We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect Kangaroo Island accommodation ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Demole River Retreat, Gaia
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at Demole River Retreat for 5 nights and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Set in an amazing location, it's private, secluded and the closest thing you have to neighbours is the incredible wildlife.

There is a real sense of a 'home away from home' - the house had everything we needed, was well appointed, super clean, comfortable and it's eco-friendly to boot! The two bedrooms, spacious lounge & dining, huge open plan kitchen, lovely bathroom and excellent deck & BBQ area meant that we felt like we could stay a month! The house would be perfect for a family or two couples as both bedrooms are very large and you wouldn't feel cramped.

You really do feel privileged to be able to share the home of some very friendly Kangaroos, sneaky but cute possums and a myriad of bird life.

Graham is an exceptional host - very welcoming. He was all too happy to share his extensive local knowledge, teach us how to catch delicious marron (right in our backyard!!) and show us a few secret spots that were more beautiful than any postcard could portray.

We highly recommend Demole River Retreat for anyone looking for accommodation on Kangaroo Island. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzGourmetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

There is so much to say about Gaia Sanctuary! We have travelled all over the world but this is the only place where we came twice! We stayed at Demole River Retreat in September 2007 and more recently, for 5 nights, from November 5th 2010. This was again a wonderful experience. We were looking for a place where we could watch wildlife, relax (only the two of us…no children), do our own cooking (BBQ) and benefit from a comfortable place. But we were not ready for camping! This place offered all what we were looking for and even more… On the first day of our arrival, we made sure to stop at the supermarket (Kingscote) and buy enough food for our stay (and stop at the bottle shop as well for the excellent Kangaroo Island’s local wine). Then, during our stay, we drove around sightseeing (Flinders, Billy goat falls, western river…), had a light lunch and made a good BBQ at the end of the afternoon. But we were not alone ! Each time we came back from our tour, kangaroos came to our place, jumping on the front deck ! And at night, lots of possums also came. I took so many beautiful shots. On one particular morning, Graham called us to advise that he had a koala at his place (it’s a 5 minutes walk from the bungalow) and we could observe a koala in the wild. Amazing. Finally, Graham taught us how to catch marrons (the famous lobster of KI) on the nearby river and cook them! On the first day, we caught 2 marrons and on the next day, we had 6 marrons in our nests! Finally, and this is probably the cream on the cake, Graham provided us with access to a private beach (called Kangaroo beach) with white sand, big waves, and lots of cormorants busy at fishing. Lots of beautiful souvenirs! We only regretted it could not last longer. But we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Graham was an excellant host and we had a wonderful time. We were there for 4 nts and it couldn't have been better. The wildlife was a big plus but the peace and quite make it the best place on Kangaroo Island. I would highly recommend this location to anyone traveling to the island!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
Thank kwajers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Demole River Retreat is a gorgeous place surrounded by bush and frequented by native animals. We loved the location and the peace and quiet. It was a great escape. Graham is very friendly and informative and knows so much about the area. We can't recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelkidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
20.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#23 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
28 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kangaroo Beach Lodges
41.5 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
52.1 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
33 reviews
16.3 mi away
LifeTime Private Retreats
LifeTime Private Retreats
#11 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demole River Retreat, Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demole River Retreat, Gaia

Address: near Cape Borda, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: $143 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your very own wildlife sanctuary in the middle of Kangaroo Island's bushland on the northwest coast. Close to private beaches, stunning bush and cliff top walks, plus fishing and swimming. A home from home. Great for nature enthusiasts, bird watchers and animal lovers. The essence of tranquility. No TV, no mobile reception, just you and nature in a comfy self contained hand built house - most of our guests don't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing