We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a very tired and dated place, reminded me of somebody's holiday home where they leave all their second-rate stuff - broken kettles, poor stove, bad couches, creaky beds, etc.

Small communal area with a small kitchen, tiny sink and four-burner electric hotplate with no labels. Walls are very thin so Room #1 hears a lot of the communal area noise, and Rooms further back hear the fans that go on in the bathroom when the lights are turned on.

It was quite hot while we were there, but there were no fans and little airflow through the rooms. I couldn't see a heater in the room either, which I would imagine one would need there in the winter. Our window didn't lock despite facing right onto the street.

We booked online and the price was $60USD, but despite the Australian Dollar being stronger, it was still demanded of us that we pay the difference to make up $60AUD when we arrived. The first notice was a bill pushed under our door, and when we ran into the manager shortly thereafter, he asked repeatedly when we would give him $17.

There is no reception, just pick up the phone and the manager will come and meet you.

I'm not sure how many other budget accommodation options there are in KI, which may account for the popularity of this place despite its tired attitude to management.

Pros:
Good water pressure in the showers
Good location - close to town and Kingscote is closer to more attractions than Penneshaw or American River
Didn't feel too crowded even though they were fully booked
Bed was comfortable
The place was clean

Room Tip: Room #1 is close to the common area and is therefor often noisy, but the rooms up the back (#5, etc...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a small family run hostel, and we try our best to provide a warm and comfortable welcome to all of our guests. I would like to respond to some points you have made. As you stated we provide budget accommodation which is clean and comfortable and we are in a great location for the island. All of our facilities are in good working order, we have fans available on request for all rooms, and a wood fire which heats the whole building in the winter. As we are in Australia, our bookings are always in Australian dollars, and the price for the room that you booked was $AUD60. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests and will take your constructive comments on board. Best regards Bob Blucher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lauraBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank elisvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susi_and_Bruno, Owner at Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NdoNdoNdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse

Address: 19 Murray St | Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kangaroo Island Central Backpackers)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: $46 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KI Dragonfly Guesthouse is a privately owned guesthouse located in Kingscote on Kangaroo Island. You will feel relaxed & welcome the moment you step in the door! It's ideal for travellers on a budget, who enjoy the comforts of home combined with the opportunity to meet people from all over the world. It's within easy walking distance of the local supermarket (with an organic shop right next door) other shops, art galleries, hotels & restaurants, the waterfront and the natural pool. Consisting of three double bedrooms (all with queen-sized beds), a spacious family room and a 4-bed share room (that can be fully booked to become a private room), with guests sharing all amenities: large, clean bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, loungeroom with TV & expansive collection of DVDs (and if you can't find anything to you taste, our wi-fi is fast enough for net-flix), and an outdoor area complete with BBQ and two friendly, cute dogs). For guests who desire complete privacy, there is a small, fully self-contained cabin for hire in the guesthouse's rear garden (Rori's Retreat). Cabin guests are also welcome to combine the privacy of their own facilities with socialising with the guesthouse guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ki Dragonfly Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing