We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Umoona Opal Mine & Museum
from $630.95
More Info
from $666.20
More Info
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
256
160
30
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
256
160
30
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opal shop informative video guided tour great tour underground house interesting information for sale underground home in town mining history live underground living underground great place to visit worth a visit under ground cooper pedy the owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 455 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2019

We visited Umoona Opal Mine & Museum as one of the excursions offered during our trip on the Ghan.

We were in groups of about 16 people so it was easy to ask questions as our guide took us through the maze of rooms and tunnels.

The tour was informative and also gave us a very good idea of what it would be like to live underground.

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MPAnderson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Worth the money for the $12 museum and underground house tour. Really
loved it.
The museum tour started with a video of the history of the town and then we were taken to an old underground house and then to an old underground mine. We learnt a lot about what makes this town tick.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 807trevorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

We dropped in for a quick visit but ended up being there for two hours. The tour is well worth it. The staff are great.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank GregN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

I am 15 years old and have just returned from a central australia school tour, we visited the mine and stayed in the residence which is also part of the mine. It was fascinating to see how they live underground. However, my favourite place was the gift shop, the opals are beautiful, I was able to purchase a ring, and a beautiful opal necklace for my mother. The opals are exquisite and pricing is affordable, good price variance.
A must to visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank licoricelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Good place to see the underground tunnels made by prospectors when mining for opals and where they live underground. Very informative video presentation given in the underground theatre.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank janjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews