We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We found Sullivans Cove lovely. In an excellent position right near the harbour with easy parking all around (just work out when you can park and for how long), our apartment was a big one-bedroom with en suite and a good kitchen - important for us because we like to have breakfast and lunch in and dinner out. Impeccably clean and secure, the apartment was all we could have wished but for one thing - you can't open the windows and catch that fresh tang of a Hobart breeze. We'd gladly go again, and thanked the Sydney friends who recommended it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 816 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our two-bedroom apartment was large, clean and reasonably comfortable. Value for money was questionable and small things like extra fees for parking and an expensive mini bar irritate. The best thing was the generous size of the place (although pointless), the worst things were the awkward check-in process and very early check-out times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John67-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned, our apartments are spacious and fully equipped like a residential apartment. We also have several one bedroom apartments available, which are also spacious and may have suited your needs better?

As a collection of self catering apartments located around Hobart's waterfront, we do have just the one central Reception from which we provide the necessary directions and keys for your chosen apartment.

Check-out time is relatively standard at 10.00am, and we are more than happy to provide a later checkout if we can accommodate the request.

We strive to provide a minibar featuring Tasmanian wine and produce at standard retail prices.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Hobart. Warm regards, Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed over the long weekend at Gibson's Mill and it was wonderful. Started with a great impression, when arriving at the accommodation the air conditioning was already on and the apartment cool. Perfect start.
Looked around and the feeling was very much that we'd made an excellent choice, funky, raw cut, and just meters from everything we wanted to see...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank triguy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

It sounds like you really connected with the essence of our Gibson's Mill Apartments and everything we want people to experience of the apartments and Hobart in general!

We look forward to welcoming you back - maybe consider coming down for Dark Mofo in mid June - which is a fantastic, funky winter festival. Warm regards, Alison & Simon Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights from Sun - Wed. The apartments are huge and well set up. Bedrooms are spot on, servicing of the apartments was at a hotel level. Price for the 2 bedroom was ok (approx $350 per night) compared to a hotel. Location just behind the Henry Jones Hotel was ideal for walking the area around the waterfront and easy stroll to Salamanca and the CBD .... but it did have a downside which was extremely noisy in the morning. The area between the apartments and the Henry Jones is a service lane for the hotel and the other buildings in the area so pretty much from just after 6am trucks are coming and going picking up rubbish and dropping off goods. At night no problem and it was bearable in the morning but if you want to sleep late then a set of ear plugs would be the go! Staff were great and free well performing wifi was appreciated. We were happy with our choice .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks very much for your recent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the IXL Apartments. As you said they are nice and spacious and perfectly located to experience Hobart's waterfront.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the traffic that services the surrounding buildings on some mornings and will look into what influence we may be able to have on this!

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Hobart. Warm regards, Alison & Simon Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Sullivans Cove Gibsons Mill 3 bedroom apartment.

The apartment is lovely, and nicely finished although the living area is pretty small for a 3 bedroom apartment. The two main bedrooms are a good size, whilst the upstairs bedroom is really two small bedrooms and again, a good size.

The kitchen is great, well fitted out and with a few small neccesities (such as glad wrap) that are often overlooked in these types of apartments.

The location of the apartment is great, just metres from Salamanca and the MONA Ferry.

The main problem with this place is its openess. Whilst visually effective, it makes the apartment less useable. Each of the two main bedrooms has windows at the top of each wall to the living room and to each other, so if one person wants to go to bed and the other wants to stay up and watch tv, you'd better hope someone brought an eye mask! Likewise the upstairs bedroom is on an open mezzanine. If staying on the weekend, I would imagine, noise would be a problem. We stayed Mon-Wed and has no trouble.

The windows are all "retro fit" double glazed so they can not be opened and the deck is accessable only via two levels of stairs from the living room so not as useful as a deck near the kitchen or living room (although it is a good size, has a small table and has a great view).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiegirl3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for your recent review of your stay at our Gibson's Mill Apartments. We do appreciate your feedback about some of the design features of the apartments and we will certainly review what improvements we may be able to the areas that you have raised. Warm regards, Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The serviced apartments were clean and modern. Large rooms, and lots of living space, with a huge and well equipped kitchen (though a few light bulbs needed changing and the tea and coffee wasn't stocked). Perfect size if travelling with a family, or group of people.

Great location, to see the sights of Hobart, but very noisy. From trucks going to the docks at all hours (understandable, but you are not warned in advance), to loud air-conditioning and heating, these apartments are not a tranquil escape to hobart.

If you can sleep through anything and like modern, then these apartments would be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyNM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

MartyNM82, thanks for your review - we do appreciate the feedback.

Sorry to hear that your stay was not as restful as you would have liked. The location of the apartments amongst the Hobart waterfront is fantastic for being located in the heart of Hobart city and its attractions, however it does also mean that there is noise from general city activities.

Aside from this, we are glad to hear you found the apartments comfortable. Warm regards, Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed for 3 nights in Sullivans Cove IXL apartments. Overall they're very good - excellent location behind the waterfront (so close to food and the MONA ferry), large living,kitchen and bedrooms, and very quiet. We booked IXL deliberately because some of the reviews of other Sullivans Cove group apartments specifically mentioned noise - we were very happy to have no noise problems at night at all. This alone would be a good reason to book!

No problems at all with check-in, car parking provided and there's free wifi - nice. Not much of a view for us in room 201, but a pleasantly huge balcony.

There are very good apartments, and we'd probably stay here again. But there's a couple of things that could be better:

- when booking a 2-bedroom apartment, it seems ludicrous that the quote rate is for only two people (despite there being beds for 4) - and the extra charge of $45 per child per night (i.e. $90 extra per day) seems, quite frankly, greedy noting the existing bedding is being used. I've not come across this charge in Sydney or Melbourne apartments before, though we found it a few times in Tassie. It wasn't a surprise, all up front on the website when I booked and paid, just seems really excessive when you've already booked a room with that many beds!

- the apartments are very modern and lovely, however a design feature is the beautiful bathrooms which, for the ensuite, means a waterfall shower from a recess in the ceiling (great, very arty) and no screen (bad) that results in an unavoidable drenching of the rest of the (smallish) ensuite. We took to using towels on the floor rather than bathmats, and then shifted to the second bathroom (shower over huge bath) which unfortunately has a similar problem despite the (inadequate) screen. Obviously an ongoing problem - water damage to the bottom of the ensuite door is testimony to that - and I expect the cleaners realise it too. Maybe time to refit the bathrooms with screens? It'll ruing the lovely look of the showers, but save a lot of frustration and mopping up.

- the touchscreen panel that controls all the lights and blinds is a cute novelty, kids love it, and was probably all the rage a few years ago when these were built. But I'm not sure it's very easy to operate for everyone, especially when the light controls are under a menu saying "status" not "lights" or similar.

- I simply could not make the 2-in-1 combo washer/dryer ways clothes adequately, or operate the dryer function at all, despite the instructions thoughtfully provided. Unsure if ours was broken (room 201) or just too complex for me... not a big deal, we didn't want maintenance men spoiling our brief holiday, so we did one hand wash = problem solved. There is a big drying rack provided which is a nice touch.

So overall, these are nice apartments to stay in a very good part of town. The quibbles I mentioned above weren't deal breaking, but at this price point (nearly $400/room/night for the base level 2-bedroom apartment when you include the 'extra child x 2' charge) I'd hope they could be looked at.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SullivansCove, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks for your thorough review - we really do appreciate the feedback. As you mentioned, the apartments are nicely appointed and designed with modern features such touchscreen blinds and lights, open plan bathrooms etc - which also have their limitations! We will certainly consider the feedback you have provided regarding the number of people included in the pricing of the apartments too. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Hobart, we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street

Address: U 5 19a Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $204 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments - 5 star self catering apartments tucked around Hobart's historic waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing