We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great railway experience!”
Review of Ida Bay Railway

Ida Bay Railway
Ranked #747 of 688 things to do in Tasmania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great railway experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very pleased that the railway was running during August, even though we were the only two customers on the morning we were there. The train was a bit rickety going along the track but I think that added to the charm of it all. The driver was very knowledgeable about the history and the area. As this is the southernmost railway track in Australia, it was a must on the bucket list! At the tea rooms, Meg makes great Devonshire teas!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    56
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quaint and enjoyable”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

On the day we took the train trip it was raining steadily and we were the only customers. Despite having to head out again for just we two, the driver was friendly and accommodating. We had our own umbrellas and warm coats, but I noticed there were umbrellas and blankets provided in the carriage for those who were caught unprepared. The trip was really interesting, and the driver knowledgeable on the area's history. We had been meaning to do this little excursion for several years, and we were not disappointed when we finally made it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique train ride”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It's a bit off the beaten track and not particularly comfortable but a ride on the Ida Bay railway is a great experience if you want something really different. The train has a diesel truck engine and it's driven by truckies. The track is narrow and rough but it goes to a beautiful beach, stopping en route at a historical cemetery. Plenty of opportunities are available for takign photos.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great little train”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you like trains, do it ,at $56 per couple might sounds dear, but wouldn't have missed it

Sit the rear carriage as you can move around, and take photos from the platform at the end of the carriage, track is very bumpy, so use a higher shutter speed and photos will be find, they are running everyday during the summer, but check if going down just for the train trip.

Also in the carriage they have blankets and umbellas for your use

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun family day”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a fantastic trip for young and old. I was part of a group of families that went, with children ranging in age from 7 months to 7 years. All thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

The train is open carriage so you so get to see the scenery but it also means that you can hear the screeching of the wheels on the track, so if you are after a quiet train trip this is not for you.

The train stops at various places along the track where the driver explains the history of the area. The history is interesting and adds to the charm of the place.

At the end of the track is a lovely beach. There is an undercover picnic and barbecue area and toilets. You can stay and have lunch at this stop and get the next train back or you can return immediately. If you choose to stay there is a 2 hour return walk to a lagoon as an option. The walk is relatively flat. If you do this walk let the train driver know so he can mak sure you get a train back to the station.

A highly recommended trip.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ida Bay Railway also viewed

 

Been to Ida Bay Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing