We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little oasis”
Review of Opal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opal Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We needed a decent nights rest after being on the road for 3 days and sleeping rough in our car in some dodgy caravan parks. Opal Inn was just right for us.

Reception was very friendly and mindful of our security, warning us to not leave anything in our car. Like many outback towns, Coober Pedy is suffering some real social problems with the aborigines - a real shame. We didn't explore the town because A. We were exhausted and B. we simply didn't feel safe.

We enjoyed a good nights sleep. Clean room and facilities. The Bistro provides hearty meals that are big portions and good value. Once again, very friendly staff.

We particularly enjoyed the little grassed oasis outside of the budget rooms - chilled out in the evening with a beer.

Will return for sure when we travel in a more 'holiday' frame of mind and have more time. Interesting place.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre - I accidentally clicked on them and you can't undo on the Ip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

As my hubby is not fan of underground hotel this is one of the few places that is not. We got the budget motel room since we are only staying overnight from a long drive and priority is just to rest. Room is understandably small but still provide adequate ensuite facility. It made good use of sliding door to the toilet so it does not feel too crowded. It is a close walking distance to our favorite Greek restaurant in Coober Pedy so good location. The only suggestion is to provide some sort of lights on the parking area for the budget room area as it is quite dark and inspite of the reception direction it is confusing to find the parking area. It is still good value for money and receptionist was friendly and did as she promised to bring my invoice to my room as she was still trainee and ask for assistance while we go out for dinner. Basic toiletries are provided which is always welcome. Will stay again for overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here one night as part of a tour. Room was ok but breakfast was very poor. Very little choice and couldn't even get a yoghurt and only fruit available came out of a tin! Breakfast room dark and uninviting. Didn't have dinner here as tour operator preferred Joe's pizza parlour and looking at the menu of the Opal Inn I couldn't blame him!

Room Tip: downstairs better than upstairs as do not have to lug the bags up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We managed to get a spot backing onto the only grassed area, which was good for kids to play around. Amenities clean although 20c for showers required. Although you could hear street noise, despite being at back of motel, although I think most of Coober Pedy would of heard it this night. If I was to call in on Coober Pedy again, I would definitely take an underground motel room. As camp sites are nothing much, and that would be a real experience and you wouldn't hear any local riff raff noise.
.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Coober Pedy is well worth a visit, and this is a place to sleep.

Its a motel pure and simple. Won't blow your socks off and won't blow your budget either.

I'm sure there are more interesting places to stay, but this place isn't bad.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Only stayed 1 night. Bed a bit hard but found that in most places. room clean, nice breakfast. within town so central to everyting. our room standard ground floor which was good. went out to the Breakaways 30 km from town which was well worth the short trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank errol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time. Very clean room, not sound proof, but you get what you pay for. Can't speak highly enough about the staff. Very friendly and informative. They even get you to and from the airport. Massive meals served in the restaurant both at lunch and in the evening. Breakfast was adequate, only I did nip across the road for some yoghurt for my second breakfast. Would definitely stay again. A lovely community in Coober Pedy. Well done, and keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $92 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing