We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A challenging walk”

Wilderness Expeditions Tasmania Pty Ltd
Ranked #821 of 681 things to do in Tasmania
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A challenging walk”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were expecting a challenge, but this was tough! Despite many sections of the track being reasonbly well maintained boardwalks, the rest of the track was either very old boardwalks in a state of some disrepair or a tangle of tree roots, muddy, boggy, rocky, steep (and requiring HUGE steps up over boulders) - in other words, every step required consideration effort and concentration. We consider ourselves to be reasonably fit and have done a couple of other similar long walks previously, but this was exhausting partly because of of constant change of terrain and quality of the track, and also because we were there during a week of record high temperatures in Tasmania - just our luck, we were prepared for blizzards, snow and ice, NOT sweltering heat! However, don't want to sound as if we didn't enjoyed it because we did and there is some sensational natural wilderness out there and we had plenty of sightings of wallabies, pademelons,echidnas, snakes (!!) lizards and birdlife. There are many optional detours off the main track, most notably the climb to Mt Doris and Mr Ossa (highest point in Tas where you can see 1/3 of the state on a clear day - highly recommended but NOT an easy climb and not for the feint hearted.

There are some pristine rock pools and streams along the way for a refreshing (icy) dip and a plunge into Lake St Clair at the end is an absolute must.

We travelled in a group with Cradle Huts (private huts) so had a hot meal, showers, and a glass of wine at the end of each hard day's trekking. The public huts look fine, and there are camping platforms as well, although if you decide to do it that way then be prepared to carry a lot bigger back pack than we did.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Raeh255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overland in Summer”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The walk was hard, mostly as it was so hot and that made it harder to cope with the rough sections. BUT, it was like walking through miles of Japanese gardens in some places, Ent forests in others, huge mountain views everywhere and we had great guides from Cradle Mt Huts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exhilarating, spectacular, exhausting 6-day hike from Cradle Valley to Lake St Clair.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the hardest walk I have been on so far. The steep climbs and descents are hard on the knees, but the views from the 'roof of Tasmania' are well worth the effort. The temperature ranged from 3 degrees on Pelion Pass to over 30 degrees at Lake St Claire. Overnight stops were mostly in mountain huts maintained by Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife staff. The most impressive of these was Bert Nichol's Hut at Windy Ridge, but the one we liked the best was at Echo Point on our last night.
Overall, a challenging hike with my two teenage daughters, but a memory and shared experience we will cherish forever.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jiarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rewarding week on the Track - advice from a first timer”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from our 6 day trek on the Overland.
I am a novice when it comes to hiking - this was my first ever trek and indeed my first camping experience since Grade 6 School Camp.

The whole experience was fantastic. I had done some reading and had an inkling of what was in for, but the scenery at times is mind blowing. Its hard not to be reduced to cliche. That section through Pelion Gap with Mt Ossa to one side and Mt Pelion East to another was awe inspiring. Made the back, knee and neck pain, the cold and wet boots all worth it.

We were blessed with the weather - was cold and snowed at times but hardly any rain and with the ocassional brilliant burst of blue sky.

I'm probably repeating the advice of others - but in order to enjoy the track and not just endure it would recommend the following:

* if out of shape, prepare your body. Take long walks, especially in the boots you intend walking in to help avoid blisters. Practice should also include carrying your pack with a similar weight. This is where i fell down a tad - did practice with the pack but not with the full pack and the additonal weight took a time to get used to. Note that if starting from Cradle Mountain the first half day includes some steep upward walking/climbing. If you include something similiar in your fitness preparation this can only assist. The Overland track isn't hard but its not easy either. I'm mid 40s and not at peak fitness but I felt the 3 months of regular walking really helped.

* As a minimum take 2 sets of thermals, fleece, rain overpants and good quality windproof jacket. You read weather reports from the area that may list a top of 10 degrees but the wind chill factor can reduce it signficantly. If you can find the extra space in your pack consider putting in a pair of thongs or something you can wear around the hut at the end of the day. Note that the toilets are often about 100m from the hut. It would have been great to just put those thongs on to go outside rather than have to put back on your often cold and wet boots. I thought I could get away with a cheap pair of gloves from the $2 shop but they started splitting up first day. Skimping on clothing is something you will regret.

* Food - I bought some of thise $15 dehydrated meals they sell in the camping stores and thought there were pretty underwhelming and not worth the money. A couple we met on the trip who stayed in the huts had dehydrated their own food and it certainly smelt and looked so much better than our packaged options. Our group did do well at lunch - the decision to bring mountain bread and some wrapped packaged salami and Kraft cheese was inspired as this stuff can keep and enabled good lunches with minimal hassle. Also don't underestimate how good a cup of soup is on a cold day.

* Go in with the right attitude - expect some discomfort as you remove yourself from everyday life. Enjoy it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
22 Thank tim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome weeek away from the "Real World"”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Cradle Mountain is a beauty part of the world. I took my sister on the walk for her 40th Birthday.

There is plenty of information on the National Parks website to help you organise your trip. We flew into Launceston, bus to Cradle Mountain, Walk Cradle Mountain to Cynthia Bay then Bus to Hobart and flew home.

We took 6 days, 5 nights. if you want to bag all of the peaks it may be worth adding an extra day or so. it all depend on how much food youcan carry. we had heavy packs as we took all of the suggested equipment and spare food. many of the people on the trail didn't have enough food or enough rewards to cheer them up at night after a day of walking.

we were incredibly lucky - we went expecting rain, mud and possibliy snow. we were lucky and got 6 sunny days in February. Friends had walked the track between Christmas and New Year a few years ago an got thigh deep snow.

The scenery is astunning and ever changing. Make the effort to walk up at least some of the way to the summit of Mt Ossa - any height from the turn off improves your view.

Keep an eye out for the wild life. it is there to be seen. We encountered a few snaakes alng the way but they were keen to get away from us.

As others have said the track os often boardwalk however there is large sections of rocky rooted trails and water courses. wear good supportive shoes and get used to carrying a load before you go.

it took us 13 years to get there but it was worth it. if you like natural beauty, put it on your bucket list. you don't have to be a hard core hiker but preparation is important.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SlowMickOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Expeditions Tasmania Pty Ltd also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Wilderness Expeditions Tasmania Pty Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing