We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of The Duke

The Duke
Ranked #127 of 597 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I had the fillet mignon cooked to perfection! Well worth the price.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstimerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice atmosphere. The waitress was very helpful and efficient. Had pizza was delicious. Big size couldn't eat it all, waitress put in a takeaway box. Pizza was just as nice next day cold. YUM

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bekm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiz”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Duke is a friendly pub with a good selection of food and alcohol. I particularly enjoy the quiz nights on Wednesday.

Helpful?
Thank usc_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great, high quality, tasty food, friendly service. I'll be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service- disappointing food...”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a table of 17 family members dining at The Duke for my birthday.
We were greeted warmly and attended too fantastically all night, inluding being asked regularly if we needed more drinks which was great! Something you don't get much anymore!
We had 5 children in the group and their meals came out first to keep them entertained, which was great!
However the adult meals then took almost another hour to arrive, by which time the children were needing attention again!
There were mixed reactions to the meals, but there were many words flying around like tough, salty, dry soggy and cold... I had the duck breast which was really disappionting- the duck was very hard to slice and was a very small piece, and the mash it was served on was so sweet and had a flavour I just couldn't put my finger on- I found it almost inedible.

It's a shame that such brilliant service could not be backed up by the food.

I don't think we'll go back in a hurry with so many other places doing it better.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allisonr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing