We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Hotel Hobart
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
tasmania
Level Contributor
341 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Excellent hotel good price excellent location, very clean fully cooked breakfast included. Above a hotel/bar where breakfast and lunch are served. No noise of a night the bar closes fairly early. Rooms with opening windows, heat pump/air conditioner, huge shower, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, rooms serviced daily very very clean. One flight of stairs parking on meter right out front or carpark down road very cheap for all day parking. Staff were lovely very helpful very modern hotel.

Room Tip: Only 11 rooms all on the same floor so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
53
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here on the recommendation of one of the staff at Customs House. We had stayed there on previous nights, but the last night for us was booked so he called a friend here to get us a reasonable rate. Parking is not great, had to find spot on street to check in, and then move car to public garage for the night. The garage was several blocks away, so was a bit inconvenient, but manageable. The first room we were given was not cleaned from prior guest, so moved us into another. Very nice and modern. The hotel is above bar, but had private entrance that can only be accessed with room key. Breakfast was good, I believe it came with the price of room. Wireless was additional charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here for two nights whilst in Hobart recently. Although over a pub it was very quiet, even on a Saturday night it was closed by 11 pm. Rooms were very comfortable and modern. Not too far from the nightlife down at Salamanca either. Breakfast inc in the price was also nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan-was-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on the recommendations of others on Trip Advisor. Loved it! The manager Tom was fantastic! I pre-organised to buy some Coronas & asked if they could be put in our fridge, as we weren't arriving until late. Our flight was delayed & by the time we picked up our hire car & arrived it was close on midnight. Tom waited for us to give us our key. It was so nice to be able to sit back & relax & have a beer waiting for you. He even put some lemon slices in the fridge. It's these little thoughtful touches that help to make your stay more comfortable & homely.

The room was clean & tidy. I was pleasantly surprised it was a little nicer than some ot the photos on-line. We had a huge room with a Queen bed & a single. Fairly simple & contemporary, but nice. The bathroom was a good size, quite modern & spacious. The security was good with a seperate locked entrance to the stairway leading to the rooms. There can sometimes be a little noise early in the morning when the cleaner is cleaning the smoking balcony, bottles in the bin etc, but nothing major. After all it is above a bar & cafe & $50-$100 cheaper a night than some of the larger hotels etc.

Breakfast was really nice & included in the price of the room! You could choose from cereal or from a hot brekkie list & the chef would make it for you. I had an omellette each morning which was really nice.

The location was great right near the mall, with a little shop where you could get any supplies from & just a couple of blocks to the waterfront bars & restaurants etc.

Thank you Tom and staff for your very genuine friendly service. The hotel was very good value for money especially comparing to other hotels. We would def stay here again! If this is your 1st visit to Hobart I would def recommend going to the Salamanca Markets & having a jet boat ride on 'The Wild Thing' .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Having read the reviews, we decided to stay at the Central Cafe Bar. What a great decision this was,- room and bathroom spacious, mini fridge, plasma TV, everything one could need. Very central location. Cheff prepared excellent, tasty and very well presented breakfasts. Duty Manager Tom couldn't have been more friendly, or helpful - thanks Tom for your excellent service. Would definately recomend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were lucky our room was available to check in when we arrived at 11am. The room was modern, clean and comfortable with queen bed and good shower. Breakfast (choice of cereal OR cooked menu) was included and served in the pub bistro. There was a window to a lane which could be opened. We did notice faint wafts of cigarette smoke penetrating the room at times (not from window) and there was a DJ at the function downstairs on the Saturday night which we could hear but it wasn't too disturbing. We would have preferred to have been able to reuse our towels - even though we hung them up they were replaced while we were out. There were a couple of lights (above the mirror and main room downlight) that didn't work. The location was certainly convenient - only a few blocks to the waterfront. The staff on breakfast duties weren't very communicative.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mintintense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

First room they gave us was directly above the smoking balconly for the bar downstairs, no problem in moving to a quieter room. Rooms are clean and comfortable, good size and very clean bathroom. Nothing flash but value for money, internet is included along with cooked breakfast and walking distance to most points of interest. Friendly staff, but keep in mind this is not a "hotel" it,s a bar and gaming premises, that being said if you are looking for reasonable priced, clean and convienient accomodation this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Hobart

Property: Central Hotel Hobart
Address: 73 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central Cafe Bar)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Hobart CBD at our doorstep and the picturesque Hobart Waterfront only a short 600m walk away, Hobart's many attractions are so easily accessible when you choose to stay at Central Hotel Hobart (formerly known as Central Cafe Bar). Explore the modern city shopping precinct, stroll to beautiful Salamanca Place to enjoy the famous Saturday market or jump aboard the MONA ferry. Tour buses depart from just around the corner! Featuring 11 modern rooms on the 1st floor of an historic hotel, Central Hotel Hobart offers affordable and comfortable double and twin room accommodation with all conveniences, just 20 minutes' drive from Hobart airport. Free Wi-fi is available to all guests while staying in our serviced rooms, which also feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary guest toiletries and a hairdryer. We are pleased to include a delicious cooked or continental breakfast with your room rate. Central Hotel Hobart also offers a bar and cafe, entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights, a gaming room with Keno and electronic gaming machines and a bottle shop specialising in Tasmanian wines, with local and imported beer, wine and spirits. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Central Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing