We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LifeTime Private Retreats
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I married during the christmas period. Needless to say the extended parties over this period was numerous. Lifetime Private Retreats was just what the doctor ordered. We stayed at the Sky House, apon driving down the drive way our breaths were taken away with the north coast view of Kangaroo Is (KI). The house is a type of morroccan inspired cottage, 1 bedroom, amazing lounge and dinning space, big king bed, a great porch with views to die for and the whole place perfect for newly weds.
We stayed 5 nights and probably spent 3 whole days/ nights not moving. The kitchen is more than satisfactory, we bought all our food in and meant we didn't have to leave that view. We did spend a few mornings on the near by beach.
Anyway needless to say the entire experience was great. The manager was around but not in our face which I liked and most if not all kitchen utilities are there. We highly recommend this accommodation and will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: bring a book!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we had spent 2 days in the cliff house with a stunning view , amazing beach and excellent food . Thanks a lot again to rachel and sacha who have made the stay fantastic . We were in family and really enjoyed everything. One big regret not to have spent more time in this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent 4 nights in the "SkyHouse" for my wife's birthday along with our 6 month old son. Very positive experience all around.

Perry (the GM) was really helpful prior to and at our arrival. The house itself benefits from absolutely stunning views and was stocked with games, paint set, telescope as well as a record player with a super eclectic selection of music (which was really fun for us). Snellings beach is amazing (which the house overlooks) and a couple minute drive away - really nice beach and never saw more than a few other poeple there. Lots of wildlife around the house as well.

What really made the trip work well for us was the catering from Hannaford & Sachs. Sasha and Rachel helped put together a mix of DIY meals and warm meals they provided. The food was locally procured and amazing. Seriously, seriuosly good They did a great job of presenting it as well - but more than anything I appreciated their help in crafting a special weekend for my wife (including the special birthday cake and the lunch under the fig tree that they prepared was one of the coolest things we did while there). I can't recommend them strongly enough.

Overall, we felt like we got far away but while being incredibly well looked after. Would certainly do it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackclark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I Booked the Stone house from the Internet for 3 couples. I Knew it was a little isolated but it was the perfect place for us.(there is a road in-between the house and the beach but there is no traffic)
The Breakfast Package was superb as was the Salad & Veggies .
So grateful for the Seafood Platters we had booked as our keen Fishermen only caught 2 fish.
We walked twice daily on the beach some even swam. Flinders Chase is a must to see Truly Fantastic scenery.We saw a lot of the Island and Snellings beach is one of the best, worth the long drive.Only downside not enough Cutlery and serving Utensils, serviettes would have been good.

Room Tip: The Stone house has 3 bedrooms 3 en-suites 1 of the rooms has 2 singles beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rey1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickhannaford, Owner at LifeTime Private Retreats, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Since your stay we have go through our kitchen inventory and updated everything including serviettes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can't say enough about our family's experience at Lifetime Private Retreats on Kangaroo Island. Our stay at the stone house was PERFECT for us in so many ways. My husband and I were traveling with two of our children age 11 and 13, one boy and one girl. Because the stone house has three bedrooms, it gave us all room to spread out and relax after each day of tour the island.
We chose to have our food catered by Lifetime Private Retreats, Rachel and Sasha, and I'm glad we did! I have never had such good food. Everything was so tasteful and presented so well. I was also pleased that they took in mind that we were traveling with children and catered to their tastes as well. Typically we had several main choices to choose from. From the starters to the desserts, it was magnificent!
I also want to comment on the wifi. We have been traveling for many weeks and have had challenges with wifi, but not at LPR. The wifi was great. Always working and with great speed.
I should probably mention the view, too, because even though you can obviously see if for yourself on the internet, pictures don't do it justice. It is absolutely gorgeous and it is great to be able to walk less than 200M to the beach!
From the time we met the manager, Perry, to the minute we left to head on to our next destination, our needs were not only met, they were exceeded. Rachel and Sasha were even kind enough to email us a list of things to do at our next destination and a recipe I requested from one of their meals. Thank you LPR for making our stay on Kangaroo Island a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreambiglivesimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great place to hide from the world for a short time. After 10 days we headed for home feeling very sad. We would recomend you get the girls to cook a dinner for you one night we were amazed and enjoyed every bite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our stay at The Cliff House. Imagine this - start the day with a walk along "your" own beach at Snellings, breakfast overlooking the beach, spend the day exploring this magnificent island for sights and tastes, return "home" for a glass of wine in the jacuzzi overlooking the beach, take delivery of our gourmet evening meal ( thanks to Chef Sasha), settle for a peaceful time in front of the fire, followed lastly by a great night' s sleep. Sound great? Yes, it was! This has been a truly wonderful holiday. Thank you Lifetime Retreats, and especially The Cliff House.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
24.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
49.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
40.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
60.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
186 reviews
8.8 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LifeTime Private Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LifeTime Private Retreats

Property: LifeTime Private Retreats
Address: Rsd 26 North Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Kangaroo Island, South Australia SA5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LifeTime Private Retreats 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Island paradise where you can choose to stay at one of four Luxury beach villas set on their own stunning coastal Kangaroo Island estates, a place of complete privacy, well away from other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your LifeTime Private Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing