We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We always stay at the shipwrights arms when we visit Hobart. The staff are friendly and the hotel is very clean. Special pluses are the cute sunroom which looks over the chimney pots to the river and the shared kitchenette facilities.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank 40RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Booked this last Saturday night for a table of 7. We were very impressed with the service and quality of all meals. Our waiter for the night was Arron. He was so welcoming and helpful to all our needs.Even after we went from bistro to bar, couldn't help to notice the great staff also behind the bar. Would recommend this pub to all visitors to the Battery Point area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverbendSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked at Shipwright's Arms as it looked nice, cosy and historic, I love Battery Point, it was perfectly located there and I wanted to cap my nightly rate at $75 per night. I was met by friendly and attentive staff and surprisingly it felt like my uni college in Melbourne both aesthetically and socially, which was a nice vibe. Shippies has the heart and soul of Hobart running through it and for that I like it, and it's a great pub and a nice place. The housekeeper was friendly and animated a character and very personable owner Aaron kindly stored my bag for me for a few hours after checkout. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HadenY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Shipwright's Arms Hotel was built in the early 1800's and I am not surprised at the reviews about the accommodation. What people go there mostly for is the old world ambience and the great meals in the bistro or beer garden. The walls are adorned with boating memorabilia which includes photos of Sydney to Hobart yacht race finishes and the world famous Bob Clifford designed wave piercing catamarans. Four of us visited for lunch and enjoyed evry moment of it.

Room Tip: This is an old fashioned hotel and does not have the facilities of a modern hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Upon our arrival the staff were to busy to see us to our rooms. So they gave us the key and we found the room ourselves. The room was small and noisy as there was a generator next to the window.

We then planned on having dinner in the restaurant but were informed that we needed to book ahead as they were all booked out SO they sent us to another restaurant down the road.
This was particularly upsetting as we had booked our room in advance and paid in FULL and on our way out to the other restaurant we could see empty tables -it did not look that booked out!

In my hospitality experience it is not that hard to make room for a paying customer especially if they are staying at the residence. One staff member in particular was very helpful and understanding. Its just dissaponting that the hotel has implemented such un-hospitible practices -because we were willing to spend and reccomend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I'm a big fan of Shipwright Arms - being a Hobart lad originally I know the bar well.

The rooms are the same - absolutely fantastic value.

One of the best, most authentic pubs in Australia. The rooms we had were basic (bunk bed, with a shared bathroom across the hall), but everything was very clean and comfortable.

The service was very friendly and they also have a terrific meal in the dining area (it's very popular).

It was a stone’s throw from Salamanca Place and the city, and close to the main connecting roads.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We arrived in Hobart without a booking for our last night in Tasmania but didn't know that there was a triathlon on the next day and so almost no accomodation.
The Tourist Info Office booked us into the Shipwrights as it was the only hotel available but they knew nothing about it and were worried that we wouldn't be happy.
But what a surprise. Shippies has been offering accomodation, drinks and food since 1846. There are ensuite rooms but as these were all taken we had one of the rooms with shared bathroom. Breakfast is provided in a small kitchen where we shared stories and information with the other guests, sometrhing you can't do in the big hotels.
The bar walls are lined with nautical memorabilia, there is a large restaurant and secure parking.
The location on Battery Point is good, there are cafes and restaurants nearby or it is not too far to walk down to Salamanca Place for clubs, bars and food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 47 in Hobart
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#36 of 47 in Hobart
128 reviews
2.5 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#25 of 47 in Hobart
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.9 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#31 of 47 in Hobart
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#46 of 47 in Hobart
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright's Arms Hotel

Address: 29 Trumpeter St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $67 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shipwright's Arms Hotel was established in 1846. Situated in the heart of historic Battery Point, Shippies (as it is know by the locals)has unique collection of Tasmanian and maritime memorabilia. Browse around the bar for the maritime memories including a 7 metre photomural showing every Sydney to Hobart yacht race line honours winner. The English style bar (built by a shipwright) features Tasmanian timbers and the log fires keep it cosy during winter. In summer you can relax in the ambient beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shipwright's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright's Arms Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing