We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She Knows Tasmania Like the Back of her Hand”
Review of Tasmania I Drive

Tasmania I Drive
Ranked #36 of 142 Food & Drink in Tasmania
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing private and customised tours throughout Tasmania for small groups. Experience Tasmania at an unhurried pace, the pristine beaches, world heritage forests, convict history. Tours are tailored to your needs and can be a day, overnight or extended tour. We provide flexibility while touring so your adventure unfolds at your pace. We travel through some back roads and less-known routes so that you can experience some of Tasmania's hidden treasures and will meet some locals, offering insights into the Tasmanian lifestyle and be constantly in awe of the stunning scenery. There are a number of activities available on tours - food and wine, walks, guided eco cruises, spectacular scenery and wildlife viewing opportunities. We will adapt your itinerary as necessary to meet your needs, interest and fitness levels of everyone in your group. "Lots of laughter" is our motto. Your Tour - Your Experience - Your Choice...
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The 'I' in Tasmania I Drive is Vicki McBride. We arranged for Vicki to create an itinerary for our first trip to Tasmania. Vicki met us at Hobart Airport and drove us for 3 days up to Cradle Mountain and back to Hobart. We stopped at well chosen places along the way giving us a wonderful sampling of Tassie culture. From boutique vineyards to historic towns, we were pleased with her recommendations. She is indefatigable when it comes to driving the long Tasmanian distances, flexible when it comes to special requests within the itinerary and passionate about showing the lesser known attractions within Tasmania. She has a great sense about what her customers want and her deep knowledge of attractions within Tassie gives her the ability to customize your trip on the go. You really can sit back, relax and enjoy the ride!

3  Thank AFPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki M, Manager at Tasmania I Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thanks Adrian & Moira for a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to show you around and hope that one day your will come back again to explore more. All the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

we have been to Port Arthur, a breathtaking scenery. Drove passed Sale, ate at Mister Raymond, the food was good, Oakland, a nice place to visit and food was also yummy. Last stopped at Launcheston, had our lunch at Devil cafe, the food too was special and yummy.

Thank Natasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our trip to Tasmania was too short and only managed to join a day tour but we wanted to maximize out the places we can visit within the day. Vicky fulfilled all our requests and brought us to Mt Wellington, Richmond Village and Port Arthur which are pretty scattered in term of locations. She even brought us to places like Devils Kitchen that are not initially planned on our way back from Port Arthur. She adjusted the schedule to let us have something to eat after knowing that we had not have our breakfast. She is funny and caring. It's definitely the best option you can get in Tasmania. We love it!

1  Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasidrive, Manager at Tasmania I Drive, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thanks Shirley for your lovely review and I really enjoyed my time spent showing you a little of what Tasmania has to offer. I hope you can come back another day and spend some more time - I would enjoy putting a tour together for you. All the best in your future travels and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was a very short notice connection we made with personable Vicki and her trusty van Doris. So short it was at Dockside she ascertained what we would like to see over next two days and you know what? She was spot on!
We visited not only major tourist spots (Port Arthur, Richmond, Mount Wellington) but also those little jewels (Tessallated Pavement, Do-do town, Tasman Arch, Nutpatch Chocolate shop in Kettering) so often bypassed in bus or large group tours. We were exposed to so much over the two days (places like Forcett, Dunalley, Eagle Hawk nest, Battery point, Cascade Brewery, Cascade Female Factory, Salamanca Markets, Huon Valley where time didn’t allow stopovers, yet where, we longed to dwell longer. There were so many sights and sounds to which we were exposed – and to those not exposed you know you want to go back.
We were never bored what with on going commentaries and discussions (if only world leaders would listen!). Time just flew by leaving us exhausted at the wonder of it all at each day’s end.
All in all a wonderful experience that we recommend her to all who visit Tassie.

1  Thank mar2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasidrive, Manager at Tasmania I Drive, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thanks Dave & Mary for a lovely review. It was great to meet you both and pleased you enjoyed your 2 day taste of Tassie. All the best for travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 6 day tour of Tasmania was unforgettable because of Vicki's meticulous planning, friendly and outgoing nature, and her personalised and flexible itinerary. The food and lodging are amazing, and the views that we enjoyed were nothing short of spectacular. We had a lovely time experiencing this wonderful place. Thank you Vicki for showing us the best of Tasmania.

Thank shihui1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasidrive, Manager at Tasmania I Drive, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Lovely to hear from you Shihui and thanks for your great review. I really appreciate it and hope you come back again soon with some friends and more adventures. Have a prosperous year ahead.
Thanks
Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmania I Drive also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Tasmania I Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing