We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tours
Ranked #8 of 17 Tours in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seascape lodge and toured for 2 days with the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tour company. I highly recommend this company. Before we even arrived, the customer service was excellent with an agent emailing me back and forth multiple times to try and coordinate our visit to our liking. We had such an amazing tour guide who was personable and extraordinarily knowledgeable. We learned so much about the island, but also about kangaroos, koalas and all of the other amazing wildlife on KI. We saw the highlights of the island such as the remarkable rocks and the admirals arch but got enough off the beaten path to find secluded fields full of kangaroos, areas with 2-3 koalas per tree and hiking to a beautiful bay at sunset where we were the only people there. The meals provided were excellent and very filling. They were more of a 3 course meal than a picnic lunch, with ample spirits/wine. One last thing that sets this company apart from some of the others we looked at was the trip to the Pardana/KI wildlife park. This park offered the once in a lifetime opportunity to feed kangaroos and koalas by hand and really interact with the animals. This is not to be missed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    9
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A memory to last a lifetime!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Our tour started when Chris, our tour guide met us at the airport. We knew we where in good hands as soon as we met him. Then my husband and I and our 21, 19, 15 year old climbed into our 4wd drive to begin our 2 day tour of Kangaroo Island. We saw so many amazing animals and picturesque views and learned so much about the island. Chris has lived here his entire life and was a park ranger so he knows a lot. The lunches were an unexpected surprise. Prepared by Pam and cooked up by Chris they were wonderful. Our daughter is vegan and her lunch was catered just for her. This tour was truly memorable. Thank you Chris for 2 great days, we enjoyed our time with you. Oh and if you are asked if you want to see the Pelican feeding, say yes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleG15143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A terrific way to see the Kangaroo Island!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We did a private tour for one day, visiting Seal Bay, Remarkable Rocks and Admirals's Arch, and other points along the way. They were responsive and helpful on the phone and via email before we arrived. Our guide, Chris Baxter, a former park ranger at Flinders Chase National Park, was just fantastic! A Kangaroo Island native, he truly knew his stuff. He was also great with our two boys, ages 6 and 4. Chris was warm, knowledgeable, and totally professional, and we felt lucky to have him. They really customized the trip to suit our needs and interests, and they also made us a lunch that was way beyond our expectations -- all four of us loved it! We could have tried to 'rough it' on our own or with a different group, but it is really worth it to go with these guys for a day, or two -- we saw animals in the wild we'd have missed otherwise. It made the whole trip better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaelskoer, Denmark
1 review
“Amazing tour around kangaroo island”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had booked a tour before arriving at kangaroo island, we hoped to see a koala, seal and remarkable rocks.
We did see all things, and way more! The trip was worth every dollar!
Peter, our guide, took us out to his own farm, because he had koalas in his trees, and he sure did!
We came within 2 m of a very tired koala, and saw a couple more in the treetops.
At seal bay, a little baby seal became curios, and came all the way up and smelled at my leg, and just stood there and stared at us. Peter asked us to just stand still, and it would eventually loose interest in us.... it took a while for it to find out that we didn´t want to play.
We also went out to see kangaroos, remarkable rocks & Flinders Chase, all sightings were extremely well guided.
The lunch we had was over the top, we did not expect a full meal indcluding, potatoes, salad and roast, but it was lovely.

We can only give all our recommendations to KI Wilderness Tours, book a trip with them, you will not regret it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneXavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Filling your senses with the wonders of Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent three glorious days touring with KI Wilderness Tours and staying at Seascape Lodge (see separate review) in late March. We highly recommend this combination: it fills your senses with the wonders of KI, it introduces you to wonderful people (the owners Paul and Mandy Brown, the guides, your fellow guests at the Lodge and on tour), and it provides the very best of creature comforts. The vehicles used are Land Rovers, so six people per tour is the maximum, we were 4,4, 2 during our three days. In other words, our third day was a private tour. After seeing some Long Islanders we’d met in the Outback on what looked to be a 12-person minibus, we really appreciated anew our more cozy arrangements. Being in a small group made for excellent viewing of sea lions on the beach at Seal Bay and at the fur seals colony near Admiral’s Arch. It also made it easier to get all of our many questions answered.

We thought that three days of touring was perfect, but if you have only two, you won’t be disappointed. Our itinerary followed the first three days described on the company website, with some very nice additions. For example, our guide on the first and second days – Graeme (“Speedy”) – made unscheduled stops for echidna viewing (and petting) along the roadside. He also stopped at a roadside stand of eucalyptus that koalas favor; this equipped us very well for our own koalas-in-the-wild safari the following week in Kennett River on the Great Ocean Road.

Our third day was spent with Chris, a noted birder and author, native of KI, and former park ranger. We had a good time discussing the Bounceback Project from the 1990’s (yellow-footed rock wallaby restoration in the Flinders Range). His knowledge of bird locales, behavior and seasonal appearance were simply stunning. Focusing on American River, Duck Lagoon and multiple sites on the Dudley Peninsula, we saw for example pelicans starting to get their breeding plumage, pied cormorants feeding on razorfish at low tide, kestrels, wedge-tailed eagles, fairy wrens, freckled ducks, two species of spoonbills, straw-necked ibises and of course galahs and black swans. Fantastic!

Both Speedy and Chris were very knowledgeable about KI history, local lifestyle and customs, and local industry. Visiting the Emu Ridge Distillery was a lot of fun, especially since we later saw an abandoned distillery from the 1800s at Duck Lagoon. The lunch venues on each of the three days were wonderful: KI Wildlife Park, Flinders Chase National Park Visitors Centre, and the verandah of the Cape Willoughby lighthouse. The food was delicious, and dietary preferences and allergies were handled very well. Local foodstuffs are featured, as are local wines.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tours also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing