We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Do Not Go!”
Review of Cosy Cabins

Cosy Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tasmania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosy Cabins
Ranked #415 of 478 Specialty Lodging in Tasmania
Reviewed December 15, 2008

I went to Tasmania and stayed at Cosy Cabins, first we stayed at Devonport, they were ok. Then we went to Cradle Mountain where they tried to charge us on arrival for our pre paid booking, till they worked it out. From there we went to Strahan where I had to ask for some Dishwashing liquid as our cabin had an almost empty bottle .This is where I believe I may have rubbed a cleaner up the wrong way, As we were told a bottle would be sent to our cabin , we never recieved the liquid and made do with the small amount in the bottle; thinking they have just forgot. From there we set of to Hobart and stayed at Mornington. In the morning just after 8am a female staff member was banging at the door , screaming that she had been told by a cleaner that we had not cleaned the last cabin properly. She then told me that she had contacted our travel agent to see if we had any complaints against us , she was told by flight centure we had not had any complaints against us.
She then said that we would have to come up with cash that she could hold as a bond or we could have a staff member come through daily to check on us. I asked her what time she would like to come through; as I did not want to be in the shower at that time. At that point she got agressive and started screeching " I don`t know" and walked away. My husband and I decided to leave ASAP, we were told at the office on departure that we would have our refund sent to our travel agent . As we had pre paid many days of accomadation so far we have recieved $106 refund only . So if I can stop one other person from choosing this company to stay with, that will be a good thing. I have stayed at a lot of places on holidays and never had such a bad experience. Please note they have no star rating , we have now got legal advice.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank teacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Cosy Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2008

Just got back from Tasmania where I stayed in Cosy Cabin accommodation in 4 locations (Stanley, Strahan, Cradle Mountain and Mornington). My reviews of each;
Stanley: FABULOUS! Loved the town and loved the Cosy Cabins - its a bif caravan park style set up but its grassy and nice and right on the beach. Plenty of well kept facilities and very friendly staff. Cabin was very clean and well appointed. Highly reccommend!
Strahan: Cabin and location were very good. Facilities are a little older but still good. Cabin was very clean and well appointed.
Cradle Mountain: Rustic, bush setting, feels very private. Cabin was small but very clean.
Mornington (Hobart): Cabin itself was the best of all 4 - larger, carpeted, wood heater and well appointed. HOWEVER - this is the worst location I have ever seen - its kind of wedged in the 'v' made by two busy roads. Not a blade of grass to be seen in the park - just rocks. Spa/sauna was out of order, laundry was dirty and reception lady was abrupt and unhelpful. We had booked for 3 nights (sight unseen) but left after the first night (forfeting our money) because it was so bad. Pub & resturant referred to as being close by is in fact next door and is very seedy and dodgy. I would avoid this one!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank its_hot_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Stayed in a couple of cosy cabins on our stay in december 2006. All where fantastic value for money. Great for families as we had the 2 bedroom cabins. We stayed in the cosy cabins in stanley, risdon (hobart) and launceston . They were all new and clean. They were all having major upgrading of amenities etc whilst we were there. They all have a good playground area and the boys favourite was risdon as they LOVED the jumping pillow. Risdon is on the outskirts of hobart but it is all of a 10 min drive into the city centre. These cabins were a lot better then average and some of the cabins had extras like spas etc. You will need a car though as these are not close to the cities or transport. All reception staff where helpful wtih tours etc and local information.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank wombies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I am normally a 5 star kind of girl however this time we thought we would "rough it" in a SPA CABIN. It was so much better then I was expecting. For $157 a night we got a "cosy cabin" with AUSTAR TV, Kitchen, Bathroom with spa and two rooms (one with double bed and bunk and one with Queen bed). The wild life where everywhere. We went walking at night with a touch around the cabins and saw heaps of different animals - we even had a possum try to share our cabin with us!!
Highly recommended for a nice stay at Cradle Mountain that will not break the budget.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

First of all, Cradle Mountain is spectacular - a must see if you visit Tasmania! Cosy Cabins is a good budget option compared to some of the other more expensive offerings in the area. We stayed in a spa cottage. It was lovely. It was more like a wooden caravan than a cottage but it was nice all the same. It had a fire which was lovely as the weather there can be unpredictable (be sure to pack warm clothes and an anorak). The spa was great, especially after our long walks. However, the water was a kind of muddy brown! We bathed in it though and we were fine. Just add some bubbles! It's because they take it directly from rivers nearby and only filter the kitchen taps. The bathroom isn't the Hilton or anything though so don't expect too much. It was fine for us. Cradle Mountain is beautiful, try the Dove Lake walk. We had a wombat come right up to us while we were eating lunch! We also had wallabies coming right up to our cabin door! You can camp at the Cosy Cabin site but if you do, beware, it gets freezing cold at night! We were glad to come back to our warm fire and spa bath!!

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank A_Traveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We stayed at the Cosy Cabins for one night. The cabin was very spacious and pretty clean. You must arrive before 6pm because the office closes. The standard cabin had a room with a queen bed and a curtain that could be drawn to seperate it from the dining/kitchen area. There was a second room with four bunk beds and the bathroom. The shower and toilet rooms were seperate. There was only one faucet with treated water, but that didn't cause too many problems. We headed to one of the other lodges for dinner. Overall a decent, yet basic experience.

7  Thank jatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tasmania hotels
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
2.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellerive House
Bellerive House
#1 of 2 in Bellerive
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashwood Apartments Bellerive
0.7 mi away
Quayside Cottages
Quayside Cottages
#1 of 3 in Bellerive
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Cabins

Address: 13 Bayfield Street, Suite 2 | Rosny Park, Tasmania 7018, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 478 Specialty Lodging in Tasmania
Also Known As:
Cosy Cabins Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing