We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth - Paradis sur Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth - Paradis sur Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Kangaroo Island is beautiful.. the drive to the lodge is beautiful.. the lodge is beautiful.. i wish they will keep on caring for the wildelife and not expand ..
the stay, the view, the food, the service.. all was from great to amazing. thank you. but keep improving! ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean20122207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    28
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
71
415
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Room, food, staff, view, everything is perfect! the open bar -nice wines and there's a very good chance that you'd meet other hotel guests and have some interesting conversations. Had nice chats some really friendly people. 5 star hotel but can still maintain the coziness like a superb B&B. Better rent a car if you opt for your own expeditions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LIGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Southern Ocean Lodge was all I ever dreamed it would be plus more! The rooms were amazing, food outstanding and service second to none. The day trips included were great and I am so glad that we chose Southern Ocean Losge as our holiday location. We will be back! So relaxing, we just didn't want to leave :(

Room Tip: We had an Ocean room which we loved with the tub & the fire :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This beautiful 21-room hotel is perfectly designed to fit into its spectacular setting overlooking a dramatic and beautiful seacoast. Every room has a beautiful view from bedroom and bath and also its own private terrace, from which you can hear the crashing of the waves on the rocks in the bay. Floors can be heated on cool nights. The staff are all highly professional and will lean over backward to accommodate your needs. The hotel will provide (for an added fee) transportation between Kingscote airport and the hotel (1-1/2 hour drive). Food is superb and wines (from the open bar) delicious. Excursions (several are included in the price, others cost extra) are interesting but not obligatory. There is a spa which I didn't visit, and a nice shop. Price includes a credit of $400 per couple which can be used for spa, shopping, added-cost excursions and/or laundry ($30 per bag). Although it seems expensive at first glance, you will find real value in this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms go down a long glassed-in corridor that echoes the slope of the cliff. If you have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

So.............gulp, sigh I just want to go back! It was by far the most magical place I have ever stayed.Every box is ticked, I expected to feel out of my depth in such luxury but everyone and everything that surrounds you is real, welcoming and its like staying in a wealthy friends house! Great value, great food and the view is intoxicating ( it wasnt the open bar, where incidently you could help yourself to a selection of quality liquid) and this may seem odd but the lodge smells amazing too, lemon myrtle seems to drift around.We were asked when we booked whether we would like to go on a 'signature experience' and having stayed on the island we declined as we were there to just rest, and the managers obviously ask this not to sell you something but because they really want to know what sort of stay YOU want. We were never asked again whether we wanted to do this or that, just asked if we needed more food or wine or G's&T's. Only Problem for me was that we only stayed for two nights, three would have sent me into a relaxation Coma......I am currently saving for my next visit.

Room Tip: every room has a view, but get one with a bath- it looks over the ocean, oh and bring your bathers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

By far, the best Hotel experience we have ever had.

This place is simply magical. Very special and worth every penny.

The hotel is beautifully located in a national park. You feel like you are living on a desert island. The rooms are tastefully decorated, huge, modern - just absolutely lovely.

The food was out of this world. Local produce, clever menu, excellent service.

I could not make a single suggestion for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panzer164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family have just returned from a 3 day stay at SOL and it was exceptional. Meticulous attention to every detail - Kangaroo Island to its very foundations. The Lodge, the rooms, the food, the service, the staff, the KI experiences all exceeded our substantial expectations set by SOL marketing material. Whales were breaching, dolphins surfing, seal pups learning to swim. Not to mention the incredible birdlife, koalas and kangaroos.. and the fish we caught on a nearby beach cooked to perfection by the chef. Don't go to the snow - go here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 270kabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
51.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
55.6 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
51.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
73.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Lodge

Property: Southern Ocean Lodge
Address: Hanson Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Ocean Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island is Australia's most extraordinary luxury lodge experience. Exclusive and award-winning, the world-class lodge is sensitively designed to float amongst the coastal drama of the island's south west, offering an unforgettable blend of contemporary luxury and pure nature. Twenty-one luxurious suites welcome panoramic views of the great Southern Ocean and boundless coastal wilderness and feature lavish sleeping areas, sunken lounge and glass-surround ensuite. The Southern Spa features signature treatments with Kangaroo Island botanicals designed to relax and rejuvenate. All-inclusive rates, first name service and personalised experiential itinerary combine to offer guests the ultimate Kangaroo Island encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Ocean Hotel Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing