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Totally Enjoyable Night”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We ate at Rockwall , Saturday night . We were visiting Hobart for the first time (two nights) and were enticed in by the menu selection . We found everything to be of a very high standard . Garry Baker (the owner) was an entertaining host and looked after us from the outset . The ambiance of the restaurant was good ,and the food served to us through out the night of consistantly high quality . We ordered the tempura prawns and crispy skin pork belly for entree - lovely flavoured pork and very tasty, light , scrumptious tempura. We both had steak (rib eye and fillet mignon) which were melt in the mouth and perfectly cooked . To finish we shared a chocolate fondant which was an absolute delight . We left feeling we had done very well discovering Rockwall , and would definately return there again when we choose to return to Hobart .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wardy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    260
    75
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such an unfortunate experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The evening started off so well. A delightful waitress, pleasant and helpful. Our appetizers were delicious: I had the rock lobster pâté, my husband ordered the trifecta mixed dozen oyster platter. I ordered the fish of the day (blue eye trevalla?) grilled, and my husband ordered the Tempura Prawns and a Caesar Salad. Sadly, my fish was so over-cooked that it was bone dry and curling up at the edges. The accompanying potato and chive rosti was delicious. My husband's prawns and salad were excellent. When we informed the waitress about the fish, she snatched up the plate and took it away. We waited. In the meantime my husband finished his meal. We continued to wait but finally decided to ask for the check rather than eat separately. A clear change of attitude from the wait staff, no eye contact, no more banter, no apology. We were not charged for the fish, but were definitely made to feel as if we were in the wrong for complaining. The food at Rockwall's is very good, the atmosphere is attractive, friendly. Too bad that we won't return to a place that does not "get it". Mistakes happen, but they should remember that they are working for the customer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked 4 weeks in advance for my partner's birthday, travelling down from Adelaide, stating it was for a special occasion and could we get a table in a romantic spot for 2. I was assured this wasn't an issue.
When we arrived for our dinner, we were placed in the more casual section, and when querying about the nicer part of the restaurant were told some groups had booked in and taken that whole area.
As the restaurant filled up we began to feel like sardines, being packed in to a small spot with all the other couples.
It was extremely loud, hard to hold a conversation, and we felt rushed the whole time.
The food was okay, but have had better all over Tasmania (and in Adelaide). Certainly nothing to rave about.
We left feeling very disappointed and I feel that I did not give my partner the birthday experience he deserved. We certainly would not put Rockwall on my to-do list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LonnyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited Rockwall on a busy Saturday night. There were 8 in our party, and we were treated to exceptional service from the moment we arrived. Whilst the menu is certainly up there in price, ALL our meals were cooked to perfection, and all 8 arrived within minutes of each other, a first EVER in my experience of large group dining on such a busy night! Desserts $13, but to die for!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine if you want steak”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you don't want steak, or for that matter don't want meat, then probably don't bother. The restaurant decor, ambiance and staff were lovely. But, for the prices being charged and what the restaurant is aspiring to be...they fell far short. Fish cooked and dry, sides were burnt, heating insufficient and generally cold, and service was content to leave diners without drinks or dessert menus for 20 minutes plus. For a restaurant charging half the amount, that wouldn't be a problem, but for what Rowckwall are appear to be aiming for, I would expect something more. AVOID.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwall Bar and Grill also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Rockwall Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing