We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient but noisy”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Great location, staff were nice, rooms lovely and clean, breakfast was basic but good. The only down side is the noise from the street and the constant beeping of the pedestrian crossing.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms 3, 4 and 5 which are windowed to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
56
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed here during a quick break to Hobart.
The rooms are basic, but clean, the bed is comfortable, and our room had a window which could open up, however, we kept it closed most of the time, when there are people in the courtyard at the back, the cigarette smoke flows into the room and you can hear everyone’s conversation, which at times was....unsavoury to say the least!
I only have two words for the staff I encountered (they may not all be like this): slow & unprofessional (yes, I know it’s within a pub, but swearing and drinking in front of your customers....really?!)
I've rated this place as average, based on it being a short stay. If you are only going to be in the room to sleep and get ready in the morning, then it’s fine. If you keep your expectations minimal, then you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is located in a very convenient central location, right in the heart of the city, next to the City Mall and within a few minutes' walk to the Tourist Office, the Franklin wharf, Salamanca area, etc.
It has only 11 rooms on top of the reception which is a bar that is closed at about 10pm. Therefore do not expect services that you normally have in other standard hotels such as 24/7 reception, restaurant, room services, concierge, etc.
The bedrooms are arranged along one side of a U-shaped corridor which wraps around the stairs. As our room (room 6) is right on the landing of the stairs, which are of timber and not carpeted, we had noise problems from guests which wore hard-heeled shoes going up and down the stairs. The standard double-bed room is resonably sized and quite new and clean.
Breakfast is included with the room. It is not a full continental breakfast but the servings are sufficient. You have a choice of either cereal, or muesli or a hot dish such as toasts with bacon and egg, all with juice/tea/coffee. The hotel serves a limited menu for lunch. No dinner is served. However there are a few cafes nearby and many restaurants in the Salamanca area.
There is a taxi stand right at the entrance to the hotel. The stop for the airport shuttle bus is about 50 m away, opposite the corner nearest to the hotel. The hotel reception was quite helpful in making the booking for the shuttle to the airport for us.
We did not use the wired internet service so can not comment. We were disappointed that the hotel has no WIFI service.
We booked the double-bed room through Agoda and paid about AUD 100 per night.

Room Tip: As there are not many rooms available, there is not much choice. Rooms 1 to 4 face the street, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeTeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
445 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The entrance and reception is a bar with doors leading off to gaming rooms. Don't let that put you off! The rooms upstairs are fresh and spacious with all of the usual facilities. An LAN cable is provided for free internet hook up. Breakfast is plentiful and staff are very pleasant and welcoming. Being on the street of downtown Hobart, noise is inevitable but quietens after 10pm. Even the pokies and bar downstairs seems to close before that time!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room not overlooking Collins Strreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for a few days and I'd gladly stay again. Excellent location and the rooms were very clean. Staff were friendly and with a decent sized breakfast included in the price you can't go wrong as far as value is concerned. The only problems were a lack of parking on site but there's plenty of cheap public parking nearby. The rooms and shower stall were a little small. If you stay in a room on the street side make sure you close your windows at night or you'll get woken up by the street cleaners, etc. TV reception wasn't very good. But if you're just after the basics and don't need all the extras I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had to fly to Hobart without notice when a family member became critically ill and admitted to Royal Hobart Hospital to undergo life saving surgery.The hospital is a 4 minute walk away.

When I rang to book my accomodation, the staff member that I spoke to boooked me in without hassle.

I arrived several hours later (looking worse for ware after the emotional stress and travel) I was assisted to my room and given the directions to the hospital.

When I returned the same staff member asked how my family member was, if there was anything that I required and even though it was late (after 10pm) had I eaten and could they get me something light to eat. This is way more that I had expected and greatly appreciated.

As my stay has been on a day by day basis (due to medical condition of my family member) on one Saturday night there was no accomodation available, Kristy (staff) arranged alternate accomodation for me at a nearby hotel for the night and for my transfers to and from. Again more than expected and greatly appreciated.

The rooms are clean, well maintained and quiet. I have stayed in two different rooms (2 & 9) and both have not been noisy. There is a guest laundy where you can do washing & drying for $2 combined.

A cooked breakfast is included into your tarriff. For $70 a night I could not ask for a better more conveniently located property. The staff here are amazing and go way beyond the normal run of the mill stuff. However evening meals are not available and dining in the area late at night after leaving the hospital is limited.

Whilst I choose this accomodation based on its location to the hospital I would be happy to return in the future with my partner for pleasure.

Room Tip: no room advantages all rooms are the same all provide value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here one night for a weekend visit to Hobart. It is in the town centre which is basically deserted on weekends. Short walk to Salamanca and a convenient base for sightseeing.
The room was nice and newly renovated. But during the evening our toilet broke. There are no staff on site overnight and we had to put up with a leaking broken and smelling toilet until the next morning.
The hotel is over a pub which isn't the classiest of venues. We thought we would have a nightcap there - but it closed before 9:30 on a Saturday night! In the morning, however, it was much busier. There were a dozen or so dodgy drunks having beers at 8am while we were having breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 47 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 47 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Property: Central Hotel Hobart
Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing