We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Quarry Salamanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Salamanca
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed January 7, 2012

How wonderful is this place! On Salamanca Place, convict hewn sandstone penthouse apartment (called the "Market" room). Fantastic restoration, highlighting the history of the place, yet replete with very modern full kitchen, awesome bathroom, and the snuggliest bed. 39 steps up, no lift, may challenge the lighthearted. No aircon only downside, but Hobart weather hardly balmy. Such a funky space, with great lighting and views of the harbour. One of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Quarry Salamanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

If only we had read the reviews before we booked this place. There is no air con, which is extraordinary considering we paid so much money for four nights over NYEve. As we needed to close the windows to sleep at night due to noise, the rooms are very stuffy. The rooms are actually very nice in themselves, but the absolutely filthy windows and inside window sills were unacceptable for the price. The location looking over Taste Festival is fabulous - what little we could see though the muck. The dirty smeared hand marks all over the kitchen and laminated menus and info sheets was very off putting. I even spent some time cleaning all the kitchen glasses so we could have a drink and feel more comfy during our four day visit. There is also rather a lot of dust on the carpet. Has anyone cleaned in here? Having said all that, the bed and bath are clean. Plus, only 4 tv channels? Just ludicrously overpriced for what you get. Saw rats in the bar courtyard and staff seemed unconcerned. Would not return. Stayed at Henry Jones Art Hotel on the way in and it was worth every cent. Stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PickyGuest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

First impressions are excellent. Lovely room, great location, very comfortable bed. It feels just great.

But then ...

The couple using the next room arrived. I jumped because I thought they were entering my room - it was so loud. But it wasn't their fault - the wall between our room was as though it wasn't there. I heard everything. And over the next hour, I heard EVERYTHING ... awkward!!

Maybe if you're planning a romantic stay in Hobart, try a place where the adjacent rooms don't unwittingly become an audience.

Sorry, can't recommend it because of that. Won't stay again unless it's properly fixed.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brettyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the room to be very spacious, modern, and very comfortable. Fantastic location right in Salamanca Place close to restaurants and bars and the famous markets are literally at your door. The only downside would be that the room did get a little stuffy at night but a ceiling fan would fix that. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmurfWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I found this hotel had a great location overlooking Salamanca Markets, great amenities and was very clean. The room was serviced each day.

The restaurant downstairs was great. Especially the salmon.

Highly recommended. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerriandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Quarry in late July on a very good rate. At first site the rooms look great. Relatively new, compact and well appointed. The bathroom has a huge bath and good quality amenities.

Everytime you walk into the room you are hit with a stale waft of air, mainly because the bathroom drain is uncovered and the smell of old water fills the room.

The accommodation overall was great.

We ate breakfast everday at Quarry restuarant but the last day was a disaster.

Took 20mins for our coffee to arrive. Then 45mins for our museli to arrive...except we didn't order museli. When we brough this to the attenion of the waitress she looked confused and took it back. Another 10mins and we still hadn't received our original order (porridge). Not sure about anyone else but waiting 55mins for poridge is beyond me.

We walked out and the waitress made us pay for the two coffees. What a joke.

So far, we've told as many people as possible how indifferent the service was as it really was pathetic.

Accomodation great, breakfast...utterly awful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerryWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Booked a room at Quarry online, the process was so simple and easy. Check-in was just as quick.

Didn't expect a lot, as the price was so reasonable - but we arrived to find a huge room with views onto Salamanca, completely self-contained with an amazing en-suite bathroom and all the mod cons.

The living space is so large that we invited several friends to join us for post-dinner drinks and there was plenty of room for everyone to sprawl out on the large leather sofas.

Double-glazed windows were a god-send as the rowdy Friday night crowd gives way to the Saturday morning market buzz.

Have tried booking a room here since and have been unable to due to the popularity!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank EQuintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#16 of 48 in Hobart
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
0.0 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Salamanca

Address: 27 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $148 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quarry Salamanca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quarry Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Salamanca Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing