We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide”

Kangaroo Island Hire a Guide
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.34*
and up
Small-Group Kangaroo Island 4WD Night Tour
Ranked #5 of 17 Tours in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Over the years, KI Hire A Guide has successfully offered their touring services to thousands of tourists from both Australia and overseas. Their unique and customised itineraries allow visitors to discover the island their own way. See the unique Australian eco-systems such as: unspoilt, prisitine beaches; lush bush lands with an abundance of native flora; native animals such as, sea lions, kangaroos, koalas, wallabies, possums, echidnas, goannas and an endless array of native bird life. KI Hire A Guide's Tour Guides have been professionally trained in eco-tourism and nature conservation, providing a skilled approach under certification so visitors are able to visit protected areas in the National Parks.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great guide”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were here in sept 2010, and had Luca show us around for a day. He was wonderful! He showed us around, and he really seemed to know a lot about the island. I would highly recommend him as we got a very personalized tour of the island!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
194 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Luca is a great guide, fun and entertaining”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent an entire day on Kangaroo Island with Luca, the owner and organizer of the tour company. We arrived at the ferry and we picked him up on our car.
He brought us around the island, in very touristy and also secluded places. He is very informative, passionate about his work and the island and for sure one of the best guides we have hired around.
Compared to other operators that put you in large groups on their 4x4, Luca jumps into your car and gives you a very personalized service. We dis some wildlife spotting, we saw twice a koala, many kangaroos and other animals. He also brought us on Seal Bay beach to see the Sea Lions, the advantage to go with Luca is that he is authorized to guide you down near the sea lions, and we were just us and him. It was perfect, the sea lions were extremely cute, and you can really enjoy the experience.
He is very attentive, he prepared for us a nice coffee break on the hood of our car, nice lunch.
Definitely recommended if you go Kangaroo Island.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Day with Lutz”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We hired a car in the Airport on arrival, and our personal guide, Lutz, joined us for a full day of sight seeing. Lutz was very knowledgeable and took us to the most interesting parts of the island. Great way to explore KI!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HHH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special tailored trips”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had a morning left after all my other sightseeing and Luca Lovison put together a great short trip to a part of the island I hadn't already seen. I got to taste a sparkling Shiraz at one of the vinyards, had proper coffee on a beach (the advantage of hiring an Italian guide) and saw loads of other things in just a few hours. Most other available tours are set and standard, Hire a Guide gives you the opportunity to create your own trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnemiekOpReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chieri, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
“nice trip!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been in kagaroo island for two days with Lutz (a cooperator of Luca), that took us to see all the attractions of the island, included also not so touristic places. Great experience, clear and precise guide. We suggest an axperience like that, because you are alone with your personal guide and so your tour won't be too much schematic as happens in the guided tours with many people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valentina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Hire a Guide also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Hire a Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing