We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Wonder”
Review of Quarry Salamanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Salamanca
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Mandurah, WEST. AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One night Wonder”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at The Quarry Salamanca for 1 night with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed it. Got a good deal off "WOTIF" and it was wonderful. Reception staff in bar, although very new to premises, seemed extremely helpful, even though they fully didn't know the booking process yet.
A big + to them.

We stayed in the "Waterman" room which we were informed on the WOTIF website, was above the bar, and did get noisy sometimes. It was a Thursday night and not too busy down stairs. The noise was hardly noticable. We did hear some noise from above with their footsteps, but being a typical historic Salamanca building with roof/floor timbers showing, that was to be expected.
The room itself was clean, spacious and had all amenities that we required.
The bathroom was great, and very authentic.
Bed was fantastic, and if it had have fitted in my suitcase, I would have taken it with me...haha.
After a red eye flight from Perth, we spent quite a lot of time in it.
Breakfast in the restaurant on ground level was great, and staff were very pleasant again. (note to boss- KEEP ALL STAFF MEMBERS).
All in all, an extremely pleasant stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.
My only issues are vehicle parking, which is unavoidable by the premises, but parking police were checking in front of hotel, and stairs to the rooms. Not a problem for us, but elderly could struggle with luggage.
We have now left the Hotel, and are staying in some pre-arranged acommodation, BUT will definately be returning to the restaurant/bar. Thank you Quarry On Salamanca.

Room Tip: Waterman room could get noisy if busy downstairs or out the front, but we were warned and it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekidna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    23
    11
    20
See reviews for
2
82
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed, contemporary, very comfortable King size bed, gorgeous linen, clean modern bathroom with view onto the bed/ living area. Fully equipped kitchen, we didn't make use of it but it is totally self contained. We were kindly offered breakfast at the cafe below. Would highly recommend and definitely return on future visits to Hobart.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Waterman apartment and we were blown away by it all.. The decor, the bathroom, the use of space and the bed!! A bed to not get out of.. The views were great from the space.. even from the shower and the bed.

The staff were beautiful.. Attentive but not over bearing.. Just gorgeous, pleasant, young people who know their profession and do it exceptionally well.

The bar, restaurant, lounge areas have a great feel too. Breakfast was included and was delish.

Being right on the Main Street of Salamanca Place was a bonus.. Close to everything but no noise reached us..

Would thoroughly recommend it to all and would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: Front rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night in the Waterman apartment and were happy with the overral stay but there were a few things that really let the place down. The building and apartments themselves are amazing and the bed was incredibly comfortable.
Upon arriving however I was given a key to the wrong apartment and consequently walked in on a stranger which left me embarrassed and feeling terrible for the person. After getting the correct key, we found our apartment impressive but lacking in terms of service.
There was no body wash in the bathroom (just a big empty steel holder next to the shampoo and conditioner), the towels had cotton strings hanging from the edges, the bed looked like it hadn't been made properly and the toilet roll was half used. When I went to leave feedback in the book I found the form had already been filled out by the previous visitors, so they hadn't replaced it. At that point I was unsure if they had even made the room up, especially considering they thought we were booked into another apartment hence giving us the wrong key. The lighting in the bathroom was incredibly bad for putting on makeup but the rain shower and bath were really great. If you can handle a few hiccups in regards to service I would still recommend staying here as it is a very beautiful building and in such a great location. Perhaps we just had some bad luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do not listen to the "whingers"...this boutique hotel rocks!!!!!! From the service (provided by the friendly and obliging restaurant and bar staff), the decor (stylish rooms with luxe, sexy bathrooms), food (breakfast is a highlight) location (Salamanca Markets and MONA ferry on your doorstop) and for value for money nothing else compares. We have just returned from our second stay in this beautiful hidden treasure and have already booked our third! You will LOVE it!!!!

Room Tip: Perfect Winter Hotel. Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T assie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just spent 3 days and 2 nights in the Quarry Apartments - mid week. These are great, depending on your needs. For us, they were perfect. Close to Hobart's CBD and on Hobart's waterfront Salamanca's main strip.

Check in was via very professional restaurant staff and was access via a key pad entry security door. Yes, it has two sets of stairs, as these apartments are on the first and second floor of a convict build sandstone building.

Rooms are a blend of old with new, with impressive convict chipped sandstone walls and very modern facilities. The king size bed is like a cloud on a firm base with pillows that allow you to wallow in your dreams. Windows are double glazed, but early morning street sweeper one morning gave us an opportunity for some early morning lovin!

Some comments made about the dust could be from the fact of the sandstones walls and the very old timber structure / roof. If you don't want any dust, we suggest you stay in a sterile, non descript white walled room that you can find anywhere in the world, at about the same price.

Some may not like the use of the window in the shower, but without the children, why not?
If you love spending hours in front of a mirror doing your hair and makeup, then the bathroom lighting could be a problem. If you live in the real world, it will be fine. Best described as “mood” lighting. It’s only missing a spa bath! Shower rose was to die for. Luck Hobart was not on water restrictions because I think we used twice as much water than we should have. It is the best show rose I have ever stood under, including my own home!

Breakfast was complimentary and was outstanding in quality. Very busy with local clientele, which would indicate they are doing something right given the choice on this restaurant / cafe strip.

Overall, we chose this due to its proximity to Salamanca’s restaurants and cafes. It’s a ripper and reminded us of our stays in the Rocks, Sydney both in look and feel. We will be returning in a few weeks...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamoTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Possibly best location in Salamanca, and the room have the potential to be special. The let down was that the rooms were not serviced to basic levels of cleanliness. One more cleaner may be a good investment. Dusty (on shelves, dining table, benches ...) for the four nights we stayed there. Nice quality furniture and fittngs were let down by this simple over-sight. Nice people at the reception in the ground floor bar/eatery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 48 in Hobart
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
0.2 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Salamanca

Property: Quarry Salamanca
Address: 27 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quarry Salamanca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quarry Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Salamanca Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing