We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Another tripadvisor success! I can only reinforce the existing reviews which led me to choose this terrific hostel. It is everything promised: nice communal hostel atmosphere but quiet and relaxed, clean, friendly staff. The hostel has converted an old hotel (late 19th century according to an architect friend), so the rooms have a lovely feeling: high ceilings, heavy wooden window frames, very spacious which I really enjoyed. I stayed in the private single and double (without ensuite): the best value, I couldn't believe the price! There is a reading lamp, heater, suitcase holder and desk in each. It was a little cold overnight, and the doonas provided are thin, but there are spare blankets if you ask. Beds are on the firm side.
The hostel is up the quiet end of Barrack, so was much nicer in its aspect and location and less noisy than the Leisure Inn up the road on Macquarie (where my family were staying). My only worry with noise was the habits of fellow guests, the hostel itself is very quiet: ie the doors do not slam shut, the walls are sturdy, there is no lift, aircon, stairwell noise.
Well-fitted communal kitchen, laundry and nice big recreation area.
It is certainly the best value hostel that I have stayed in in Australia, and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different private rooms (no ensuite). The single faced the main road (Barrack) and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Student79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello,
What can I say about your honest and constructive comments towards to family type business ! you are certainly welcome anytime, it's a honour to get guests such as yourself.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    150
    47
    15
    14
See reviews for
20
68
180
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A group of 5 of us stayed here for a week and it was great!!! There is really nothing bad about this hostel... the rooms were spacious with heaters, free wifi, helpful staff, comfy beds and living area, clean kitchen and bathrooms with lots of hot water. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello Kat,
Was very nice having you around on our family hostel, thank you for your comments as a appreciation for the service we provide to all our dear guests.
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and both times the staff have been incredibly friendly, the rooms have been clean and the place has had a social but chilled out and quiet vibe. I always book an ensuite double room and it's as good (if not better) than a budget hotel. Access to a kitchen, personable staff, and a health food shop right next door. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hello Jess,
We thank you for your appreciation while staying with us, your comments reflect the job we do with care and joy.
Kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a group of 50 people staying in the hostel last week, and Tony could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble, and every request was met with a smile. We totally enjoyed our time there, and highly recommend the Hobart Hostel to groups, as well as individuals.

Room Tip: The Queen room with the ensuite is the best in the house! We stayed in dorm 4 and it is spacious, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hello barb,
Above all we do thank you, your group were a pleasure to serve, any hotelier would be happy with you guys. Your comments do demonstrate your appreciation for the service we provide to all our dear guests.
Warmest regards to you all.
tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spacious dorm rooms, clean toilets+shower rooms+kitchen, friendly staff.
Little bit away from the city centre but still a convenient place to stay.
Free wifi is a bonus.
If you want to be away from parties and noise, this is a great place.
Worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spider9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello,
We tahnk you for your recent stay with us, also our appreciation for your nice comments related to our little family business
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hostel is in a great loction. there is street parking all round the roads, most of it free during evenings and weekends. Big kitchen and good facilities. One heater in dorm and lots of extra blankets for winter. Would reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello.
Thank you very much to choose our hostel while in Hobart, a sincere thanks for your constructive and flankly comments about our little hostel
Kind regs
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I booked 3nights and I extended my time there for 3 more nights. This Portuguese couple handling the hostel is simple cool and lovely!
If I'll be inHobart in the future and I hope within 3 years surely I'll go there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romolo4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hello,
thank you very much for your stay with us recently. We deeply apreciate when guest do express their experience with us.
hope to have you around sometime in the near future
Kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Property: Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Address: 41 Barrack St | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" COZY FAMILY RUN HOSTEL - IN THE CITY CENTER "FREE INTERNET & WI-FI 24/7 PLUS TICKETS PRINTING.quality Backpacker - Friendly Environment - Budget Travelar - Groups Paradise. We make sure everyone feels welcome and pride ourselves in having a clean and well presented Hostel offering all guests a relaxing and secure experience. Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, caters to a maximum of 62 guests with our higher standard of accommodation - All rooms have ample space and natural light - We provide an open lounge where gathering and socializing is part of your memorable stay.We provide accommodation from mix dormitories up to full private Queen bed en-suite - In addition, we have laundry facilities available at a modest cost, and provide free coffee & tea all day.hobart's Accommodation & Hostel; is highly rated and recommended on travel feedback sites. " SURPRISE AND TREAT YOURSELF "A Stone's throw from the Mall, Salamanca market, cinemas, shops, restaurants, bus terminus, main Hospital, 20 minutes from airport. PLUS, everything else our beautiful Capital city has to offer.Full information & display what to do while in our wonderful, wild & Natural treasure Island. Your showers will ALWAYS be HOT - we have GASthere is a bus service from hobart airport direct to our front door. PROPERTY FEATURES:1 - boardand internet Access / Wi-Fi2 - Non-Smoking Rooms3 - Street parking; Free at night time & weekends (99.99% safe)4 - Personalize service by the owners/operaters. "We run the show " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart`s Accommodation And Hostel
Hobart`s Hotel Hobart
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing