We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gibsons Mill House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This fantastic apartment is managed by Sullivans Cove Apartments. Conveniently located with close proximity to the wharf, Salamanca market, great cafes and the MONA ferry. Beautifully appointed with the most comfortable beds and bedding. I'd definitely recommend this complex - perfect for a weekend stay or even longer. Noise from the pub below didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicsales2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thanks for your positive review of our Gibson's Mill Apartments - as you say they are in a fantastic location for accessing Hobart's attractions and restaurants. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Hobart. Warm regards, Alison & Simon Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 792 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stay in 2 nights at IXL 2 Bedroom Executive room. It's big and the location was fantastic! But we cannot log in the wifi though it is free. Also recommend. The kitchen is big enough , we can cook . The appliances are fully.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bellmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Bellmario, thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are glad you found the apartments so spacious and comfortable. We are trialing a new Wi-Fi system so appreciate the feedback so we ensure it is more reliable. We hope you enjoyed your time in Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I cannot thank the staff at Sullivans cove apartments for their efforts to make our stay enjoyable and easy.

With plenty of warning about possible noise at Gibson mills we did not notice any at all.

The apartment looks great and had everything we needed but the location was fantastic!

Parking is a five minute walk but that suited us fine and we just brought the car around on check out, the express check out feature made this easy.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thanks Melbournechick for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Gibson's Mill Apartments. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit Hobart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Dockside Salamanca Apartments (Apartment S2), right above the Ball and Chain restaurant. The place is stunning. It is a warehouse docks conversion and retains the original sandstone walls. It is on L2 and looks out over Salamanca, right on the edge of where Salamanca markets are held every Saturday. The view from the front is right across Salamanca to the ice breaker Aurora Australis - it is a truly stunning location with great bars, restaurants, a fresh food market, wine shops, art galleries showcasing Tasmanian artists, literally right on your doorstep. One of Hobart's best bakeries Jackman and McCross is only 3 minutes walk away from the rear of the property in Battery Point. The flat itself is extremely well fitted out, with excellent heating, a gorgeous Smeg kitchen, lovely bathrooms, throw rugs to cosy up under on the couches. The main bathroom is a little bit chilly but nothing that really detracts from the stay. The lounge room and dining can comfortably seat 6, great for quiet wine and cheese nights in with a couple of friends (strictly no party policy and absolutely no smoking). The feature in the lounge room is the original warehouse doors - they are flush with the outside of the building, and the fantastic design has a glass atrium built in to the lounge room to allow for a sort of inset balcony effect. It is perfect - you can have the doors wide open, flooding the place with light and an uninterrupted view, but still be protected from the cold by the glass atrium. There is room enough for 2 chairs to sit in the sun in nice weather. It really is stunning. If you are thinking of staying here do take note of the warnings about the stairs - it really is stair access only. From Salamanca it is 2 flights of stairs (the Ball and Chain have Ground and First, flat is on the second floor) and from the back of the property it is also 2 flights of stairs. No problem if you are able-bodied and just a little bit of discomfort getting luggage up and down the stairs. I can't recommend this place highly enough and am already dreaming of a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mitty_Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Mitty_Hobart, thanks for your review of our Salamanca Dockside Apartments - sounds like you really experienced essence of these apartments - with the heritage of the original sandstone warehouse and the location within the Salamanca district plus the comforts that allow you to sit back and enjoy! Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in 1 bed roomed Gibson's Mill. Very clean, with everything that you would need to self cater. Comfortable bed with crisp white bed linen. L'Occitane toiletries, very nice touch.
Very central for seeing Central Hobart, although car parking was quite a walk away from the apartments.
Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Tracey, thanks for your review of your stay at our Gibson's Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Alison & Simon Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Hobart. Our 2 bedroom apartment in Gibsons Mill was in a central location, spotless, comfortable and the friendly, efficient service we received from Jen was beyond compare. Thanks Sullivans Cove Apartments, we loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your positive review and the feedback regarding the service you received from our staff and Jen in particular. We all genuinely love Hobart and Tasmania, and sharing what we can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Warm regards, Alison & Simon Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Walking distance to Mona ferry, Salamanca Square & Markets. Apartment was well appointed, spacious and quiet. Sullivan Cove Apartments managers were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review - we are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the apartment to the service our team provided. Warm regards, Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street

Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $154 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing