We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is edible art” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food is edible art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from our sojourn at Southern Ocean Lodge. It was sublime.

From the sheer rugged beauty of its setting, to the gracious welcome and service every moment of our stay. In our room we felt as though we were the only two people enjoying this special place on earth. And then of course there is the food....well its almost a magical tour of indulging in exquisite edible art and without too many pangs of calorie consternation. I was particularly impressed with the efforts the Lodge takes in introducing diners to their valued producers....and may sound silly, but I have never tasted and eggs and bacon like I did at SOL! Jo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehappyw0nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
409
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We came for our honeymoon. We never knew such an amazing place could exist. From the hotel, you are completely immersed in the unique beauty of the area - no other trace of humanity is visible, yet every possible luxury and comfort is provided. We arrived at the hotel and were immediately greeted by the manager who gave us a proposed schedule of activities and we were shortly whisked away to a beautiful beach by a naturalist to go see seals, them followed by a dusk trip to see kangaroos while the guide set up a beautiful bar and snacks for us. We would go back just for the dining experience. The food is just incredible - make sure to try the local honey at breakfast. The rooms have shocking views of the ocean, with no detail overlooked.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenVogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you want to know what true luxury is, book a night at Southern Ocean Lodge at Kangaroo Island. I have learned about this lodge a couple of years ago and wanted to go ever since, and it didn't disappoint. From the friendly greeting at the airport by a lovely staff member, it was absolutely seamless and relaxing experience. On arrival to the Lodge, you will be amazed by the wonderful views and the sheer magnitude of the guest lounge; I could spend hours there. Most of the furniture was custom-made for the Lodge by distinguished designers, everything is so well put together to create this relaxing, light feeling; I cannot recall any other place that embodied it so perfectly. Free guided tours are included with your stay, and the guides were all amazing, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the Island, and we saw a lot of truly wild life. Nibbles and drinks are provided by guides on every tour, so you really don't have to think of anything except turning up. In the Lodge, all meals and open bar are included with your stay (with a great variety of drinks at the bar, I took the opportunity to try drinks I often see advertised in luxury magazines but never tried before, and it was lots of fun!) Food was excellent with very small portions, so you can try a lot of different things guilt-free. Our favourite seat at the restaurant was the couch at the far corner, as my husband and I could seat next to each other and both enjoy the amazing views; the downside being that if it's sunny, you need sunglasses for breakfast. Even with other guests at the lodge, it feels very private at all times.

To me, this is what true luxury is about: unpretentious but extremely thoughtful and perfected in every little detail; relaxed and not fussy; quiet yet powerful. The location of the lodge is second to none; the design, architecturally and decoratively, is world class; there are only so many gems of this calibre in the world. Many thanks to the management and personnel who made our stay so enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

It is a bit of a drive as you leave the airport and when you reach the unpaved road you may begin to wonder but never fear. Arriving at the lodge is an experience in itself. The staff are extremely attentive and the view is overpowering. The walk to the room is interesting depending on where your room is.... The rooms themselves are beautiful and the views of the Southern Ocean are spectacular---there is nothing between you and the antarctic! Sleeping was most excellent. Showering while viewing the ocean was terrific. Food is excellent. Tour provided by SOL was excellent (Kangas, koalas and remarkable rocks). PS. Hello and thanks again Helen!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband arranged a surprise trip for me for my birthday and I have never been more pleasantly surprised in my life. This place is absolutely amazing. Views, food, architecture and finishes, staff attention and service. Everything is world class and I couldn't fault anything. The attention to detail is outstanding in every aspect. The Lodge have suggestions on various local tours that you can do as part of your stay. We chose to stay and enjoy the beautiful surroundings at the lodge but other guests who did the tours said they were great. The meals are all local produce and just beautiful and the wine matching and selection was great also. I would definitely recommend this to anyone for something very special. You won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is the most beautiful resort, monsoon showers with floor to ceiling windows looking directly at the azure blues of the Southern Ocean. Remote control blinds to open at Daybreak and here the Ocean pound the rocks. A sunken sitting room to sit and take in the ocean, while reading about the many shipwrecks that didnt make it to Kangaroo Island. The produce is outstanding. The Open, huge Lounge area elevated on the cliff face but built into the rock to just sit and stare out to sea with a long G&T. This is divine, beautiful, idyllic!

Room Tip: Only 21 rooms all look out to sea - higher numbers are closer to Amenities if you have trouble walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Violetmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are questioning whether the price is worth it, question no more. My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our first anniversary and were so impressed. It is an absolutely beautiful location and the staff make the stay completely effortless. They arrange things for you to do (if you please) or you are welcome to sit back and enjoy the views and serenity of the property. We were there for only a weekend and my partner said he felt that we had been gone for at least one week. Food was outstanding and they were able to cater to my somewhat complicated dietary needs. I can't say enough positives. You won't regret spending time at SOL!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
73.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing