We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven at Hanson Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven at Hanson Bay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three glorious nights and days at Southern Ocean Lodge on Kangaroo Island.
Photographs don’t do it justice – an architectural and design masterpiece (thank you Max Pritchard), set low in the cliffs with nothing but the sea in front of the well-appointed suites. The overwhelming sense of space and privacy is the definition of luxury.
The food was a culinary adventure in seasonal produce and the very best, fresh local ingredients. Among them, the salmon amuse-bouche paired with the Adelaide Hills Verdelho set up a chemical connection which was a culinary sensation.
All tours - including a guided three-kilometre cliff top walk, the chance to see kangaroos,Tamar Wallabies, seals and sealions and more - are included in the price.
The winter beach holiday came complete with brief showers followed by bright Australian sunshine and glorious double rainbows; back at the Lodge the brisk weather seemed to make the fire glow more brightly.
On check out, a staff member asked what could be improved. We simply laughed and replied, “Nothing - you can’t improve on perfection.”

Room Tip: All rooms have glorious uninterupted views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    30
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
425
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Southern Ocean Lodge was idyllic...from the moment we arrived there was nothing to think of except what delights were going to be on the next menu...everything was taken care of...everything was included, food, drinks and even guided tours, so there were no annoying receipts to sign.
The extensive wine cellar and bank of fridges afforded an amazing selection of beverages and the food was first class fine dining at breakfast lunch and dinner with nearly everything sourced locally on Kangaroo Island.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and happy which shows a great working environment too...
And the view from the lodge was breathtaking as it constantly changed with the light and weather during the day.
The national park in which the lodge is situated is teaming with bird life, wallabies and kangaroos...every time we went on a walk across the cliff tops we encountered at least one kangaroo...once, even an enormous red! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Family Suite is in the middle of the building and a lovely position...it is enormous with a sunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alysoninaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was the perfect winter getaway. The accommodation is perfect, the view from every room is something that most hotels only dream of. The staff are well trained.
The food is excellent, although very rich from what you may be used to. Everything is included, accommodation, food, excursions and alcohol.
Pefect

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at KI Lodge in early July 2013 - a great time to visit despite it being mid winter. Having travelled extensively in Australia and throughout the world, this is the first place we visited where we could not think of one single thing to improve the experience. Everything i9n the room (Bed, sitting and bathroom) was thoughtful and perfect. The Great room and dinning room were magnificent and the view simply stunning. The staff were friendly, very professional and obviously well trained and managed. Expensive but worth every cent for a special experience.

Room Tip: It is a long walk to rooms numbered under 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We flew in to Kingscote from Adelaide and the pickup from there and hour drive to the lodge was seamless. Check-in with welcoming drink and food leaves you in no doubt you'll be looked after. You can relax by doing nothing in front of the sprawling ocean and bush vistas. Or you can get out there in it and walk through bush tracks or over limestone headlands, maybe spotting some of the wallabies, kangaroos, echidnas or birds that the island is famous for. Or you can sit back and enjoy the privilege of being shown some of the wonders of KI by people who live there and are passionate about showing it off. The opportunity to see NZ fur seals or Australian sealions, as well as ancient weathered granite rock formations shouldn't be missed. The accommodation is second to none, the attention is friendly and informal and the food is amazing. The location is spectacular and private, a holiday at SOL is memorable and makes you want to go back. We stayed there in winter and expected the worst of the southern ocean weather but it was mild and the floor heating in our room kept us very comfortable. We were able to hire the resort's 4wd one day and explored the northern beaches as well and it was good to be able to see the contrast between the two coastlines and rural land in between. A delicious picnic lunch was included. Overall we could see that you don't need to leave Australia to have the perfect escape.

Room Tip: If you like exercise the low number rooms give you a good walk up hill to the lounge. If you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank countrycruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We returned to SOL some 3 years after our last visit with my brothers & their partners. We were mildly anxious to see if it was still the 10/10 that we experiences previously, especially since we knew that new managers had taken over.
We were not disappointed. Everything was almost exactly the same and still 10/10. The only difference we experienced was that this time we came in winter where as previously we visited in summer. I think winter must be a slower guest time as there wasn’t nearly so many staff as before and in some areas it did present a problem. For example, the spa only had one therapist and my sister-in-law & I wanted treatments at the same time, which clearly wasn’t possible. A small quibble maybe. Still we all had an amazing visit and would highly recommend to place SOL on your bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

From the time you arrive the experience is 5 star. The fact that its an Eco-lodge is not evident, on arrival the reception/ lounge area is spectacular and that just sets the scene irrespective how long you are staying. The meals are excellent and service second to none in Australia, and equal with anything I have experienced at the best locations and resorts in the world.

The lamb burgers are unbelievable with a glass or two of Pinot at lunch. Just relax in the lounge and read a book on those colder days or enjoy some of the included excursions.

We are looking forward to our next visit to SOL.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macdariens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
52.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing