We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The cottages were cute, clean and nicely furnished. The porch provided an awesome view of sunset over the rocky ocean cliffs and the kangaroos that roamed the property. The location was great and made you feel as if you were off the grid. Don't be fooled by Google maps - the location is only 45-60 minutes away from the ferry in Penneshaw, and only an hour or so from Flinders Park (not 2 hours as the internet would suggest) There is a very tasty cafe at the bottom of the hillside if you don't feel like using the BBQ or kitchen :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here after a recommendation from friends and it definitely did not disappoint. The cottages were modern, clean and spacious. Every little detail had been thought through to make our stay memorable. The views along the coast were stunning, trumped only by the dozens of kangaroos (and joeys) that were literally at our doorstep. I would definitely recommend this as the perfect place to stay on KI.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The cottage is sited with a great view of the northern coast: well located to visit other key places on KI. Accommodation for four nights was excellent, clean and with everything needed. The experience was heightened by the proximity of Kangaroos and echidnas, and the arrangement with the nearby fantastic Paul's Place. Peter Donovan

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in April 2013
My wife did all the arranging so it was easy for me
However, we absolutely had no problem with the accommodation
The area I was expecting to be a bit more dramatic and I thought it was rather bleak
But that is the nature of the place, no trees to speak of but plenty of Kangaroos and long walks, just beautiful walks along the beach trees and beaches
The accommodation was reasonable, clean and what you would expect for a nature related park
My son left his wallet behind and it took months to get it back
It's a quiet place and very in touch with nature, a good springboard to explore the rest of the island which is fantastic

Room Tip: Bring food from the mianland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

very good view, good beach walk, with geocache along it.
lots of very quiet kangaroos everywhere, pleasant and relaxing surrounds and vista
we stayed here 4 nights and visit Pauls Place wildlife park down the road which was also very enjoyable.

modern and comfortable, definately consider staying here if you get that chance.

Room Tip: Excellent Telstra phone reception on top of the hill, varying elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank httech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place was brilliant. We loved everything about it. The view was amazing, the wildlife was unforgettable. A great location too- central to everything. The house itself was excellent also- everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_wrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One word covers it - Wonderful... Location, Views, Wildlife, Self contained, well equipped, value, caring hosts, sense of discovery. Discover so much of the essence of KI on your doorstep. KI kangaroos sharing your coastal 80 acres above the beach at Stokes Bay every morning and evening. The amazing meandering tunnel through the rocks to the beach and protected rock pool, Close proximity to the 3 ha Stokes Bay Bush Garden that has taken 25 years to establish. Pauls Place is owned by the proprietors of Waves & Wildlife - a nearby working 1200 acre farm where you can interact with tame wildlife from kangas, emus, fawn, sheeps, ducks, chickens, koala, Giggles the Kookaburra. Kid friendly snakes & lizards. Like joining their family rather than a commercial enterprise.. Also recommend driving along the north coast to the west to Western River Cove. Good also for 1 day round trip excursion down to Seal Bay, Remarkable Rocks & Admirals Arch (with huge seal colony - up close).
In winter we paid for 3 nights and got the 4th night free. 7 cabins + a cottage. A magic spot with delightful owners. This standard for this price is unique.

Room Tip: Cabin No.7 is the best located - at the end of the reasonably spaced cabins. All with fabulous out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
33.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
33.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
420 reviews
41.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
854 reviews
16.6 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
23.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves and Wildlife Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves and Wildlife Cottages

Address: 1-8 North Coast Road | Stokes Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves and Wildlife Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained one and three bedroom Seaside Cottages on the north coast of Kangaroo Island. If you are planning a holiday to Kangaroo Island, please contact us anytime, Paul has lived here all his life and we are more than happy to help you plan an itinerary to make the most of your stay. Cottages are set on 80 acres bordering Stokes Bay beach and being revegetated, providing sanctuary to abundant wildlife including kangaroos, wallabies, birds, echidnas, and the occasional koala discovering our newly planted gums. Pods of dolphins and resident pelicans are also sighted often at Stokes Bay. Property features· Great swimming beach with safe natural rockpool for children· Central location· Neighbours Lathami National Park – home to the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo· Boatramp – 500 meters away Each Cottage features· Magnificent ocean views· Fully equipped kitchen· Queen beds· Gas heating and Ceiling fans· BBQ· TV, DVD, Video· Phone· DVDs, Toys and Games available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Waves and Wildlife Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing