We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, budget room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge Motel
Ranked #41 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, budget room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Since we had our own transport, we were out most of the time. We only came back to the hotel at night to sleep. The room was clean and comfortable enough for us, it had a microwave and an electric heater which did heat up the room sufficiently although the temperature outside was down to 1 degree. The bed and the bathroom were OK, our only complaint was that there was no WIFI connection. The manager told me that there would be WIFI shortly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwidarsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I am very sorry that our quest was not happy with the room that they booked. All of our standard motel rooms has 1 Queen bed and 1 Single bed which are cater for max. 3 guests in total. We had many reviews that guests are happy about having an extra bed to use even for 2 guests. The freezer got ice stuck in because the fridge is too cool as many guests may prefer it to be cooler when they are using it. Our housekeepers keeps turning the temperature a bit higher when the guest check out. Normally the defrosting takes at least 8 hours. After the guest mentioned it on the first day, reception did check the fridge even the guest said they understand it is probably because we had guests check in everyday. We are very sorry that we did not realize that the guest prefer us to keep the food in another fridge and defrost that on the same day. After the guest check out we stopped selling the room and fixed the problem.

We do regular check on the condition of electrical in rooms but not daily. Electric blanket is one thing that we could not know until the guests mentioned to us. Or we can change it at once if the guests tell us on the first day. We have housekeepers service everyday. They will tidy up your bed if there is no personal stuff on it. Bed will be changed regularly if they stay here for long, unless the guests request and it may be charged an appropriate cleaning fee as stated on our sign-in form.

We never had complaint on bed bugs. But we will look into it as we had a report of this. We are very sorry about the guests were not satisfied with our housekeepers' services. Management will check with the housekeepers on this in serious manner.

Regards
Waterfront Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    75
    35
    36
See reviews for
42
113
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Despite looking very rough from outside, our room was comfortable and clean, with a microwave that served well for heating our dinner. This is very much a budget hotel, as the price should suggest, but our experience was a lot better than those described in the other recent reviews. We stayed for a single night and found this hotel adequate, if not quite what it would appear to be based on the promotional photos and description.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendalllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter t, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feed back we hope to sse you back at the waterfront lodge in the future
Happy Travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The only good thing about the Waterfront Lodge is the manager Peter, he was courteous and helpful, he upgraded our room when the standard room allotted to us was dark and dismal, smelt terrible and was tucked into a little area beside the driveway. If you want waterfront views as the name and overview suggest, don't stay here, views are of the parking area with a glimpse water and on the other side it is of an overgrown, untidy vacant block. Although we were in a upgraded room, the pillows were like rocks (as they are in a lot of Motels) heating was a radiater, a fan in the cupboard for summer. We didn't use the electric blanket as it was faulty, the light kept flickering or not coming on at all. The photos on the website are misleading as is the name of the Motel. The only water views are from the smokers balcony and even then you are looking at a house and huge fuel storage silos. We could smell sewage at times during our 2 night stay. The front of the property is untidy and not very streetsmart. I would not recommend this Motel to anyone except maybe backpakers, although it is probably too pricey for them.

Room Tip: Don't trust the photo's and read all the latest reviews ( not reviews from year before)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter t, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feed back as the first room you booked was a small comfort room which are great little rooms if you are on a budget. all the rooms on the right hand side of the motel have water/ mountain views which are very popular. please if booking requests a room with a view and we will try our hardest to accommodate this. Subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

As the prices would suggest, this is budget accommodation and should be judged as such. This is not the Ritz, nor does it purport to be.

Importantly the hotel is some distance from town so is only really convenient if you have a vehicle. However, it's less than 10mins drive from the city centre. There is insufficient parking for all rooms in the hotel (especially as most guests are likely to have cars); some overflow is available in a grassy yard next door.

We booked through the RatesToGo website which implied that all rooms had a queen and single bed. In fact the room we booked, a "comfort room", was not specifically described on the website and had only a double bed which was not suitable for my party. There were no other such rooms available with a twin configuration. Management should make sure there is an accurate description on this website as at time of writing it still hasn't been fixed.

Fortunately the manager was able to accommodate us in a Heritage Studio (in a renovated cottage out the back), which was a nicer standard of accommodation but is still budget level. Some rooms are up steep and narrow stairs, and the rooms are far from soundproof (not sure if the very loud couple next door realised this). The room had a heater but it was not able to provide much heat for the size of the room given the cool conditions (down to about 1 degree at night). There are blankets provided and we were warm enough but some might prefer being able to get the room temperature a bit higher.

Our room was serviced on one day but not on another; not sure of the reason why.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter t, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank You for your feed back the cottage rooms are great rooms for the budget Traveller we have emailed rates to go to fix the bed configaration sorry for any inconvience on this matter.
Happy Travelling
We hope to see you back at the Waterfront Lodge Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stated in a Hertitage Studio. Certainly wasn't even close to a studio. Extremely noisy timber floors, fridge in room compressor constantly running, could hear all other guests noises down to a sneeze. Bathrooms really need updating, door handles falling off, lights not working. No A/C in room. To be honest I've stayed in better backpacker accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeakaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The rooms are really small, much smaller than on their website. The frnt desk closes at 8:00 pm with no one on site, slightly disquieting. No tv remote, walls need painting, not enough room for two people to move around bed. Better options closer to Hobert city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotraver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter t, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi The Comfort / Compact rooms which is stated on websites are Great Value for what you are paying $50.00 to $60.00 per night for two guests, all these rooms have new Carpet, New Bed and Televisions We are very sorry regarding the door which is on our maintence list, there is plenty of over flow parking next door to the property so all vehicles can park off the street.
There is a manager on the property 24 hours and we do close Reception at 8.00pm but there is an after hour Phone on the wall outside reception which guests can call us on emergency.
Regards
PT
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

On arrival had some trouble understanding the receptionist, language difficulties. Room was compact, windows dirty and had cracks, access up the stairs revealed chipped and broken tiles a risk to both staff and visitors. Shower cubicles need revamp as they were showing signs of mould and mildew, very little insulation between wall as we were kept awake due to noisy people next door coming and going and banging constantly on there door. This was not as advertised.
One good thing it was only 10 minutes maximum to town centre of Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hobart
3.3 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#15 of 52 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.2 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge Motel

Property: Waterfront Lodge Motel
Address: 153 Risdon Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Waterfront Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waterfront Lodge Motel you'll be 5 mi (5 km) from Hobart City Centre Salamanca Place, Markets Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and 2.9 Mi (4.6 Km) from Theatre Royal. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, free self parking, and in-room kitchenettes. TVs and coffee/tea makers are featured in all 36 rooms. Kitchenettes come with refrigerators and microwaves, making in-room dining convenient. This hotel offers free WiFi in public areas,Shared Kitchen Hot Plates Pots and Pans , and a picnic area. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, free newspapers in the lobby, and a television in the lobby. Within a 10-minute drive of this 3-star AAA Rating hotel, attractions include St. David's Cathedral and Cascade Brewery. Mona New and old Art, Cadburys Chocolate Factory, Salamanca Market/Place Wrest Point Casino Derwent Entertaiment Centre, Cornilian Bay Hockey Centre, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Lodge Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing