We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOCKSIDE SALAMANCA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a wonderful location and a lovely sense of arrival. We managed, with the help of the hire car GPS, to find the little car park behind the apartments at Dockside Salamanca. How impressed was my husband when we walked across a little bridge, down some steps and towards the stone building where our very spacious 2 bedroom apartment was waiting.
Incredibly clean, very comfortable beds, warm, modern furniture, frosted glass walls, original stone walls. The kitchen was incredibly outfitted with everything you could possibly want.
There are parts of the apartment that are dark, and being in the kitchen at night is a little mysterious as you can't really see what you are doing.
This apartment is in a PERFECT location. Just a short walk to the city and most importantly the ferry to MONA. I am almost loathe to highly recommend this apartment as it will only help the popularity of the place and I would really like to go back. Although you pay the top price for accommodation, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback.
We are so glad you had a great stay, the stone walls are a nice feature in these Apartments.
The location is fantastic with so many good restaurants close by and as you noted easy walking distance to the harbour attractions like the MONA ferry and other Cruise operators.
Perhaps the dark/mysterious kitchen is a great motivator to head out and enjoy one of the great restaurants in the area!!!
I can understand you are reluctant to recommend the Apartments to avoid making them too popular, however we have many other great apartments so we look forward to having you stay again.
Warm regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 798 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed recently in the Admirals suite above the Drunken Admiral restaurant. A very nice 2 bedroom apartment with a mix of traditional decor and contemporary kitchen and bedrooms. Was a great spot to relax and sloth around between meals at the great number of terrific restaurants in easy walking distance. Very good wifi. Only drawbacks for me were internal noise from room above and lack of TV channel choice (only the basic free to air channels). Notwithstanding, I would certainly come back here it has character and a top location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razored61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in IXL 2 bedroom executive apartment and it was very spacious and comfortable. We were travelling with our two young adult daughters and there was plenty of space for everyone. It was well appointed and located. We found the check-in very efficient the staff were helpful. The location was great for us - walking to Mona Ferry, Bruny Island Cruises, Salamanca Place etc. Jam Packed Cafe downstairs was a very good convenient breakfast location. Overall we it was felt good value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_J_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights in an IXL penthouse apartment. Was advertised as a 2 bedroom however, it had a small additional room with a single bed which was perfect for our daughter. Apartment was beautifully appointed and lovely and warm on a very cold weekend. Views from the living room on the 5th floor were amazing. It was fantastic to wake up and look across the city to Mount Wellington covered in snow. Location just behind Henry Jones meant we could take advantage of the buffet breakfast there and vouchers were available at Sullivans Cove apartments reception which is in the IXL buiding. Vouchers were cheaper here than at Henry Jones. 5 minute walk to the Mona ferry terminal and a few minutes more has you at the Salamanca markets on Saturday morning. Whilst not the cheapest accommodation in town, you get what you pay for and the apartment was very nicely finished and luxuriously appointed. Would not hesitate to stay here again. In fact I wouldn't stay any where else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocobond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (2 couples) spent 3 nights at gibsons mill and had a great time.

Positives

Great location - central to everything.

Roomy - large lounge area and good sized bedrooms.

Mini bar prices - unlike many hotels who see this as an opportunity to stitch up guests, a bottle of Pinot noir was only $28. Good value when looking for a drink whilst getting ready for dinner.

Value - sharing the $260 per night between 2 couples made it very reasonable.

Negatives

Only very minor. it would have been nice to have 2 bathrooms. Front room was a bit noisy at night because of bar downstairs but this is just a small price to pay to stay in the hub of the entertainment centre.

We will definitely stay again when next in Hobart.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This review is for the Gibson Mill Penthouse Apartment, we spent 2 nights there.

Pros:
1. Location, location, location. Right on Sullivan’s Close therefore close to the Salamanca Precinct (great markets, bars, food).
2. Amazing building and fit out. New, well designed apartments but with a touch of history in the old Mill wood beams etc. Absolutely stunning.
3. Luxe extras like L’Occitane toiletries, heated towel racks.
4. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud.

Cons:
1. There is a large skylight in one of the main bedrooms which spans over the two bedheads. It looks as if thre may be a cover to close it no one from Sullivans Cove Apartments knew how and we found no remote or instructions anywhere in the house. This meant as soon as the sun came up, you woke up. Not what you want when you are on holidays and can’t enjoy a sleep in.
2. No car space for the Penthouse? We decided to rent a car on the second day there but were advised there was no car spaces. There should be one car space for the Penthouse.
3. This is not the apartment for you if you are in a group and require complete privacy. The bedroom upstairs is open plan and the two bedrooms downstairs have some window panes that are not covered by blinds.
3. The decked rooftop area offers phenomenal views of the wharf and surrounding areas. It is such a shame to have none of it covered as it renders it useless for half the year in Hobart. For a 6 Star experience, a big outdoor spa with covering would be ideal up here. Sitting up there on a cold night looking out over the bay in a hot tub is a 6 Star experience.

Did I enjoy my stay there overall?
Yes but I wasn’t in the ‘skylight room’.

Would I stay there again for $600 p/night?
Not until the cons were addressed. I couldn't justify it being a 6 Star experience worth $600 with these issues. If they were addressed and the price remained the same, then yes absolutely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTownMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonStubbs, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us, we do appreciate the feedback.

As you noted in your pros, the Gibsons Mill Apartments are in a fantastic location and the touch of history that has been retained in the design really adds a special feel and uniqueness to the rooms.

We appreciate you highlighting the cons to your visit and we will certainly look into the issues you raised – particularly the skylight. The car parking is a ‘work in progress’ with the local council and heritage organisation – so while there is free parking available for anyone staying with us, we acknowledge that this parking is currently offsite and not as convenient.

Thanks again for your comments. Warm regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we recently spent 3 nights in Hobart staying at Sullivans Cove apartments (IXL penthouse).

Apartment is in a great location close to all the key attractions and many, many bars & restaurants.
The apartment itself was modern, clean, spacious and cosy warm. A lovely base for our adventures.

Staff were friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more.

We will definitely return and I would happily recommend Sullivan's Cove Apartments to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street

Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $216 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments - 5 star self catering apartments tucked around Hobart's historic waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing