We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not described honestly”
Review of Tower Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower Motel
Ranked #46 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room not described honestly”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked a two bedroom apartment, what we got really couldn't be described as such. The second lot of beds was in the lounge area, and the lounge had no lounges...so when in the lounge you had to sit on someones bed, and those sleeping in the real bedroom had to walk through this area to get to the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    25
    48
    18
    20
See reviews for
22
42
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

For the money you are paying on a Friday and Saturday night in a busy time of the year you should at least have a hot shower! Having a cold shower each morning isn't my cup of tea! the room wasn't as clean as i would like! If you like sleeping on rocks then this place is for you, bed is crap! the best thing about this place is the parking! I would rather spend another $100 a night then stay here again! oh and the silver fish crawling through your bed topped it off!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bek a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Innes Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We hit this motel on possibly the busiest weekend of December 2013. It was okay but if we had our time again and plenty of time we'd stay elsewhere. Rooms are clean but not spotless. The carpet is very dirty. This was booked through our travel agent and all that was available from September. We were a little disappointed as well had five nights in Hobart with 2 adults and 3 children. It served as a base for showers and difficult sleeping. As our bed was a double and my husband is over six foot it was generally uncomfortable and hard plus a bus load of people arrived on our first night and proceeded to run up and down the stairs outside of our room, move furniture on timber floors and run from each room slamming doors for at least 3 hours. Very inconsiderate. Timber venetian in rooms do not cut enough light out of room to ensure room is dark enough to actually sleep in it. We put a blanket up to assist with this. Thick curtains would have worked better. Water hammering in the pipes in our room and our second room was very annoying. Dripping taps and running toilets all night. For a motel with 55 units there was only 1 washing machine and 1 dryer and access to the laundry was with a key. Very difficult when you need to wash because of kids and you allow yourself the time but someone's got the key. We had two rooms so we assumed we had two parks for our vehicle, with our rooms right out the back we were lucky enough to find a park at the very entrance to the motel on new years eve. I think overall we were probably lucky to have got a place that provided a base for our family but the facilities were less than comfortable on the whole. We definitely would give this a miss next time. This sort of put a damper on our Hobart experience. The managers/owners were very courteous though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was very dirty. The walls were filthy, there were hairs on the pillows, the mattress was so old and the springs were sticking in me all night and was very lumpy. There was a huge crack in the basin in bathroom, the window ledge above the shower was filthy.. The tv was in the room with 3 single beds instead of in the room with the QS bed. One of the wo lights above the QS bed was blown and the one that did work was dimming all the time. Very disappointed and will not stay there again. I understand it is budget but that does not mean filthy and run down. We had a house that backed onto out room and a group of men were in the backyard having a bonfire and then got into an argument and were swearing profusely. We had a 6, 10 and 12 year with us. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinglebells1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wasn't expecting much for this money ($139) and the outside had us thinking twice a little too early. Had a 2 bedroom apartment with plenty of room, clean throughout and plenty of tea and coffee provided. Photos on website don't do our room justice, much nicer in the flesh. Downsides were: heaters are not good, grateful for electric blankets. More curtains needed in main room as lane way is outside window and privacy/car lights were a little concerning.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Hotel/Motel type is a very clean basic hotel with all you need for a stop over in Hobart,
The room are reasonable size clean and contain electric blanket,heating(essential in Tasmania)
it has a fridge ,tea coffee making facilities,Flatt screen TV,on suite shower,
Its main advantage is the proximity to all the main roads to travel and touring,
There is a bus service to town and a shuttle to the airport(charge apply),
The main advantage can be a achieved by hiring a car and staying there as it has ample parking places,
The cleaning staff are nice also the reception staff helpful

Room Tip: Second floor rooms has a better views over Hobart and sorrunding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Central location - only took about 10 minutes from the airport. A reasonable priced motel and staff are very friendly. As it was our first trip to Hobart, Yen was very helpful with information. Place was getting a facelift when we were there so will definitely stay there again. A good start to our Hobart experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#37 of 48 in Hobart
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#34 of 48 in Hobart
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#35 of 48 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 48 in Hobart
700 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 48 in Hobart
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel

Property: Tower Motel
Address: 300 Park St, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Hobart
Tower Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing