We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tasmania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays
Ranked #78 of 176 Hotels in Tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Of our 3wk trip around the island, this was the most memorable. Saw wombat, paddy melons , platapuss,morning and night, had 2 devils feeding on the veranda, long legged chook things, Len was a great host and a wealth of information, went out of his way to help as we thought we could buy food in route or on site YOU CAN'T , if your expecting the Mecure in the bush don't go. But if you don't mind bush acomadtion and memories you'll never for get then this is for you...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mountain Valley Wilderness is the perfect place for get close to nature. The cabins are situated on a beautiful property, teeming with wildlife. It was pretty exciting to stay up late, sitting inside by the fire watching through the window for the critters coming to visit (thanks to the chopped up roadkill Len uses to bait them in). On the night we stayed, we were lucky enough to see both spotted-tail quolls and eastern quolls. We also saw possums with young, numerous pademelons and a platypus. In the morning, Len was kind enough to take us into a cave where we saw glowworms and giant cave spiders (harmless). We wanted to stay another night for a chance to see a Tasmanian devil, which often show up. Pat and Len have a passion for nature and staying at their retreat was one of the hilights of our trip to Tasmania.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The reason for going here is to see the devils feeding off you verandah at night - although you have to wait up - the meat wasn't put down until about 10 pm. This place is in a lovely setting, but has some shortcomings. For a start, it's overpriced. The Queen Fauna "Cabin" is not a cabin at all - it's a unit - the owner doesn't seem to understand the difference. These units, as with the information folder, are in desperate need of an update or at least a decent clean. The units are quite large and rustic but in need of some love. Len, the owner needs some lessons in how to deal with people - although he does tend to grow on you a bit - he seems to try hard and will chew your ear off if you let him. There was some confusion as to when we could go on the glow-worm, cave tour and ended up missing out. It's almost impossible to take a step outside without stepping in animal crap - which is what you get I suppose with so many about. In summary, if we had paid say $130 - $150 for our stay there, we would be happy, but at $190, it was a bit of a rip-off, especially considering that we weren't supposed to check in until 3 pm (Len was a bit upset that we arrived early).

Room Tip: If you're booking a "cabin", ask if you have to share a wall with another "cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Well firstly, the main reason we decided to book a night ( Pity, wished it was longer ) was because we thought it was near to Dove Lake, which we visited in the day, and apart from a 'convenient location', there was no other reason why we selected this resort.
We were horribly wrong.
Although if you got a helicopter and flew over the mountains it was only 14km away, the actual route there was pretty darn long. Nestled in a very very remote area, next to practically nothing and at the end of a dirt road lay the resort...

As we drove into the resort ( after a couple of wrong turns and such ), we were greeted by not 1, not 2, but 3 Pademelons ( Is that how you spell it? ) grazing on the driveway leading to the resort -- Definitely surprising for us.
At the resort, we were warmly welcomed by an elderly lady - Pat, who upon hearing that we did not bring any food, as we had not realised that this place was so remote and far from any convenience stores and the like, promptly went to check if she had anything in her own fridge for us to eat at night.
Out of kindness, she gave us more than enough for a hearty meal -- Definitely a wonderful first impression.

As fond lovers of wildlife, upon hearing that there were provided platypus spotting tours, tasmanian devil and quoll 'feeding sessions' and a tour in a glow worm cave, we promptly took advantage and 'signed up' for every single one of those events ( Don't judge me! ).

The devil and quoll 'feeding' was really quite an interesting experience, and within 5 minutes we spotted a quoll munching on 3 chunks of meat ( Guess we were quite lucky, eh? ), however, it took us nearly an hour to see the first devil. But this is all luck and it really can't be blamed on anybody...
The trip itself to the resort was already highly worth it just based on this rare and remarkable experience alone.

The next morning, we went to the glow worm grotto, wearing rubber boots ( Provided by the owner ) as he led us to the grotto. Along the way, he pointed out various birds and the various properties of certain plants we crossed, all in a really friendly manner, most definitely not like a formal tour guide/ customer or hotel manager/ customer relation, making us feel 'at home'.
Something which we could have never experienced in a big hotel chain where they were all formal, and communicated with a business relationship.

Now, let's cover on the actual accommodation:

We stayed in 'Possum's Nest' ( if my memory serves me), a lovely little log cabin ( Made out of real logs! ), with a fire place and all the amenities you needed, although it certainly wasn't extravagant. With a kitchen, 'living room', the usual bathroom facilities and 5 (!!!) beds, there really wasn't more that we could have needed.

Coming from the city, we were absolutely clueless as to how to operate the fireplace, and without any hesitation, Len ( the owner ), promptly helped us start the fire and taught us how to keep it going.
Again, a level of service which could never be experienced in a large hotel where they have to serve many guests and have no time for chit-chat and the likes.

Overall, this place is Definitely highly recommended, with great owners, an unbelievable environment, a warm and welcoming cabin for accomodation and 3 once-in-a-lifetime experiences ( for us city dwellers ) provided all in one resort.

Room Tip: Well, they are all great rooms, really... Just be sure to not get too large a room, I guess?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at Mountain Valley Wilderness for three nights, as part of a two week trip around Tasmania. It was a true highlight of our trip. The reason we were so fond of it was the personal approach and dedication of Len and Carol, the owner managers. They took us to see the Platypus at the river, which was perhaps the most exciting part of our Tasmania trip. They also provided raw meat to lay outside our terrace, so that we could see the devils at night (saw two one night and four the other). Len also took us to see a wild cave (including glow worms), again, that was very impressive.
The hut we rented was charming and albeit basic had lots of space, a large fire place and a well equipped kitchen.
The place is at the end of a road, so you really do get away from it all. Make sure to take enough provisions, it is a bit of a drive to the next store. It is in a good location for hikes in the local area, the house mountain "black bluff" makes for a good five or six hour hike.
We wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalaland0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

My sister and myself stayed in your accommodation recently and enjoyed the environment, our walks tremendously and your friendly welcome after a long day’s travelling.

However, our cabin, Possum’s Nest, was far from comfortable and I am writing to you to give constructive comment, especially as I valued such comment when I had my own tourism business and which enabled me to respond positively to guest’s feedback. Word of mouth is recognised in tourism as an immediate and powerful reflection of clients’ experience and it can work very well in your favour or not.

My request over the telephone for a more expensive and comfortable cabin, asking for a single bed to be placed in a Queen sized bed cabin, was not taken up by you, however, on the following morning you, Len, agreed that you could have accommodated us in one of these cabins. I was happy to pay extra and said so when booking.

The cabin we stayed in , Possum’s Nest, was basic and a poor option for our one night. My sister was visiting me for only 1 week and I really wanted her to enjoy her time and chose your retreat from your website description and a recommendation from a friend as looking ‘just the sort of place we would enjoy’.
Brickbats:
1. The areas in the cabin which need renovation, addition etc. are:
a. A clean bathroom – I had to remove the hair from the shower plughole which was blocked – ghastly introduction
b. The bathroom shelf is too narrow to put bathroom bags comfortably upon, there is no chair/stool to accommodate you when drying off
c. The small soap bar you provided slipped through the soap container in the shower each time you placed it back
d. The kitchen provided old worn glassware crockery, no mugs, no milk, a kettle which burnt our hands (enamel), an inefficient gas lighter and none of the necessary niceties with tea and coffee supplies – no plunger for coffee, no teapot (not expensive or unusual commodities these days), basic tea and coffee choices.
e. The fire poker needs a handle and a hook especially when manoeuvring large pieces of wood (and I am used to fire making, it would be difficult for a guest who has no experience with open wood fires I suggest)
f. Bedding – old, worn looking and too thin, I was on the lower bunk of the three in corner and had no light for reading or a table to put my glasses, book etc. on and when needing to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, a bedside light would have made my trip safer and easier. My sister was in the double bunk and did have a light (long cord from ceiling which needed a bit of practice in order for it to stay on).
g. There was not one picture or poster in the cabin – the other cabins I looked into were furnished in this way
h. The blinds are definitely in need of replacement, cords frayed, broken edges, catches for cord impractical and basic, e.g. nails
i. The cushions on the couch had very little filling and hence did not ‘cushion’ you against anything
2. Consider the options of two people travelling who require single beds or having the facility of a good single bed to put into an existing ‘couple’ cabin.
3. Accommodate a potential guest’s request for the above point, particularly in the ‘off season’.

I looked through the windows of all other cabins and they looked infinitely more comfortable (good looking linen, electric blankets, bedside tables, books, magazines, lamps, teapots, pictures on the wall etc.) and cannot fathom why you would put your sole guests in winter for that evening into a cabin which provided none of the above?
Bouquets:
1. You have a wonderful location and environment
2. You are both welcoming and friendly people
3. Our guided walk to the river with Len was informative and a good experience after a long day’s travelling, even though the platypus was elusive but wild animals are not on cue
4. Your recommendation re the fern walk to see fungi was one of our best experiences while there and we truly enjoyed our slow walk and saw many beautiful scenes and species.
5. Our evening experience with the devils was extraordinary and I thank you for setting this up – lots of excellent pictures to remember these unique animals
6. The sheet Patricia gave me to fill in on devil observation is a great idea and surprised me when noting the animals’ individual markings how differently and identifiable they are, and this ‘educational’ activity added to our enjoyment and knowledge of one of Tasmania’s mammals.
7. The remoteness and peace was perfect.

I would love to return and share this special place with my husband, perhaps stay for a couple of nights in order to walk up to Black Bluff and revisit the Fern Walk. I hope my comments are taken in the manner in which I send them – a reflection of our experience in one of your cabins and retreat and, be constructively helpful as guest feedback.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimberleyLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

This must be THE place to see wild tasmanian devils, incredible, they walk up to your porch, really amazing. The owner is a rich source of information on local wildlife and tasmania, we loved the wildlife around (possums, wallabies, pademelons, etc), interesting glow worm grotto tour, and certainly the glimpse we had of the platypus in the nearby river. We recommend the log cabin for families (as stand alone and giving more privacy), the open log fire is certainly giving an extra for the cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tasmania hotels
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Sheffield Motor Inn
Sheffield Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
14.3 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#2 of 9 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
12.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays

Property: Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays
Address: 1519 Loongana Rd, Tasmania 7315 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 176 Hotels in Tasmania
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing