We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Skies - CLOSED

Blue Skies
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Cafe
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful meals! Great flavour & good value for money! Very much enjoyed dining here, will be sure to come back again!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cilla17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tripadvisor reviews are a bit of a mixed bag for this restaurant; but on a Saturday night with thousands of AFL fans in town after the big match, we took what we could get ! All in all it was a very pleasant experience. The restaurant is right on the waterfront and has a nice outlook. My wife ordered an eye fillet steak and it came out exactly medium-rare as requested ; I scored bigtime with the Salmon fillet which also perfectly cooked. For dessert we shared the Belgian white chocolate and Baileys zabaglione with berries - I would eat it every night if I could ! Prices were not that cheap, but I noticed that applied to most Hobart waterfront restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bondi_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice face, shame about...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location. Hard to think of something nice to say. Formulaic? Average food with more than average prices. Good for a work lunch if someone else is paying.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not To Be Missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had dinner at Blue Skies with family and friends during our recent Tasmanian adventure. Cannot say too much about this wonderful restaurant! From appetizers (Aussies call them Entrees) and drinks on the deck overlooking the harbor, to the fantastic meal we had inside (in air-conditioned comfort), everything was excellently prepared and served promptly & efficiently by their very well trained staff. My daughter and I shared the fresh seafood platter of local fish & salmon, oysters, prawns, fantastic squid and yes, even octopus! Never had octopus before as they are not the world's most attractive creatures. But what nature didn't give them in looks, Blue Skies more than made up for in flavor! The restaurant also offered up an excellent (truly excellent) selection of local Tasmanian wines and those of us who had distilled beverages were impressed with the pour. The restaurant is right on the wharf, just a stone's throw from Salamenca market and has ample parking available. Cannot recommend this one too highly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank latestarter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good service was the key”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had our last dinner in Hobart and the Blue Skies, had tried some of the more fancied restaurants but all booked out. We weren't dissapointed, on arrival we were seated in a booth towards the middle of the restaurant, had just settled in with our drinks when the waitress came along said a window table had been vacated and would we like it, which we did. No problem moving us to a table with a view really appreciated. Food was good, prices seemed okay but the service really stood out, received a high standard of service through out.

Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Skies also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing