We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was the second time we used Sullivan's Cove apartments and were again delighted but the location and quality. First time was the penthouse apartments above Henry Jones Art Hotel (opposite side of Salamanca) and more recently the two bedroom apartment overlooking Salamanca Place itself. The character of each is very different - the penthouse ones much more modern with a broader view and the Salamanca ones more warm and charming and a more restricted view. The Salamanca ones are just brilliant for access to the markets, Wursthaus deli, Salamanca Fresh (where you can buy groceries and gourmet treats), pubs etc - literally down two flights of stairs and youre out "amongst it all". right above the Ball and Chain restaurant. Speaking of stairs - travel lightly and enter through back way if you're loaded up. Each way there are quite a few.

Plan ahead too and follow the instructions provided by management very carefully - for Salamanca you need to pick up the keys at a separate location where the penthouse apartments are located so may need to keep the taxi running. You can walk over if you have limited luggage (not recommended for the elderly).

The kitchens are very well equipped so you can dine in with provisions sourced from the local shops mentioned earlier. They're quiet and we had the best sleep at Salamanca. I would definitely use either again. Just make sure you include a Saturday so as to visit the Salamanca markets!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oneiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dockside Salamanca.

It is great when our guests stay in some of our different apartments and can get to appreciate the unique benefits and feel of the different styles. The Salamanca ones are so well positioned to the heart of Salamanca as you said, perfect for the market on a Saturday. The toughest decision is deciding which cafe to visit for breakfast!

Thanks for pointing out the check-in situation too. As a collection of self-catering apartments around Hobart, we do try to ensure guests are aware that the check-in location may not be the same place as your apartment.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. If you liked the Dockside Salamanca apartments you would probably enjoy the Harbourside Apartments next!

Warm regards Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 821 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Gibsons Mill 3 bedroom penthouse. Excellent apartment, fresh, new and clean as it has only been opened for less than a year. We were given a great rate directly, and bonus $25 credit towards the bar. Thankyou for great service. 2 storey apartment, overlooking Constitution Dock and Salamanca. The view was superb, expecially from the roof top deck. Easy walking distance to all amenities and few minutes walk out to dock and Salamanca. Everything you need in kitchen with hidden laundry - although the drier wasn't drying my clothes (maybe it was my doing). Comfortable lounge with leather seating, although probably lounge area could have been larger for a 3 bedroom. On that note, there's actually a 4th room upstairs seperated by 3/4 wall, with a single bed, which was a bonus for seperating our 2 kids upstairs. They had access to a large and luxurious bathroom with walk in shower. Great toiletries. Downstairs was dining area, which was perfect and large size table. 2 bedrooms, 1 with king and the other either could be king or 2 singles, all have access to the downstairs bathroom, with is slightly smaller than upstairs, but ample size bathroom with walk in shower. Huge storage cupboards in all rooms. We were able to get a parking spot most nights outside however we would also leave the car parked in Hunter Street, which is where the complimentary parking was. It was a bit of a walk however worth going there because of the great cafes and atrium at the IXL building. There was a little bit of noise from the pub next door on Friday /Sat but we stayed in winter so not as many people out, but noise wasn't too bad. Loved this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks so much for your review and summing up the lovely features of our new Gibsons Mill Apartments so succinctly!
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Warm regards Alison & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you Simon & Ali for the experience, the apartment was amazing and the location was perfect for getting around the best of what Horbat offers. I recently paid around 3 times the cost to stay at Henry Jones but rate these apartments much higher! Thanks again, Michelle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks Michelle.
Glad you enjoyed the new Gibsons Mill Apartments. Look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Hobart - maybe give our Dockside Salamanca Apartments a try next!
Warm regards Alison and Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Gibson Mill, 2 bedroom apartment. Beautifully furnished with a high finish. Beds are great but the top loft room is a little short on space. The top bathroom is really only suitable for one person standing in/using it at a time however is very nice. Location is close to Salamanca and the city centre.
BEWARE that there is a pub directly downstairs with live music which can go until 3:30am and which can be heard quite clearly (VERY NOISY) in the apartment. Also the parking and reception is about a 10 minute walk away which was quite difficult for one of our group who has some difficulty walking distances.
We enjoyed the apartment but would have liked if it was a little less noisy at night and closer to parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate the comments and glad you enjoyed the majority of the features of the Gibsons Mill Apartment.

Parking for the majority of our collection of apartments is available onsite however we are still in negotiations to finalise the parking for our new Gibson's Mill Apartments. In the meantime we are able to offer parking at our nearby IXL apartments.
Hopefully by the next time you stay you will be able to park onsite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the Gibsons Mill 2 bedroom loft apartment. Although 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms, the second bedroom upstairs is only big enough to fit the bed, there is no wardrobe just a few hooks hanging on the wall and no coat hangers. The ensuite bathroom is only big enough for one person at a time to stand in, with the wash basin literally being the size of a soup bowl. The main bedroom is ok in size, comfortable bed, good bathroom with laundry facilities. However, the bed only has a doona for bed covering which I found very hot so I was not able to sleep having to constantly throw the doona off, then freezing, then pulling the doona up, throwing it off, etc etc. My husband rang reception next morning to ask for a blanket, only to be told there weren't any! Eventually a blanket was found (probably from another hotel). Regarding servicing of the apartment, only one clean towel was left, the other three were left in the bathrooms as well as dirty hand towels and face washers. I informed the receptionist of this, she came over with the blanket, and 2 clean towels. So after giving her all the dirty towels we were left with only one towel for 2 people to share. Receptionist advised the cleaners would drop some more towels in to us the next day, (being a Sunday, when the rooms are not serviced) but this didn't happen. My husband and I had to share the same towel for 2 days until cleaners came to service rooms on Monday. No spare kitchen tidy bags were left, and nowhere to dispose of rubbish so this had to build up until Monday as well. A bit stingy only leaving a quarter of a scourer instead of a full one. And finally - we were disappointed not being given a quieter apartment. We rang the hotel direct to book, rather than booking on the internet, specifically mentioning that we wanted a quiet apartment as having previously read reviews about the noise from the adjoining pub we were a bit concerned, and rightly so as the noise just penetrated the apartment until about 3.30 am. This goes on Wednesday to Saturday. Also, reception and car park is a 5 minute walk from the accommodation. Probably would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in both the 2- and 3-bedroom apartments in the Gibsons Mill building in Morrison Street.

The tariff is reasonable for beautifully designed, high-end finish apartments in a terrific location just a few minutes walk from Salamanca Square and the CBD. The apartments have great amenities, including a full kitchen, daily cleaning and competitively priced maxi bar. Part of a complex of converted, period industrial buildings, the apartments are spacious, airy and very new!

The get light in, a lot of glass and light fabrication has been used in the conversion. It looks beautiful but not be a bonus for family or couples or groups wanting privacy from each other.

Check in requires guests to first go to a different location about 5 minutes walk away. After hours check in is via a password protected safe at the 2nd location to obtain the keys. It's a slightly awkward process but is part of the downside of not having full hotel service.

The only other gripe is the downside of its stellar location - it abuts a popular pub with live music and on weekend evenings the noise is pretty substantial until late.

Reception and cleaning staff were helpful and cooperative.

I would definitely book again, particularly if I was staying on week nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaskill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Gaskill71

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our apartments.
We are very excited and proud of the Gibson’s Mill development. As you noticed the attention to detail is very important to us and we pride ourselves on our five star rating and delivering a friendly service.
The check-in process is something we recognise can be slightly awkward given the different locations of the apartments around Hobart’s waterfront. We are looking into ways to make it as smooth as possible and endeavour to give our guests as much information about the process prior to arrival.
We also recognise that the weekend music from the venue next door may be an issue for some staying at the Gibson’s Mill apartments and we are trying to manage this to the best of our ability. We are sorry if it disturbed you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart on your next stay.

Warm regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really impressed with this apartment in the Gibson's Mill building. Located right down in the wharf area on a quiet street, a very short walk to Salamanca and half a minute to the MONA ferry. Luxuries included L'Occitane toiletries, king size bed, bathrobes and superb silence even on a Saturday night with the nearby pub at full throttle. A strong colour scheme; black leather L-shaped sofa with red cushions. The set up was intelligent - hall and foyer lights that click on automatically when you need them; paper towels, foil & gladwrap etc in the kitchen; iron, washing machine and dryer. I appreciated the original artwork on the walls downstairs and in my room; free WiFi and the friendly staff. Rooms serviced daily except Sunday which is unusual in an apartment.
The only thing this room doesn't have is a view, but the location is so much in the middle of things, I didn't miss it. Water pressure in the shower is not strong - I get the impression this apartment was designed to be quite eco-friendly. Be warned, Reception is off site and up a flight of stairs which is mildly inconvenient but all in all I really enjoyed staying here and will definitely return. For my money, it is my favourite accommodation in Hobart to date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Caroline L

Thank you for taking the time to review our Gibson’s Mill apartments. As you noticed, touches like L'Occitane toiletries, original artwork and automatic lights in public areas are important to us.
We recognise the check-in process for some of our apartments is a little inconvenient and we are currently working to streamline the process.

Warm regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street

Address: U 5 19a Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $213 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments - 5 star self catering apartments tucked around Hobart's historic waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing