We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained property and good value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tasmania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gowrie Park Wilderness Village
Ranked #144 of 485 Specialty Lodging in Tasmania
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Group of 4 spent a night in one of the self contained cabins there. It was nice peaceful with well equipped kitchen. We had a double bed and 4 bunker beds with linens provided with just one toilet and bathroom. This can become an issue , but since it is also a camping site there are bathrooms with showers and toilets which you can use. You got to pop in a 1$ coin for shower to function. Dont have any high expectation from the wireless internet connection , there is a specific time period when you can access it in the TV room but most of the times it is dead slow. Ideal place to be staying if you want to be close to Cradle Mountain...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dashingddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Gowrie's on September 18 2012 for one night as part of our campervan tour around Tasmania. We arrived later than planned and unannounced but the owners were very friendly and helpful. We paid $25 for a powered site and were impressed with the facilities which were clean and modern, showers were coin operated but hot and powerful. There was also a lounge area with huge roaring fireplace (thanks to one of the other campers) which was much appreciated in the rather chilly evening! Having arrived after dark, in the morning we were astounded by the mountain views which were just breathtaking. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The reason we're stayed at Gowrie Park because all accomodation at Cradle Mtn was full. We weren't happy at the beginning as we really want to do the walk at Cradle the following day, and Gowrie Park is about 40 min driving from Cradle. The lady owner was greet us when we arrived, and she recomend us to do Mt. Roland which close from GP. We're so glad that we found that place. We did Mt. Roland the next day, and end up stayed for 2 days at GP. Don't forget to try their restaurant as well. It's a good quality food & the price is not expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr-and-Mrs-Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Traveling in Australia is not cheap and we tend to find the budget accomodation (double rooms in hostels or airbnb is what we typically go for). We wanted something near Cradle Mountain but without the $100+ ticket that is IN the park. Gowrie park fit our needs.
We were in one of the double bunks (so just one bunk bed in the room). They are SMALL - reminded me of train travel - you have your bunk, a closet and a small desk. The new rooms were like container living - by kiwi boyfriend had another term for it - what he lived in when working in mining.
We did have a heater in the room (the oil portable ones) and it was a comfortable and warm.
For the price we paid ($20 per person +$8 each for sheets and a dollar or two each for your five min hot shower) was a good deal. We got laundry done (good equipment) had a kitchen to use and even free internet (although that didn't do us any good as either it was too slow or the other guests were using up all the bandwith on skype)
Very clean, nice owners. We didn't eat at the restaurant. I'll ditto what the other reviewer said about the tv room being a bit drab and I did peak into the bunks next to the tv room and they didn't amazing.
If you are a on a budget and not looking for luxury Gowrie park will do you just fine. It reminded me of camping without having to put up a tent or sleep outside :)
Took about 45 min drive to Cradle Mountain park. Very lovely area.

Room Tip: Go for the newer bunk rooms if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainbowmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in one of the cabins and had a wonderful time. The cabins were basic but clean and comfortable. It was also handy to have a kitchen in the cabin. The views to Mt. Roland were spectacular, we really enjoyed sitting out on the deck, having a drink and enjoying the views. Unfortunately, the cabins don't have deck chairs so we had to use the kitchen ones which aren't very comfortable after about an hour or so (nothing fancy needed, just some inexpensive, comfy deck chairs). It was a great value, especially compared to the overpriced accommodation on Cradle Mt! Also a better location than on Cradle Mt, as it's a bit further north and closer to other sights we wanted to see. There were lots of wallabies roaming around, which I saw some other guests feed. This is NOT good for the wildlife, and it would be great if the management would put some signs around that explain why the wildlife should not be fed. The restaurant was great and the hosts very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at Gowrie Park as part of a school trip for the rowing regatta at Lake Barrington in March 2012. 35 kids and around 10 adults. Kids were in bunkhouse accommodation, which was really poor. Rooms were really old and badly in need of renovation. Bunkhouse rooms had no heating, which we had to ask for (oil filled column heaters). Understand that they are working on renovating Park but we were very disappointed with students accom which was considered backpacker style. 4 bathrooms (renovated but each with one shower and toilet) for maybe 20 rooms with around 4 kids in each room. Pay for shower. Self contained cabins were much better, warm & cosy. Games room badly in need of renovation, but filled basic needs. Some of the kids wanted to sleep in there beause there rooms were so grotty looking. Mould on ceilings, holes in walls. Bunk room beside games room was pretty bad. Dark, smelly and badly in need of TLC. Overall, our school group won't stay there again unless some serious renovation work has been done.

Room Tip: Cabins and new backpacker rooms near newer amenities block are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olcheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Lucy & Lloyd run a very nice park here, ample parking for the larger vans. Clean amenities with hostel style rooms or cabins if you wish. A lovely restaurant open all nights. This park sits below Mt Roland & has spectacular views of same. The valley is an easy run up to Cradle Mountain & also over to Mole Creek caves( highly recommended) The park itself has some great history being the base for the Hydro electric scheme when this was being established.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tasmania hotels
0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
99.8 mi away
Gladstone Central Apartments
128.3 mi away
Tranquil Point Retreat
Tranquil Point Retreat
#1 of 1 in Deep Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60 mi away
Crayfish Creek Van and Cabin Park and Spa House
49.4 mi away
Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
106.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowrie Park Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowrie Park Wilderness Village

Address: 1447 Claude Road | Gowrie Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 485 Specialty Lodging in Tasmania
Price Range: $0 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 129

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing