We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't under-estimate Remarkable Rocks”

Flinders Chase National Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$217.75*
and up
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Western end of Kangaroo Island features magnificent coastal landscapes coupled with vast wilderness areas and diverse wildlife. Flinders Chase National Park is the home of the iconic Admiral's Arch with its colony of New Zealand fur seals and the truly Remarkable Rocks. Open every day except Christmas day.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't under-estimate Remarkable Rocks”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Make sure you get up close and personal at Remarkable Rocks - that's when you find out how remarkable they really are! Oh, and the warning signs are really small - if you can read them, you're probably risking your life! And don't forget Weir's Cottage on the way back, to complete the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    179
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous flinders”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved it here from the lighthouse to the seals to the landscape, we had a car so could take our time around everything this National Park had to offer and it had a lot. We started at the information centre as you pay to go in and the lady advised us of roads to take - note some are unsealed and too far to go in a hire car.
Loads of seals playing in the surf, lying on the rocks. Had lunch near in a lovely spot with no one else around, fabulous.
The remarkable rocks were well.... Remarkable! Thought about going to Koala sanctuary but on our return we stopped at the visitor centre again and there above our heads in the car park was our very first koala and baby koala. That started koala watch for the drive back and once you've seen 1 well you know how it goes!!! Go to Flinders Chase you will not be disappointed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLass10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timboon, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Camp site offered just what we were after.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Travelling with a caravan this year we loved the seclusion of the individual van sites yet a good shower and toilet block was only a minute or so away. BBqs near by if required. Note that there is no power or water on site.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank T00py
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spot, there are other places like it in Australia, but it has a certain wildness for so close to a capital city, in the space of 48 hours with out really trying we spotted koalas, kangaroo, wallaby, possum, goanna, 3 pods of dolphins, new Zealand and Australian seals, lots of bird life and pretty native flowers. Unsealed roads were rougher than expected, west bay road passable in a sedan but can't say it did my car any good, I'd recommend a light 4wd / car with high clearance the road is very corrugated, the last few kms to cape borda light house are also rough. Ravine des casoars hike was beautiful, worth climbing the hill on the southern side of the beach to see the view to the north, high light of our trip so far. Ravine road was smooth enough.

Helpful?
Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Visit The Remarkable Rocks and the Fur Seal colony”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nothing to dislike - the views and seals and truly remarkable rocks were all fantastic and well worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flinders Chase National Park also viewed

Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Flinders Chase National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing