We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of manners - food okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jam Packed

Jam Packed
Ranked #123 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Jam Packed Café and providore is located in the IXL Atrium. Soak up waterfront views and linger over an aromatic espresso coffee or choose from the menu of Tasmanian specialties, prepared from the island's fresh regional produce. Stop by for all day breakfast, light lunch, luscious dessert, or a glass of Tasmanian wine, locally-brewed craft beer or cider.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lack of manners - food okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

After coming here for breakfast a week ago and having fast service and a decent meal I returned again expecting the same. What I received was unfriendly service when I ordered my food, a 50 minute wait for a cold meal and watching people who ordered after me receive their food with no acknowledgment from staff, EVEN when I politely pointed out the lengthy wait time by asking them to break a note to refill the car meter as 1hour would no longer be enough. I understand things go wrong and am always happy to wait for a meal, but with no apologies or acknowledgment I definitely won't be returning.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olivecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    99
    52
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best hot choco in Hobart!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Their hot chocolate is creamy, milky and so chocolatey - close to the hot chocolates I had in Belgium!

Helpful?
Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great value and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A fabulous find that we had morning tea at. Cute providore type shop that served great coffee and sweets. Lots of seating in the atrium at the back. The lunch and breakfast menus looked delicious soi think we will go back to try some more of their menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good breakfast with a lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Pancakes were very well presented (see photo). Coffee was good. Bacon and eggs were spot on.

The atmosphere in the atrium was peaceful when we arrived on a Saturday morning.

This place isn't mind blowing, but its certainly a lot better than the other reviews on here.

Tip: good spot for families.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very relaxing environment, could have sat for hours but the food was awful! Pancakes were rubbery like they'd been cooked for a long time, strawberries were shrivelled and old, service was ordinary, watched a waitress drop cutlery on the floor, then pick it up and continue setting it on the table! Eeek! Won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 981angelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Packed also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Jam Packed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing