We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the cheapest accommondations in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Transit Backpackers
Ranked #46 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is at the west end of the shopping venue and 15 minutes walk to the waterfront. There are few tyypes of rooms (from 12 bed dorm to twins ensuit room). The common area is spacious: a lounge, games area, dining area and a well equipped kitchen. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The floor of the main area are mopped twice a day. The 12-bed dorm is small that you cannot place your luggage properly. The ventilation of the room is bad and even smelly. The heating unit operates in the common area only in the morning and at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Transit Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

The anti-social guests who stare at computer screens, only communicate with each-other and leave lots of raw meat lying around in the kitchen while they cook noodles in front of the sink. A cheap hostel, you can see why. The staff are really friendly and helpful though, even if the rooms do smell hideously and feel like part of a horror movie. They don't generally lock the rooms either , yet people did seem fine with this. Not very near to the centre, yet that doesn't matter as the centre is only small and easily walkable. A really unpleasant atmosphere until you make yourself comfortable in the living space. You just really do stand out being the only person who's not eating noodles, that's all, which could for some make it quite lonely as opposed to social.

Room Tip: The hostel is cheap so maybe splash out on a slightly smaller dorm- the big ones aren't pleasant...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent 2 weeks here. Pricing is good and all but one female staff member (who never smiled and was generally apathetic and unhelpful) were very good.
Beds creaked very badly and are a constant source of noise and irritation to all.
Noise from lounge/dining are is just intrusive & non-stop well into wee small hours like 3 or 4am so if you need sleep go ANYWHERE but Transit....
The opposition backpackers don't have this problem so it need not exist at all - a simple house rule/enforcement will stop it. Easy if you try !
Downstairs showers unventilated and dangerously slippery floors with one accident occurring while I was there requiring hospitalisation.
Front door slams loudly throughout the night.
All easily fixable issues from any switched-on operator and at minimal cost.
Still, customer service and common sense are so rare these days aren't they.
Gave up after 2 weeks and went to an opposition backpacker. Ahhhh...sleep...

Room Tip: Upper floor only if you want sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a number of nights in a 4-bed dorm which has no window and a distinct lack of ventilation other than a pedestal fan in the tiny space available to move around in.

Toilets were also blocked one night which was eventually fixed. Staff were helpful - not enough to want to come back anytime soon

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoughBoy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I travelled solo and stayed in my own double room. This place is a basic backpackers with a large common room, kitchen and internet area. The bed was very comfortable so that was a plus. The floor next to the bed was very squeaky and I felt like it was loud enough to wake the neighbours. The showers aren't that great. They are in a cubicle with a shower curtain and a door, but the curtain doesn't stop water from running across the floor. So you dry off standing in water. Also there is no shelf and only one hook inside the shower cubicle, so don't take lots of stuff in with you. An extra hook would go a long way! The hot water was temperamental depending on who else was using water in the building. If you're ok with hot/cold/hot/cold, then it's fine. There seemed to be some 'locals' that like to hang out there, which is fine. But I found the atmosphere in the common room was a bit subdued. Every night, the same people were slumped over the couches watching TV. Not a lot of interaction, but that's the people and not the venue. There's another outdoor common area next to the carpark, but I didn't go out there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Transit in the 8 bed mixed dorm with my partner. The bunk beds were very squeeky and whenever someone in the room moved during the night it woke everyone up. There was also quite a lot of plumbing noise from the downstairs bathroom.

The rooms were very humid and had poor ventilation. The bathrooms were constantly wet and muddy although they were cleaned daily.

It's not all bad though, the people were all very friendly, it was definitely a younger crowd 18-20.

If you are looking for cheap accom then this is fine, but I would at least go for a private room next time.

Room Tip: Go the double
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This relatively big hostel in the centre of Hobart didn't live up to its expectations. My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom in January 2012. If you are a single traveller, this might be a nice place to meet some people, but the crowd was quite young and not that concerned about hygiene too. Both the kitchen and the bathrooms were filthy, although I must say the cleaning lady tried, but had a hard time keeping up. I definately wouldn't recommend this hostel to couples.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#35 of 48 in Hobart
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#23 of 48 in Hobart
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 48 in Hobart
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Backpackers

Address: 251 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $15 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are dormitory rooms, with up to 20 beds, and double and twin rooms for travellers to stay in.There are two airport shuttles to pick you up and drop you off at the door, and the accommodation is in close proximity to the Salamanca area. Transit backpackers is conveniently located in the heart of Hobart.Established by two born and bred Tasmanians, Mark and Theresa, Transit Backpackers enjoys a unique homely backpacker atmosphere with a reputation built on friendly personal service.We have a well equipped kitchen and laundry for all your holiday needs and you can also join one of our weekly barbeques - check at the front desk for times.Relax and Chill out, before or after your Tassie Adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Transit Backpackers Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing