We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mick- a proper lighthouse keeper!”

Cape Borda Lightstation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape Borda Lightstation is in a stunning location upon the cliffs overlooking Investigator Strait. To discover the maritime history of the area you can take a tour of the lighthouse and visit the museum. Don't miss the daily cannon firing on the 12.30pm tour!
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mick- a proper lighthouse keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very occasionally you come across someone that not only knows their stuff, but imparts this knowledge in a witty and spell binding manner. Cape Borda Lighthouse Keeper, Mick, is just such a person. You don't have to be interested in lighthouses or history, the long rough ride to the tip of Kangaroo Island is worth it; just to be entertained by Mick! And you will find out why the canon is fired daily, at precisely 1.00pm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Nitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    52
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Passionate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a fantastic location and tour. My sister and brother in law were visiting from UK so the unmade road was an education. We arrived a few minutes late to be greeted by Mick, whose knowledge and love of the site enthralled all of us. His many amazing side comments enlivened the proceedings, including the "firing' of the cannon. This is definitely a "not to be missed" experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rough road to a rugged location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The lighthouse tour was very entertaining. However, the journey itself is important in realizing the essence of Kangaroo island and the isolation of these communities. Yes the road is not all sealed. Yes, its a long drive. But yes, it is a very unique corner of this wonderful natural island. Very good picnic facilities and adjacent walks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

On Thursday 27th February we travelled from Emu Bay down to Cape Borda Lightstation. The last 30 klms was a dirt corrugated road. We arrived a couple of minutes to 11.00am and went straight to the amentities block and then proceded over to the lighthouse.The tour of the lighthouse started at 11.00am and it was 11.01am. As we approached the small museum and the gated entry to the lighthouse a National Parks Officer and a couple of people walked past us and through the gate and into the lighthouse, we then realised that was the tour. The National Parks officer didn't bother to ask us if we wanted to join the tour- just ignored us. We went through the small museum and had a wander around, when the Officer came out of the lighthouse he was about to ignore us again until we said hello to him. We then asked when was the next tour and his said 12.30pm- that was in another hour!. We asked him what should we do for an hour and he said go for a walk. Seriously it wasn't like this Officer was flat out, at that stage there wasn't anyone else around. We left immediately.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJM2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Perhaps a bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We made the drive here via shackle road. Perhaps a bit overrated in our opinion. Just another light station. Perhaps much more interesting if you are a hard core history buff.

Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Borda Lightstation also viewed

Willoughby, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Cape Borda Lightstation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing