We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful and FREEZING

Went on a lovely, sunny, late September day at about 2pm and it was 2 degrees so pack warm! This is... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2018
crewemmaj
,
Melbourne, Australia
Stunning!

A must do easy walk to see the ancient pencil pines.....we walked through a light... read more

Reviewed July 9, 2018
Kerrie H
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 9 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tasmania
from $108.60
More Info
from $77.07
More Info
from $629.89
More Info
from $34.33
More Info
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
5
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short boardwalk easy walk alpine pencil ancient vines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Went on a lovely, sunny, late September day at about 2pm and it was 2 degrees so pack warm! This is a short boardwalk that only takes about 20 minutes return and very well maintained. Lovely walk through this harsh landscape with lots of information boards and my kids and I really enjoyed it. Beautiful view over a small mountain lake that just glistens when it is sunny (see my photos). The trip up is just amazing with spectacular views. Not worth the trip all on its own but we just loved our day heading up there. Gorgeous!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank crewemmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

A must do easy walk to see the ancient pencil pines.....we walked through a light snowfall...magical! ❄️❄️❄️

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

We did this walk on a freezing cold, blustery May afternoon but were so glad we did. We figured "Hey were here, let's do it anyway". It would be simply gorgeous on a clear sunny day with little or no wind. Whilst we were enjoying a hot cup of tea after jogging back to our car to keep warm, another two cars pulled into the car park. Two people got out and turned back at the start of the walk because it was too cold. The people in the second car didn't even attempt to get out and drove off. Oh well. We thought it was definitely worth doing.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Dianne Leo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Understated place. Good short walk suitable for elderly. We enjoyed soaking in the peaceful environment and getting up close to the pencil pine trees.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Cylindergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

Nestled in the highlands, this short boardwalk takes you to another world.

Featuring ancient alpine pine trees usually only found at much higher altitudes. Along the boardwalk there is a wealth of information about the flora and fauna that you will see. The day we visited, it was lightly snowing and we were alone on the track. It made for a fantastic experience and well worth the time and effort.

If passing in a car, it doesn't look much, but get out and take the short walk, you will not regret it.

This was one of the memorable moments of our Tasmania Trip. So if you are near here, it is worth a detour to experience this place.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews