We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation I have stayed in.. Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sullivans Cove Apartments
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodation I have stayed in.. Ever!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just had a fantastic stay with Sullivans cove apartments. It was nothing but perfection.
Firstly the amazing apartment. I had the most amazing view from the most beautiful apartment. Big windows, huge kitchen, glass balcony.. The list goes on. For a apartment full of glass and other surfaces which can be tricky like stainless steal every thing was spotless. Very impressed.
The staff are great. The lady at reception was lovely and so helpful, nothing was a problem and made me feel extremely welcome. Even the housekeeping staff welcomed me when I saw them in the hallway.
Overall a stay to remember and I will be returning for my honeymoon.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay in a penthouse. Worth every single penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time! We have apartments in 5 locations around the waterfront, next time maybe you could try a different spot-all the apartments we have are equally well-appointed and well-located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    222
    50
    26
    20
See reviews for
241
207
3
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is great !! Clean, well appointed, superb location. I cannot over emphasise how friendly, accomodating and helpful the staff are. We enjoyed our stay very much and will most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartly_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed in two bedroom IXL apartment, for three nights. As our first trip to Tasmania, my family and me was really looking forward to stay in the heart of the Hobart in award winning apartments. Apartment was really nice, spacious, with everything what you need for lovely stay. But we experience very poor service. Receptionist on arrival (short black hair) no professional and very cold, we find dirty glasses in the cupboard, almost every towel had a holes, for a three nights stay we didn’t have any service, HSK didn’t service our apartment on Saturday ( we had make up sign on the door), we were promise service on Sunday but never happened, only four towels drop on the bed, at least they could empty our rubbish bins. So, for a three nights in very luxury apartments, and not that cheap, we had no service at all, but we had dirty towels and rubbish.
Very disappointing experience. After this award winning apartment we stayed in less luxury establishments in Hobart and around and we had a great time with great services. Save yourself disappointments and avoid Sullivans Cove apartments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja11080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are disappointed to read that your experience at Sullivans Cove was not up to the standards usually experienced by our guests. We have had a bit of an investigation to find out when you stayed and what might have happened with the servicing of your apartment. Our Housekeeping staff take Do Not Disturb signs very seiously and will not knock on any doors displaying these signs even if they are up all day. It appears that the sign was hung the wrong way around (it says Please Make Up My Room on the other side) and consequently the housekeepers did not make up the apartment on the Saturday of your stay. When you called down to reception asking about the daily service the receptionist came straight up and serviced the apartment and provided clean towels. We do not service apartments on Sundays but as you had not had a service by the housekeepers on the Saturday we made sure they went in on Sunday to do a full service. The clean towels were left on the beds as there were personal items hanging on the towel rails in the bathrooms and the Housekeeping staff will not touch guests' belongings. Had you let us know you were unhappy with the service on the Sunday of your stay we would have done our best to rectify it, we always prefer to fix things for guests when they are staying with us rather than apologise for them after their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

on a recent trip away with 9 people we booked 2 x 3br IXL penthouses. the rooms were superb. beautiful crisp fresh linen, very spacious and the staff could not be more helpful. nothing was a trouble and I couldnt speak more highly of their service. our flight was changed which meant we got to hobart at 8am, after breakfast at the jam packed cafe (good food) we called into reception expecting to just be able to drop our bags till the rooms were available, to our suprise and joy we were given the keys on the spot and were able to utilise our rooms much earlier than expected. since we had been up since 4am, this was a godsend. the apartments are very central with great restaurants and eateries (great fish n chips) just a stones throw away. walking distance to the salamanca market (awesome) and the CBD. just an all around great place. we will be back.

Room Tip: all beds split into singles to great for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The IXL penthouses are great apartments, it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! It's not always that we are able to check guests in early but we certainly try, expecially with very early arrivals after even earlier flights! All of our apartments are located in and around the waterfront so are close to most of the activities Hobart has to offer along with lots of restaurants and bars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked a few nights accommodation on a recommendation of a friend in Hobart and were not disappointed. The apartment was a two bedroom apartment and the layout, size and location was amazing. The room we stayed in is called the Admiral's Suite and was amazing. The photos on their website are exactly as how the room is (unlike other places we have picked in the past). Would recommend this to anyone. The only downside would be the way you have to check in which is in a different building altogether - a little confusing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleexplorers2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The Admiral's Suite is a great apartment, right on Hunter St with views of the fishing docks. We have apartments in 4 other locations around Hobart's waterfront, next time you're here for a visit maybe you could check out one of our other spots. Our office is in a location separate from most of our apartments but there's a great video on our website which shows you how to find us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked a few days in a one bedroom apartment on level three. There are many things about this stay that are very positive. The apartment is very roomy with a wide corridor from back to front, well appointed kitchen with full sized fridge; separate large lounge and dining with two gloriously long, comfy sofas; and a large veranda with BBQ and seating. It's a very relaxing space and the location of the apartments is good- just behind the buildings on the warf.There is secure undercover parking which is a boon.

It is a small inconvenience that we can't access it directly from the warf and that we had to walk up a flight of stairs to pick the key. There's not a fabulous view from our balcony but it's interesting enough and it's not a big priority for us, I note that another guest commented that their apartment was dirty. I certainly couldn't say that was true of ours but there are little lapses in attention to detail. The bathroom and bed are spotless but there were dirty mop marks on the floor, the coffee table was dirty, the framed photo on the lounge wall looks as though a dirty wet mop was smeared across it and when I looked at the plugs into the wall from the bedroom lamps I noted they were thick with dust. Probably just needs a supervisor to check the whole place over every now and then but the main areas are clearly regularly cleaned. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a better view ask for fourth floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.
It sounds like you stayed in one of our IXL 1 bedroom apartments, the one we have on the 3rd floor of the IXL building which is on one level, unlike the other 2 which are loft style apartments.
In order to have water views from the IXL building you do need to book a sub-penthouse (4th floor) or a penthouse (5th floor) but the Executives on the lower floors are spacious and well-equipped.
We do pride ourselves on a very high level of cleanliness and have addressed the details of cleanliness that you raised about your apartment with both the housekeeping supervisor and the housekeeping staff. The framed artwork in that apartment is an oil painting so the streaks you saw were not from a dirty mop they are actually the texture of the oil paint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fantastic location with great views!

Service was poor, at best. Some appliances didn't even work and the cleaners never did a proper clean.

The rooms are damp and staff have a very poor attitude which is a shame because this place really has some great potential.

Overall, we were glad to leave and I wouldn't recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jfin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaThorsen, General Manager at Sullivans Cove Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
As we pride ourselves on our high standards of service and cleanliness we are very disappointed to read your review of your recent stay with us, particularly as your experience was so different to that of all of our recent guests posting on Trip Advisor. It is always our preference to fix problems when they happen rather than have to apologise for them later. Since we are not supplied with names of guests we have to guess who has posted when we need to get to the bottom of issues guests may have had while staying with us. Over the Christmas/New Year period we found a number of apartments had more people staying in them than had been booked due to the yacht race. This lead to overcrowding in some of the apartments making daily services challenging in some cases but our housekeeping staff did the best they could to provide excellent services in all apartments everyday. On New Years Day a number of apartments had Do Not Disturb signs up all day and as we take this very seriously the housekeeping staff will not even knock on a door displaying this sign. The IXL Penthouses are fitted with combined washer/dryers which can be complex to use. We would have been delighted to show you how to use it if you had asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Cove Apartments

Property: Sullivans Cove Apartments
Address: 5 / 19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sullivans Cove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Cove Apartments is a hand picked selection of boutique apartments located around Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sullivans Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hotel Hobart
Sullivans Cove Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing