We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LifeTime Private Retreats
Nearby Hotels
$100
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island(Parndana)(Great Value!)
$117
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
$91
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island(American River)(Great Value!)
$165
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$53
$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dragon Lodge(Willoughby)
$359
$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
70
15
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky housesnellings beachthe cliffsnelling beachmusic playingoverlooking the beachrecord playerunderfloor heatingmagnificent placebedroom and bathroomdiscerning travellerviews are amazingthe kitchenlovely houseunique experiencefig tree restaurantmaking the booking
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 89 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Cliff House is tucked in at one end of the cliff at Snellings Beach and it is just an amazing location! We really enjoyed going for a run and swim in the mornings, to finish in the hot tub on top of the cliff! The King Bed Tower Room is great, but is only the size of the bed and it felt like we were in a nest!

This was our first trip to KI and we were very excited by the pictures of Cliff House from the website. Having paid fully some weeks in advance, I was surprised by the lack of communication from Lifetime Retreats - they only sent us an invoice. Although I later discovered that all details are on the website.

The trip to the house is 1.5 hours from an expensive ferry and about an hour from Kingscote for supplies. Arrive well stocked if you are self catering as there are only basics in the house.

The house is fairly well equipped but there was a shortage of crockery, cutlery & pots. We really enjoyed the 'Conversation Pit' and the fabulous views! A very relaxing holiday was had by all :-)

Room Tip: The Tower Room is great for romantic couples!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

AntinOz thanks for your comments and feedback. As our premium house, it’s very important to us that everything is perfect & exceeds expectations so since your review we have restocked the kitchen utensils & added more choice to the sauces and condiments in the house. In addition we have started a new reservation system that provides more details and correspondence during the booking process. We hope that you would come back again to see the changes. Cheers Nick Hannaford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Last weekend my hard working son and daughter in law, our 2 year old grandson , my husband and myself made the trek from Adelaide to the Settlers homestead ( also known as the stone house) at Snelling Beach, Kangaroo Island.
We were rewarded with a magic two night stay at this gorgeous retreat. We travelled taking with us all we knew we would need so after we unpacked the car it wasn't used till we left. With baby and specific needs we decided to self cater....we had a weber , microwave, family sized fridge, great stove and the pantry was equipped with top quality oil, balsamic dressing, coffees, teas...we did meet the vivacious sous chef Sasha and saw her delivering a great lunch to guests in the beach shack!! So from a ' needs' point of view- top marks for the facilities, the beyond comfortable beds, 3 great bedrooms with connected bathrooms , the great decor and although no phone service, no TV was part of the retreat magic we did appreciate the cable particularly for our grandson who was so busy getting down with nature but did enjoy resting watching his little shows!
Now the fantastic parts!!! We all loved the homestead and its history. We also loved the views of the beach and that we couldn't see anything but sensational Mother Nature in all her glory! So dark at night, so quiet, so relaxing. The walk to the beach was a very short one and the local fisherman we met told us that this beach was one of the best on KI. We are beach people and this one is pristine and truly amazing.
We needed more time because we had nothing to do but so many wonderful things to do!! Rest relaxation in buckets! Beach activities and exploring in buckets! Stay longer than 2 nights if you can....
One of the reasons we chose lifetime private retreats was our first conversation with the manager Perry. From the moment we arrived Perry made us feel so welcome and went out of his way on a number of occasions to value add to our stay. Whatever Perry is being paid is not enough! His attention to our needs is something we have never experienced in our travels to the level he offered!
The top quality and attention to detail brought this getaway home! We played the board games, used the watercolours to paint the view, played family I Spy looking out the panoramic picture window! We had so much old fashioned family fun! Had happy hour on the deck!
This experience was certainly a once in a lifetime treat! I only hope that one day we can return...would do it in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask Perry which lifetime retreat house would suit your needs best... They all looked fantastic!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great Location and perfect setting for a 70th birthday
Everything that you would need for a weekend away was there and attention to detail was 10/10

Had a couple of small problems that were sorted within minutes

Would definitely come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed, with another couple, for four wonderful days at this lovely cottage within a stone's throw of the beach. As the bedrooms (3) were similar in size, and all with en suite, this was a much better choice than the other properties, although without the view (and steep climb up from the beach).

Perry, the English manager was on hand at a moment's notice - bringing boogie board, etc.

Ordering in food from Hannaford & Sachs was the icing on the cake!

Weakness was that showers in bathrooms (of the two double rooms) were not partitioned well from the toilet and that there was no door between bedroom and bathroom, only a curtain.Also there were no drawers in the side tables (for glasses and jewellrey etc) , nor drawers for clothes. So apart from hangers in wardrobes we lived out of our suitcases. Bit of a shame for such a lovely property...However we would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thanks for your feedback on our Settlers Cottage. Since your stay we have started the process to fit a door to the master bedroom and hope to have that in place over the next few weeks. We can also see your point with storage. Although we are limited with space, we will be purchasing suitcase racks so at the least you don’t have to bend down. In addition, we will be getting some small mobile shelves to but in the hanging cupboard for added clothes storage. Once again we appreciate your comments & attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I married during the christmas period. Needless to say the extended parties over this period was numerous. Lifetime Private Retreats was just what the doctor ordered. We stayed at the Sky House, apon driving down the drive way our breaths were taken away with the north coast view of Kangaroo Is (KI). The house is a type of morroccan inspired cottage, 1 bedroom, amazing lounge and dinning space, big king bed, a great porch with views to die for and the whole place perfect for newly weds.
We stayed 5 nights and probably spent 3 whole days/ nights not moving. The kitchen is more than satisfactory, we bought all our food in and meant we didn't have to leave that view. We did spend a few mornings on the near by beach.
Anyway needless to say the entire experience was great. The manager was around but not in our face which I liked and most if not all kitchen utilities are there. We highly recommend this accommodation and will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: bring a book!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikegill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews