We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge Motel
Ranked #45 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In a beautiful location, but a little out of Hobart, so choices of places to eat is limited without transport. A fairly local supermarket though if you want to provide your own supplies to cook. The local 'pub' also did good food and there was a local pizza outlet too.

You get what you pay for and, whilst the hotel was very reasonably priced, it was clean, and comfortable, but basic. Fine for a night or two, but probably not for a weeks holiday.

The guy on reception was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Apart from a few cobwebs in the room and some minimal mould in the shower, this was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever been in. The spa was the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the room was nicely set out with a mini kitchette and I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The spa rooms were much bigger than the standard rooms and nicely set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not too far from the airport. A welcoming and helpful owner (the receptionist)! Room service everyday! the quiet blissfulness of the derwent river,the view of Mt Wellington covered with snow, closeness to shopping, closeness to the city, closeness to M.O.N.A (Museum of old and new art), closeness to chocolate factory etc etc etc love it all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We love to hear feed back Thanks for staying at Waterfront Lodge we hope to see you back in the near future.
Happy Traveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

i was very happy as i had wanted to spend only 69 for single, none available so was given beautiful rm upstairs for two ppl for same price, AND FOR MORE THAN onee night. i will go back.i said nt to worry bout rm service,just needed towel and sugar,got back to spotless rm!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hi Its Great To see guests leave our Property with a smile on there face we hope to see you back at the Leisureinn Waterfront Lodge In The Near Future Happy Traveling,
Regards
Peter
Manager
Leisureinn Watefront Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Only about 10 minutes from Hobart CBD, your own transport is definitely needed. We stayed six nights in total on our first visit to Tasmania. We had room 1 on the top floor, which had huge windows overlooking the Derwent River and also Mt Wellington. Due to the cold weather, we mostly had to keep the curtains closed. The bed was very comfortable and was supplied with 'his and hers' electric blanket (each side of the bed was adjustable temperature as required), and it's just as well. Although the rooms had recently been nicely refurbished, the fan heaters had been removed and replaced with oil-type heaters which really only warmed towels before a shower or dried them after showers! These oil heaters were not adequate to heat the rooms, and when we mentioned this to the manager, he said that other guests had said the same thing. Room 1 also had a small kitchenette (toaster, coffee making facilities, fridge, microwave oven and sink). I had booked this motel online and requested the room with the spa, but on arrival was offered Room 1 as an alternative due to the length of our stay because the spa room had no views at all! After seeing other hotels, motels and B&Bs in Hobart when on the ground, I doubt if I would chose to stay at the Waterfront again.

Room Tip: If you chose the spa room, it has no views except for the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hi Thank You For Your Feed Back & i am glad you enjoyed your stay.
At Leisureinn Watefront Lodge
Regards
Peter
Manager
Leisureinn Waterfront Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was a single women traveller. At first glance from the carpark I was very concerned from the exterior of the motel rooms when I arrived in the rear carpark and asked if I would be placed in one of the rooms from above. After much thought the manager did give me a room above, I was very grateful, I would not have stayed otherwise and would have just counted my loss. For what ever reason the rooms on the lower ground level don't look inviting,and I felt vunerable there by myself.Thankyou for upgrading me,I would stay there again for my short stay visiting friends.Rooms have been refurbished which goes along way, new carpet, fresh paint,good size LCD TV kitchnette with crockery ect and microwave. I would assume that costs are saved by no frills...No tissues,phone note pads or hair dryers, airconditioning. I did like the sloping open windows. Had to park up the street first night as no carpark was available. For the money I paid it served it's purpose. Good luck with maintaining inprovements....The motel was only a 20 minute drive for me to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't look at a book by it's cover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellejeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Convenient location on quiet road, 10 mins. to City centre, most pleasant suburban surroundings with river and mountain outlook.
Apartments are generously appointed — modern, fresh and cheerful, and totally quiet. No aspect of comfort, convenience or service is less than ideal.
Guests’ kitchen is an excellent feature, well-equipped, very clean and a pleasure to use.
Congenial, helpful management and staff ensured our four-night stay memorable.
We found no point of criticism in previous posts supportable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Waterfront Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful feedback on the Trip Advisor forum.

I am delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us. and to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Leisureinn Waterfront Lodge Motel next time while visiting Hobart Tasmania,
Regards
Peter
Manager
Leisureinn Waterfront Lodge Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hobart
1.4 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
131 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
2.9 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 55 in Hobart
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#9 of 55 in Hobart
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
3.2 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge Motel

Address: 153 Risdon Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Waterfront Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waterfront Lodge Motel you'll be 5 mi (5 km) from Hobart City Centre Salamanca Place, Markets Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and 2.9 Mi (4.6 Km) from Theatre Royal. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, free self parking, and in-room kitchenettes. TVs and coffee/tea makers are featured in all 36 rooms. Kitchenettes come with refrigerators and microwaves, making in-room dining convenient. This hotel offers free WiFi in public areas,Shared Kitchen Hot Plates Pots and Pans , and a picnic area. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, free newspapers in the lobby, and a television in the lobby. Within a 10-minute drive of this 3-star AAA Rating hotel, attractions include St. David's Cathedral and Cascade Brewery. Mona New and old Art, Cadburys Chocolate Factory, Salamanca Market/Place Wrest Point Casino Derwent Entertaiment Centre, Cornilian Bay Hockey Centre, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Lodge Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing