We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
78
16
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
16
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky housethe cliffsnelling beachmusic playingoverlooking the beachrecord playerthe kitchendiscerning travellerviews are amazingon arrivallounge chairslovely housefig tree restaurantmaking the bookingfresh fruitour honeymoonlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

we stayed in the sky house a few years back (April 2012) for our honeymoon/baby moon upon the recommendation of a friend who had s hot a wedding there. we were not disappointed. This little cottage for 2 was so full of charm and beauty we did not want to leave. The extra little touches - fresh fruit/eggs/milk etc and the records/record player and art supplies were thoughtful. The sunset from the deck was spectacular - enjoyed watching the ocean every morning and night from atop the hill. Would love to return one day with family/friends and stay in another of the properties, maybe the cliff house, who knows!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Just spent 3 nights there as a base for touring KI. Everything well presented, even had music going on arrival. The views are amazing, can just sit and stare at them. But you are isolated, and the mobile coverage is a bit patchy. The landline phone in the house is a good idea.
However on the day we departed, about 9.30 am on a week day I called the contact number to see if they wanted to the house locked or open, and no one answered, i tried a second time with no result.
Where you would be if it were late at night and the power went off?

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenterfieldrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

HI Tenterfieldrover,

Thanks you for your review and my sincere apologies that no one answered your call on departure. Being a small retreat we don't have 24hr reception how ever - no excuse! I have made sure 2 numbers are clear to all guests encase of emergency. We also have emergency numbers (inc 000 ect) in our house compendiums as well.

Warm regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Beautiful house in a magnificent place. Very secluded, private and romantic. We were there for 4 days over winter. The bedroom and bathroom had underfloor heating which I just loved! The wood combustion heater was nice but we only had enough wood for one night. The kitchen and living room is spacious, modern and comfortable.

A great place if you want something special.

Room Tip: The SkyHouse is designed for one couple and it hits the mark for that. A great base to just chill out, relax and unwind.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

HI Jeff D,

Thanks for your feedback and apologies about the wood, we have a supply outside and have now made it clearer to guest that the extra wood is available and where it is!

Cheers
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Our first stop in our trip around the world was Australia with The Cliff House being one of the highlights of our sixteen country tour. The accomodation was perfectly appointed in the most beautiful surroundings I believe you could find on Kangaroo Island. Each morning, we awoke to a gorgoeus sunrise off our porch overlooking Snellings Beach, it was truly magical. The girls who run the operations couldn't be more gracious or generous, five star chefs. We ate, drank, relaxed, exercise, played games, fished, laughed...until we could no more. We were traveling with our three children (ages 12, 11, and 10) and everyone would agree that this was the perfect begining to our time abroad.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

This house was better than the web site. From the moment we walked in and were hit by the amazing view we knew this was going to be a memorable holiday. Such beautiful decor, comfy beds, a heated spa on standby and a well equipped kitchen made for an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews