We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, well located”
Review of The Waratah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waratah Hotel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's a matter of you get what you pay for. $80inc breakfast, fairly centrally located, cheap night time meals. I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prahalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for The Waratah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Let's not get it wrong, this place isn't fancy. What it is it's great value for money, ultra clean, close to town and happening areas, but pretty quiet. Had a great stay! Enjoyed hanging out in the bar, had some good pub grub & the staff helpful and friendly!

Will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the bus terminal in Hobart having travelled down by bus from Launceston. It was fine for one night, could even have gone to two nights. Large full english breakfast AND continental included in the price and served in the downstairs restaurant. Wifi available for 5 AUD. The hotel is old, but everything was clean. The interior : wardrobe, washbasin, shower all old, but clean. WC reasonable. The hot water supply excellent.
Hot water immediate! but not scorching so no fear of burning. The TV was tiny but modern, so you can attach your flash drive, your memory card or play a DVD on it. lights everywhere, so no need to get out of bed after reading. fridge in room. Because of location we thought it would be noisy, but not a sound came to our room on the first floor. We stayed on a monday night, so restaurant was not open, so this might be why it was so quiet. That was perfect for us. The dinner menu looked good though, but we were not able to try it as we only stayed the one night at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grebnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildegard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sastomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#45 of 54 in Hobart
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 54 in Hobart
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Stranger Hotel
Welcome Stranger Hotel
#10 of 28 in Hobart
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#16 of 28 in Hobart
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#11 of 54 in Hobart
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#32 of 48 in Hobart
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waratah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waratah Hotel

Address: 272 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $30 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waratah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waratah Hotel offers hotel and hostel rooms with free breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free off-street parking. Just 10 minutes' walk from central Hobart and Royal Hobart Hospital, guests can relax at the bar and restaurant.All rooms at Waratah Hotel Hobart include an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV, a telephone and electric blankets. A DVD player is available upon request. Guests receive a free continental breakfast each morning. The restaurant also offers lunch and dinner menus. The bar features a pool table, poker machines and weekly live entertainment.The Waratah Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Hobart Airport. Restaurants, bars, museums and historical sites are on the hotel's doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waratah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waratah Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing