We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, visit it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place, visit it!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very chilled 3 days, truly amazing location, great food, and bar, super view, great service and staff, really good island tours, great library room in annex, ( check out their cd collection and wonderful big book on world photography! The sound (and vibration) of big waves crashing on below coast line is fabulous way to fall asleep!

so what could be better??

Well couple of points only, try to avoid Mercedes Spinner van on airport pickup, its pretty rough for 5 star transfers, and check if Internet wifi failed in room, ( but was available in lobby)
Overall it is amazing experience, will return in Winter season as waves straight from Antarctic will only be more impressive!
I preferred room with low numbers as they are furthest from lobby and have most privacy, but all room have great views!


SOL

In lobby toilets not marked men's or women's, just random pictures?

Mercedes spinner van to be avoided

Wifi Internet does not work..

Sunday AM breakfast bizarre with 30 minutes wait for cooked breakfast
& no explanation!

Ash & Wen are very friendly...

Is it great yes! Can it be better yes!

What is great! View, rooms, food, bar, most staff...

Room Tip: Low numbers, starting 1 are furthest from reception, and most private, would recommend Ocean view ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    30
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
425
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this lodge and it really is the wow factor. They cater to your every want or need it was absolutely a perfect stay I have to rate them one of the best places I've ever stayed in my life.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Teri Pollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Southern Ocean Lodge was our second and final stop on our vacation in Australia and what a way to end the trip! As soon as I walked into the lodge my breath was taken away but the view. The main part of the lodge including the grand reception, lounge and dining area was spectacular. It was so incredibly comfortable and warming. When we walked into our room, again, breathtaking. So very comfortable and the view is so amazing beyond words. It was big but not overwhelming. I loved the cozy decor with the subtle hits of kangroo on the pillows and rug. Very nice closet with a lovely mini bar stocked with amazing goodies. My only two small details of the room that I didn't like was a small sink and vanity area which made it tough for two people to get ready. Second, there is a Bose system that only plays CD's and not a docking station for ipods. I really missed not having the ability to play music when relaxing in the room.
Did I mention the view and how great it is? Your days are planned and organized upon arrival but it's not overwhelming and you can opt out of any of the adventures. We really enjoyed our tours and my favorite and most recommended was the nocturnal tour for an extra charge. It was then that we really saw the animals come alive. The food at the lodge was beyond amazing. I loved the portion size and the use of fresh herbs. The staff left me speechless. They made me feel so comfortable and inviting, as if we were in their homes. That really was the theme of our stay....comfortable. Southern Ocean Lodge is pure luxury and one of the top places I've ever been to.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the Flinders Suite. Heaven!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Owner at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. The beauty of the landscape can only be enhanced with the addition of music and we appreciate how important it is to have access to your own carefully curated songlists. Each suite is equipped with a small "tin" of "handy cords" that includes one to connect iPods and MP3 players to the Bose Wave system. We continually strive to anticipate every guest whim, including the facilitation of musical interludes! The friendly lodge team are only too happy to help, with most needs resolved in an instant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our room was a "end" room, which gave us 270 degrees of windows overlooking the Southern Ocean. To describe the room and view as spectacular would not do it justice as it was that good. Our room included a deck with a hot tub, and every amenity possibly including binoculars.
On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a joie in the lobby and a spectacular lunch. Dinners were equally good.

Room Tip: You will want a guide to take you on tours of Kangaroo Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwickrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Two things, at least: 1. The beauty of the location is breathtaking and the design of the Lodge is perfect to its surroundings. The grand reception/restaurant and lounge areas all take advantage of the ocean. As do the rooms. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. 2. And maybe most important is the care that the staff offers to the guests. We had one woman with very short blonde hair, I just can't remember her name, who made us feel that she was there just for us. She was perfection. The rest of the staff were really great too. Actually "great" is a poor description of how guests are treated.

The one minor was that the gift store was out of a lot of its merchandise. They had nice things but no inventory/sizes.

Room Tip: I can't remember if there was a fitness center. Massage was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Before we left I had a good read of the reviews for SOL on trip advisor and I have to agree with all the positive things that were said about SOL. The friendly welcome, the staff, the food, the rooms and the whole ambience of the place really do make the Southern Ocean Lodge a very special place to stay. Perched into the coastline with all rooms looking towards the ocean the SOL is truly a unique place. The spacious rooms are thoughtfully designed with privacy the key so that you can have a shower or a bath with all the windows open looking out to sea and know that there will be no one around to spoil that relaxing moment. It was great to see so many overseas visitors being so gobsmacked by this beautiful place. The food was very special and as a vegetarian I had my own creative menu every day. Their philosophy is that you have to treat the place like your home, so you can go into the wine cellar and pick and choose your own wines, with only the extremely expensive wines to be paid for out with your room package.This is not a cheap holiday but we had four marvellous days there and they were worth every penny/dollar!.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and all are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderful three-night stay at Southern Ocean Lodge. Not only was the lodge itself exceedingly comfortable and beautifully furnished, with great views of the coastline, but every single member of staff we spoke to was also friendly and very good at their job, meaning that the service was wonderful. The food was quite something. From breakfast to dinner, it was deliciously tasty and often locally sourced. I have a nut allergy and the Lodge always had a special menu prepared for me ready in advance. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and guests can be as sociable or as private as they wish. Overall, every care we could have had was taken care of and we could think of absolutely nothing the Lodge could improve and no reason not to give it 5 out of 5, which we have never done before!

Room Tip: Room rates vary quite considerably so it is worth thinking about what you actually need/want in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
52.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing