We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent italian food, something different compared to all the pizza an pasta places”
Review of Ciuccio

Ciuccio
Ranked #162 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent italian food, something different compared to all the pizza an pasta places”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had heard this place had changed ownership and food was really good so gave it a try. Really enjoyed the night, service was good and food excellent. Had the venison cheeks and creamed polenta and was very tasty, also great value for money. Hadn't booked a table but despite restaurant full I was easily accommodated. Will be going back especially as exciting new menu arriving.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigmanchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    71
    28
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointment for an italian restaurant”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Saturday night out, was very cold but we decided to go to an italian restaurant and chose Ciuccio. The service was slow but also the staff were disinterested, distracted almost and Inattentive. I found this alarming as there weren't that many people dining. We all ordered various pasta dishes. The cream sauce was bitter and tangy and there was barely any pasta in the actual dish. For the high price the dishes cost I would expect more value for money.
The overall experience was terrible, none of us were satisfied and to be honest a big waste of money. Food and wine are below average, this place seems to be cutting costs and its showing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just delicious!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times over the years but dined here for the first time recently under the new ownership - and boy was I impressed. The head chef knows his stuff, had the most delicious bowl of pasta I have had for many a year. Far too many tables squished together inside which I have in past reviews of restaurants really canned - however when the food is this good I forgive a lot of things! Totally confident in recommending this restaurant to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanHobart_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Risotto”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a quick dinner of Seafood Risotto which was good. Pretty generous serving of seafood, creamy & al dente (not crunchy) risotto. Service was OK, nondescript.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxintas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooo Happy”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Was very nervous going here especially for Mother's Day after reading all the negative comments. Everything was fantastic, service and food. There for 8 of us and no problems with the orders or the continual stream of coffees ordered by our table. Had the scrambled egg with salmon on ciabatta - absolutely delicious. There was no problem when went to pay and use entertainment card even on Mother's Day. Will definately be recommending for breakfast / brunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eilishe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciuccio also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
 

Been to Ciuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing